Image of Thomson Island Escape

Thomson Island Escape

5 of 8 Thomson Cruises ships

A medium sized vessel of standard rating. Built in 1982 and refit in 2002. The Island Escape carries a maximum of 1690 passengers in 761 cabins, 5 of which have balconies and 472 have ocean views. 4 cabins are available for disabled passengers.

Cabins are small but have telephone, TV and sufficient storage space although the bathrooms are small.
The Island Suite has seperate living area with jacuzzi.

Entertainment features 2/3 entertainment lounges and casino. Sporting facilities include fitness centre, sauna and gym.

Book a cruise now! 0843 208 0674

GetCruising Logo

162 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    90
  • Very Good
    30
  • Good
    22
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Mary
8 years 10 months ago
I went on this ship and have been back for just over a week and feel alot of your reviews are far from factual for 1 there is plenty of room in all the toilets for frame and there was a few disabled people on the ship while we were there. 2)if you have been on cruises previously you will realise that cabins are generally small and if you want a larger cabin you put your hand in your pocket and pay more for a bigger one. This ship is very clean and does need some TLC and is going into dry dock in November 2010 for a nearly 3 weeks for refurbishment, the cabin, restaurant and entertainment staff were fantastic the swimming pool was alot bigger than most swimming pools on other cruise ships. please do your homework before listening to people pulling something to bits, when alot of what is being said isn't right, 80% of the cabins have brand new carpet and in the next 3 weeks they all will- it was a very enjoyable week with impecable hygiene in the dining facilities and good range of food!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Cruiser
8 years 10 months ago
Having just returned from a week on this, our first, cruise I have to reassure others that the reviews on here certainly do not reflect our experience. Yes, it was our first cruise so we can't compare with others, but we found nothing to complain about at all. The food was plentiful, excellent choice, unless you want junk food all the time of course! The ship was spotlessly clean, and bearing in mind the number of people using its facilities on a day to day basis, year in, year out, it was no wonder some areas needed refurbishing, but there is a difference between "worn" and "dirty". The cabins were small but no worse than being in a caravan, so don't expect a large room like in a hotel. The twin beds were narrow and with fold down bunks could accommodate 4 in a cabin, but I would think this would be cramped unless a young family. The swimming pool is small and the rows of sunbeds are quickly filled up, but there are lots of other areas to sit out. Books are available in the "library", which is really just a cupboard and the selection varies from day to day as people return books when leaving the ship. Onboard entertainment is varied and there is something to suit everyone, day and night. All the staff, without exception, were polite and helpful. We went on a few excursions where we were given local information by the guides but if we went again I think we would take a taxi from the port or make our own way around. The Beachcomber restaurant on Deck 10 is open 24 hours a day but we only went there a couple of times when we had an early departure as it reminded me of a works canteen. The plates and cups were melamine, but as some of the tables are outside this is understandable and is what you would use at home for al fresco dining. We preferred the main restaurant on Deck 6, where you were seated at a different table every meal enabling you to meet other people and not get stuck with the same ones every time. The food was buffet style but served by waiters, which we preferred as there were no people taking food and then replacing it when they saw something else they liked instead. There really was no reason to complain about either the standard or choice of food in this restaurant. The passengers were from all walks of life, from working class "rednecks" to more genteel people, but as anywhere, you mix with people from your own class. My only niggle was the lack of quiet "personal" space where you could sit alone and read or whatever, most of the outdoor areas were very busy. I did feel ashamed of being British on a couple of occasions - when people left towels on the sunbeds when they were not using them for a while, and when they almost fought to get to the food in the Beachcomber restaurant when afternoon tea was served at 4pm every day. Other than that, everything about the holiday was enjoyable so if you are thinking of going on the Island Escape or have already booked, then ignore the negative reviews on here and enjoy yourselves.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Heather
8 years 10 months ago
Having read the reviews, I was very reluctant to go on the Island Escape. I need not of worried, me and my partner thoroughly enjoyed this cruise. Yes the cabins are small and a bit dated, but they are cleaned once a day with the option of towels being changed twice a day. The rest of the ship is being constantly cleaned by staff and is a credit to them, it was immaculate. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The on board entertainment is very varied an good and caters for every age group. We never heard anyone complain on board, in fact we spoke to another couple who were very impressed by the cruise that they were booking another one when they got home. Also another couple who had been on the Island Escape 4 times. So for all those looking to go on the Island Escape please ignore all the moaning minnies its well worth the money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Michael Horne
8 years 10 months ago
Do not book this trip.

