EX-Pats and Owners Abroad

Discussions for EX-Pats and owners abroad or those who are considering this idea.
Sounds like a close call :shock: :shock:
Which agency were you with???

Peter
I'm an estate agent in Spain, and have seen this happen even with large and established agencies.

The lesson to be drawn here is don't give your money to an estate agent. Most are in rented offices and have no assets and many move to whichever country is considered "hot" every few years. I'm watching my competitors upping sticks and heading for Turkey, Croatia and Bulgaria right now.

If you have to pay a deposit, lodge it with your lawyer (who should never be the one the agent recommends). Any reputable agent should have no problems with this.
Bert, I said something similar on this forum about getting your own lawyer and not using the agents in-house services but it didn't seem to go down very well. When its your first purchase and live in the UK its very easy to latch on to an agents "services" but most of the employees work on a commission only basis so you have to ask yourself whats in it for them.
It's all too easy to just trust the estate agent to sort out a lawyer. If a lawyer charges 1% the estate agent usually gets half that as a kickback. Same for mortgage companies. What the lawyers are doing is illegal - but as long as they only do it to foreigners, no one minds because you see, nobody ever finds out.

There exists in Spain a regulatory body for lawyers, and all that's required is to report malpractice to them - but it's all too much like hard work for 95% of foreigners, so they don't bother. They just let the next people get ripped off, too.

It's not too difficult to find an independent lawyer who speaks your language if you have the internet. Get one that works for you, not the estate agent who buys him a new Mercedes every year.