Image of Thomson Celebration

Thomson Celebration

4 of 8 Thomson Cruises ships

A medium sized vessel of standard rating. Built in 1984 and refit in 2005. Carries a maximum of 1370 passengers in 625 cabins, 416 of which have ocean views. 4 cabins are accessible to disabled passengers.

All cabins are well equipped and the deluxe cabins have a bathtub.

There are two show lounges featuring a weekly guest artist. Other features include a cinema, library and casino.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

196 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    123
  • Very Good
    38
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    9

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Ken & Eve Le Maire
15 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic week's cruise on the Celebration and are thinking of booking the Red Sea cruise for Christmas and New Year. However, not sure whether to do two week cruise or cruise and stay - can anyone advise please.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Linda Lane
15 years 5 months ago
This was our first cruise ever and it was magnificent.We did the colourful coast intinery and it was perfect (weather could of been better), but on the whole a truly lovely holiday. For the amount of people on board the ship was spotless and the ships crew always had a smile for you. They worked very hard, nothing was ever to much trouble. We loved it so much we are going back in October to do the Romance,Romans and Riviera cruise. If ,like us, you have never cruised before we can highly recommend the Celebration
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
15 years 6 months ago
From the time we arrived at the port terminal to the time we come home, all we can say is FANTASTIC!

We had a deluxe outside cabin on the Celebration and the room was superb! It was luxury itself! Book for cabin 065 and you will not be disappointed!The room was massive and just like being in a top hotel room!And it was very central and 2 windows with no restictive viewing. It is on the bridge deck

This is our 5th cruise where we have cruised with Costa,NCL,Carnival and the Thomson Emerald and this was by far the best entertainment that we have ever seen!

The ship is spotless, the food is excellent and so much choice!The ship staff are all very attentive too. We will definately cruise on this ship again and in fact we have booked to go on the Thomson Destiny in May. We hope it is as good, please let us know if anyone has any comments on this ship?

It is well worth going all inclusive as all the drinks are the real thing and not cheap imitations!And snacks like pringles and peanuts are also included!

The only down fall about this cruise was that we couldnt stop off at Lanzarote as it was too windy to dock but the Captain did try his hardest but put the safety of the passengers first - you can only admire him for that but still people complained!!!!Madeira is a fantastic place to visit and make sure you try the jeep safari thatwas great too and a lovely way to see this beautiful island.

Thanks Thomson's for a great holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gordon
15 years 6 months ago
Thompson's Celebration provided fantastic value for money, its not the QM2, it doesn't cost anything like the QM2 so don't expect the same standards.

For the duration of our cruise the ship was kept spotlessly clean.

The food in the Meridian was excellent with the small exceptions of breakfast and some lunches, the £15 per head Mistrals was worth that extra money for a special occassion and the Lido couldn't be faulted for 24 hour dining.

Most staff members were lovely with the exception of the odd barman, however considering the way some passengers spoke to them its difficult to blame them for not being 100% all the time.

Entertainment was, again, great value for money, not quite broadway but more professional than many similar offers.

So overall, a great holiday, the weather was shocking but that was just bad luck, as was the fact we didn't stop at Morocco nor Lanzarote.

Finally, like everyone else says, buy the all inclusive drink card, its worth it!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
A. Black
15 years 6 months ago
First time on Celebration, it was brilliant. Cabin spotless and roomy we were on deck6. the food was delicious compared to other cruises that we have been on. Gudfron our steward was super (choccies on pillows every night).the entertainment was very good we both enjoyed all the shows. I would definately sail on her again in fact cant wait!. the weather was the only let down,we could'nt dock at La Palma,but safety comes first. An excellent holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson cruise

Recommended
Penny & Brian Foster
15 years 6 months ago
Our first cruise and what a FANTASTIC experience. We loved the ship - it was clean, comfortable and we can't wait to go on it again. The staff made the holiday and cannot be faulted - what a happy, courteous and friendly crew. The entertainment was amazing (do not miss the Parisienne show or the pianist/violinist in the Explorers Lounge - pure magic) and the food was exceptional considering the number of people being catered for. We met so many lovely people and were so well looked after, especially when one of our friends collapsed in the Meridian Restaurant - our thanks to all concerned especially the lovely Roxey - the traumatic last evening highlighted just how well you are looked after are on this ship! (The questionnaire handed out on board gave the opportunity to make specific feedback to Thomson) The level of security is also very reassuring. We enjoyed all the ports of call but sadly could not dock at La Palma because of the weather. We cannot comment on any of the excursions as we made our own way about - felt the excursions were pricey. Our one and only disappointment was that we were only on board 7 nights and didn't get to do all the things we intended to. Could rattle on for ages (been home for 3 weeks but still buzzing) but thanks to the Celebration for a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Peter & Chris Bradbury
15 years 7 months ago
Peter & me took our very first cruise onboard Thomson Celebration and from the moment we embarked to the moment we disembarked we had the most fantastic time! We were made to feel ‘special’ by ALL the staff & crew. The facilities were all excellent, as was the food. The shows and entertainment were brilliant, especially the ‘Tribute to Buddy Holly’ I watched with tears in my eyes.
The cruising speed was usually around 16 knots, which was very relaxing. The seas were mostly calm there was only one night which slightly rough. My Husband had his ‘frozen shoulder’ fixed by two sessions with Clement, who uses the hot volcanic stones and oil massage, his shoulder is now almost back to normal, so Clement if you are reading this Pete says you are brilliant!
Before the cruise I logged on the www.shiphappens.co.uk website and added my name to the list, the name above mine was Kirsty & Nan, the most amazing coincidence when we were shown to a dining table and guess who was also at the table? You’ve guessed it Kirsty & Nan! Out of over a thousand passengers we happened to share a table with them, until this moment in time total strangers.
The only port of call we did not like was Agadir and on speaking to quite a few other passengers, they did not like it either! The ship is always being cleaned and therefore is spotless as was our cabin. Although it is a full board ship you can actually eat & drink beverages throughout the day & evening at no extra cost.
We will definitely cruise with Thomson again in the spring we loved every moment!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Yorks Travel

Recommended
Alan And Deb
15 years 7 months ago
Well, how do you describe perfection. The boat was spotless the crew were fantastic, and the food was spot on. Hats off to the catering staff, and chefs.

The on board entertainment could have come straight from Broadway. I cant find any faults at all.

It was that good we have already booked for July 2006.

Bit of a tip, if you like a drink go all inclusive.
A truly great holiday.

regards
Alan.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sue
15 years 7 months ago
EXCELLENT ... had a great holiday . we will be booking for xms 20006
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Mary Collins
15 years 7 months ago
This was our third cruise with Thomson and again an *** inclusive cruise. We were doubtful if Celebration could come up to the standard of Topaz, where service had been excellent. But this was excellent. Our cabin steward was excellent, why more people did not put there 'make up cabin' sign on the door when going for breakfast I dont know, we did and by the time we got back the cabin was cleaned and beds made!
The food was good, it was nice to try different meals we other than once always used the Meridian resturant.
Our loo got blocked once and was put right within ten minutes of reporting it. Only comment was one of the dryers in the very useful launderettes was not working and no irons were working!! The washing machines were fine *** free and with soap powder provided!!
Entertainment was excellent and provided by a very hard working and friendly entertainment staff.
*** the staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of the reception staff who were a bit stand offish.
I own shares with Carival and could get discounts on the cruise lines within the group, but I prefer the more friendly Thomson cruises.
Only downside to the cruise is that a week is too short, not enough time to do everything on offer!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image