In March of this year my wife and I booked a holiday on the Island Escape for the Colourful Coasts itinerary between the 19th and the 26th of March 2010. We booked an outside cabin on Deck 5/6 with the expectation of at least a partial view. We booked this holiday despite being unable to pre-book excursions as we were assured that booking these on the ship would not be a problem and with the expectation that the shore excursions on the website and in the brochure would be available. We also expected the cleanliness and condition of the accommodation to be of a reasonable standard. Sadly our expectations were not met for any of these conditions.

After arriving on board the ship several hours late due to our flight being diverted we found our cabin (6048) was a lot smaller than we had been expecting. We had to push the beds together ourselves and spent the entire holiday having to climb onto the bed from the bottom as there was no space to walk around it. There was virtually no room for two people to get dressed and ready for a day out. I am shocked that this room was expected to accommodate four people when my wife and I found it too small for just the two of us. The bathroom was in very poor condition. The glass shower screen was cracked and broken and was wedged into the wall with a piece of folded up newspaper. The paint and paper on the sink and walls was badly chipped and flaking and the shaver socket showed signs of fire damage. The vacuum toilet was also temperamental and I had to ask reception to sort it before our bathroom flooded. While we paid for a view we had a filthy window stained outside with paint and inside with God knows what.

On several occasions during the cruise my wife and I discovered that our bed sheets were in fact dirty and stained.

Our exploration of the ship on the first day gave us our first of many experiences of the other problems on board. We had dinner in the Beachcomber restaurant and were forced to queue like children with our plastic plates and cups while the staff slopped out our food like dinner ladies. We decided to check the other main restaurant on board hoping it would be better. While we were happy to see that real plates were available at the Island restaurant and that we were trusted to feed ourselves, the duplication of the menu was very disappointing and having to share a table with 3 other couples was unexpected and rather uncomfortable for us and the other passengers.

During the remainder of our holiday we attempted on numerous occasions to dine alone at breakfast, lunch and dinner but with little success. We found it utterly impossible to sit alone in the Island restaurant due to the insistence of the restaurant staff that we be seated with other people even at quiet times of service. We did not visit the Island restaurant at all after the third day of our holiday because of this and for the remainder of the trip we still found it very difficult to sit alone in the Beachcomber restaurant despite visiting at different times of the day. The quality of the bar service in both restaurants was fairly intermittent as at times we were asked by three or four members of staff in the space of ten minutes if we would like a drink while at other times we had to ask a member of staff to allow us to make a drinks order before waiting up to 30 minutes for our drinks to arrive.

We were extremely disappointed to find that a large number of the excursions detailed in the brochure and on the website were not available at all or had been cancelled. The excursions we did go on were wonderful and we only wish we could have enjoyed more of them on our holiday. The morning shuttle services to the shopping areas in Lanzarote filled up very quickly so we were forced to take an expensive taxi ride into and out of town. The final day of our holiday was one of the most disappointing as we were informed that none of the excursions on offer would return to the ship in time for our transfer to the airport as we were on the 4:20pm flight to Glasgow.

