America/Canada Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in America and Canada
From a fellow Julian....

I have never been to Fort Collins, or anywhere in Colorado apart from Denver and Golden BUT.....I did look into a trip around Colorado for last year which narrowly lost out to New Mexico. All I would say on the matter is that you are an hours drive away from Denver, Boulder and the Rocky Mountain National Park. Now I'm not an expert on this area by any means but Denver is a lovely city with a picture postcard background against the Rockies. Tons to do (it's the State Capital, so some amazing buildings to be seen), we had 5 nights there and did everything Downtown and even did the Coors Brewery tour at Golden (obviously your boys won't be able to have the free samples). Also worth checking out whether the Baseball will be on, which should be a highlight for your children (you can tour the park as well)!!

I would certainly google the Rocky Mountain National Park and see what it brings up. Show your kids and see if they would be interested. There are going to be some amazing sights and views to be had, hiking etc so I doubt they will be bored but everybody is different. Personally, I am not a beach lover and would much rather explore than lay in the sun all day. I'm guessing if you go to Cyrpus most years that you are probably the opposite, so it might not be as much of a no brainer as it for me.

Obviously you have to factor in flight costs which won't be cheap in July. Denver is served directly by BA I think, so you wouldn't have to mess around with connections although you may well find it might be cheaper if you do go indirect.

If it were me, I'd snap their hands off but unfortunately most of my relatives live in East Anglia (where I do) so no long distance freebies for me to have!!!! :rofl

Keep us updated.