This holiday was extremely disappointing for both my wife and I and fell far short of our expectations in terms of the accommodation, the restaurant facilities, the excursions available and the availability of connections to town centres. We have asked for a refund for this holiday but we have heard absolutely nothing in the 3 months since I sent the first complaint. Do not book this holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Andy Parry
8 years 11 months ago
Our first impressions of the ship was that it was looking a little bit tired, but it was very clean the staff couldnt have been more pleasant and helpful. We found that eating in the Beachcomer restaurant was difficult to get a table and usually there was never enough cutlery but the food was good, we all prefered to eat in the Island restaurant where you were shown to your table which was already laid out with cutlery and it seemed to be better organised.The cabins were very cramped for four people but were adequate the beds were very comfortable.On board entertainment was very good with a wide range of things going on all. Unfortunately we had extra days at sea because the weather was so bad to dock but we always found plenty to do on ship, i would certainly use this ship again and for our first cruise we found it value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Liz
8 years 11 months ago
Thomsons have really let themselves down.I have been on the Celebration and the Destiny and thoroughly enjoyed.So treated family to a surprise week away.They will possibly never cruise again.The food was not up to the expected standard, the cabins were extremely small and the carpets and showers disgusting. The gym had safety issues and NO accident book which I think means they are breaking the law!I know that Thomsons cannot be responsible for the weather but we could not dock at two of the islands and had to leave one at great haste leaving people stranded.They were the lucky ones, the rest of us had to sail in force 10/11 gales, not pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Mrs Neild
9 years ago
Under no circumstances should you book this cruise it beggers belief how awful it is!!I booked it for my daughters 21st birthday and we could not have suffered a worse holiday....... the "ship ratings" do not let you put 0 the cleanliness of our cabin including the bedding and towels was beyond disgraceful...the food was acceptable the ship staff...the waiters,housekeepers were great and couldnt do enough for you but i am sure they had all been given a script to learn beacause they all said the same thing in answer to any questions!!! The Management were outrageously rude and unhelpful.This cruise ruined the time i was so looking forward to spending with my daughter and it was therefore very upsetting..the date we went on this trip was jan 2010
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Frank Harrison
9 years ago
bit concerned about ship having read reviews. need not have been.the cabin was small and dated but clean and perfectly adequate. the food in all restaurants was tasty and varied.entertainment was so good the time flew by. trips we went on (la palma morocco)were great value for money.felt moaners which were not many wanted queen mary ii for no money. would definately travel with island cruises again probably to med in summer.thanks to thomson island cruises and all the staff in particular our maid roberta.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Bruce&Carol
9 years ago
When we first boarded the ship on 29/1 we were surprised to see the multi-coloured plastic mugs used for the tea and coffee on Deck 10 and the plastic plates. The food however was very good.
For most of the holiday we used the restaurant on Deck 6--where the crockery wasn't plastic.
The pool --also on Deck 10 looked tired to say the least and not at all welcoming.
We found the cleanliness of the ship to be very good (although the cabins were small) and the staff and service we received was exceptional.
The onboard entertainment was fair--the comedian--Phil Doyle was our favourite and we saw both his performances, the staff also kept us entertained on our 'at sea days'--particularly Jeff and Ross who both made us laugh at their antics.

Elmer Abistado--the assistant Bar Manager- was very helpful when we went to the evening shows--always managing to get us good seats and always gave us a warm welcome.

Roberto-- the cabin steward was very friendly and helpful. Most days he made us different animals out of the towels and kept our cabin spotless.

Josico Dias--showed us to our seats in the restaurant on Deck 6 for all of our meals and always ensured that we had 4 seats to sit with our friends. He too always gave us a warm welcome.

Pablo --the Bartender on Deck 12 was very entertaining with his singing whenever we went to the bar.

Grenville-- the bar waiter at 'The Pub'(on Deck 7) also gave us excellent service --always making sure we had seats and drinks.Everyone loved his singing too--he sang at least twice during our 7 night cruise and got everyone out of their seats to dance.

We would like to wish the Captain well for the future and all his crew that sail with him on The Island Escape.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Gillian Austin
9 years ago
I really dont know where to start with this review. It would take pages and pages to get it all down. Suffice to say that this ship should be taken out of commission immediately. My husband and I sailed on the Island Escape from 18th - 25th Jan 2010 on what can only be described as the cruise from hell. We had read the reviews before we left but were determined to try and keep a positive attitude having experienced 3 other Thomson cruises which were great.
On boarding the ship we were shown to our cabin which was small, very tatty but relatively clean. There was a strange smell and an overall feeling of dampness but we shrugged this off, purchased air freshners and were determined to enjoy our holiday. Things just went downhill from there. The ship was infected with the Norovirus which were not told about until the following day and people were going down like flies. Apparently this virus had been onbaord the ship the previous week and all the passengers had been taken off so they could fumigate.I contracted the virus myself and spent nearly 3 1/2 days confined to that awful cabin with no chance of getting home. The medical service was disgusting, the nurse arrived at my cabin, did not wash his hands, wear a mask or put on gloves. He just gave me an injection and left. We were without water one evening, not good when you have d & v and when my husband went to complain the reception staff were extremely rude. I was told that I must get off the ship the following Friday so that they could fumigate once again,even though I was so ill all I wanted to do was get home. We were taken by coach to Tenerife and on our return were horrified to see that a whole new load of passengers were getting onboard, obviously unaware of the dangers to their health. I can really only beg people to think twice before booking themselves onto this ship and then go on another. We are now fighting to get some kind of a refund and compensation to make up for this dreadful experience and I am completely astounded that Thomson are associated with this ship in any way. Please, please dont go on this ship, every word of the complaints are true. By the way, its no use trying to complain on the ship, they totally ignore you!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Ship image