Image of Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort Hotel

Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort Hotel

5 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Starting December 23, 2006, all Tamarijn Aruba guests will have full use of the features and facilities of the Divi Aruba.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
This place is a Gem
5 years 7 months ago
We booked this as a last minute getaway. Always a bit risky but turned out to be one of our best holidays.

We travel as a couple with our very active teenage son, so activities for him are extremely important if my husband and I are to get the best out of the holiday.

We have stayed at 5 star luxury hotels and 2 star basic ones.

The hotel is quite spread out, but the walkways and gardens are well tended and pleasant to walk through. We were very lucky to get an upgrade to a one bedded apartment as part of the time share complex. This room was fabulous, spacious and clean. Although I would have been just as happy with one of the beachfront rooms, which had fabulous views over the beach.

The main pool area is relatively compact, which suited us fine. There were various activities for example pool tables, table tennis table, TV areas, a games room, there was a good sized "hang out" area in reception as well as the organised activities with the entertainment team. More than enough to keep my son happy - he too agreed this was his best holiday ever.

The beach is amazing, spread out and never crowded, the water warm and although there are a couple of rocks here and there not many at all really.

There is no waiter service around the pool and beach, which I have been spoilt by having at other hotels, but although the hotel was full we never had to wait long at the bar for a drink. Almost all of the bar staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Cocktails were good, drinks were generally very good, and on occasion even a little too good! We loved to go for a drink at the beach bar on the way back to our room each evening and watch the sunset, and made some great likeminded friends here.

The sister resort the Divi was also good and it was a great bonus that you can use the bars and restaurants there. Red Parrot was probably our favourite out of all the restaurants, but they were all good.

Don’t be afraid to order off the menu, our son is very fussy and they always accommodated his strange requests.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. It would be very easy to criticise, it is not 5 star luxury, but it is easy going, friendly and laid back and we would go back this year - Except, First Choice/Thompson have withdrawn the flights from Manchester.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mrs M
Best time in years
6 years 8 months ago
This was our 2nd visit to this hotel, and it’s fantastic and I would visit every year.

The rooms are tired but the view and beach are fantastic. The location is good you can walk into main town at cooler parts of the day.

The staff are always happy and cheerful. Although a few more staff on duty would be good.

The entertainment only ok, but could do with a little more.

We have already booked to return as it was the best holiday we have had in years.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carl Carl Hood
7 years 7 months ago
Travelled with my girlfriend, with first choice for 2 weeks in July. Her dad was also there with his girlfriend.

We arrived at the airport and waited a good 30 minutes more than everyone else for our bags, as they were the last to come out. Once we got them we headed to the bus, where we were checked in while we made our way to the tamarijn. His was brilliant as a soon as we got there, we were greeted with a small bottle of water and a cool towel, then we just got in a golf cart an were taken straight to our room. The cases followed about 10 minutes later. We were in block 2300.

The room. We walked into our room and having read some reviews, weren't expecting much. Honestly, don't worry! The room was more than big enough for the 2 of us (the father in law was in the adjacent room). We had a lovely massive bed, tv, draws, a small table and 2 chairs, and space to han shirts etc. The bathroom wasn't amazing, but clean, and absolutely fine! We spent all of 30 seconds in there before we found the patio doors. This was what it was all about for us. We had a small patio, with a table and 2 chairs. Then about 6 feet of grass, a palm tree next to our patio, the wooden walkway (which goes from one end of the hotel to the other, past the buffet restaurant), then the beach. Amazing! The beach here is beatiful, with no rocks. There are rocky places throughout the hotel, an we felt this was the best stretch of beach by far. Our room was about a 3 minute walk to the reception area. We've been to a nice hotel in Egypt 3 times, and the room here was better than the room in Egypt, so don't panic.

The food. The food in the buffet is varied and fresh. I could have easily eaten there the whole time, but we only dis on a couple of occasions, as the a la carte is also included. Ginger (Asian) was the word of the bunch, but by no means bad. On it's night it was lovely, but it was a bit inconsistent. Papparazzi (Italian) was lovely, and was my girlfriends favourite. Very nice food and a lovely bar area to use anytime. We didn't try the palm grill (steak etc), a you have to cook your own meat on your table and it was far too hot to be sitting round a hot plate. We heard good thing from others though. Red parrot (Caribbean?), over at the divi was my favourite. Lovely steak, and fish. These places are lovely, and completely free! You will feel like you've been out to a nice restaurant, and think there must be a catch. Pizza per tutti is a bar around the pool, where you can get a club sandwich, pizza, chicken nuggets, chips and a few other snacks until 1am. We only had lunch there a couple of times, but it was a nice change from stuffing nour faces in the buffet. Windows on Aruba, over at the time share golf resort do a special deal for people staying at the tam, and the divi. $35 for 3 courses. This was lovely, and really felt like a special dinner both time we went. You can pay am extra $15 and have lobster (which on the normal menu cost $65 dollars on it's own!). I'd recommend going there, but you do have to pay for your drinks. We ate out once during our stay, at yemanja grill in Oranjestad. It was a lovely place to eat, but beware, nowhere is cheap! $260 for 4 of us, and we only had one desert!

The drinks. The bunker bar is the main place for drinks, between the pool and the buffet. There is self service coke tap for soft drinks 24 hrs, and there is a coffee station near the buffet. The bar is fine but does get busy. It is a great plac to chill out in the evening andeet fellow holidaymakers. We spent most evening there. Yu can head over to the divi and use their bars and buffet too, which can feel like a nice change.

The location. The hotel is in a great place, about a 5 minute drive from Oranjestad (right out of the hotel), and the high rise area (left out of the hotel). Taxis are almost always at the hotel, and have fixed prices. $9 to Oranjestad. The taxi drivers are very helpful and friendly. We even hired a taxi for 2 hours and went to the ostrich farm, aloe factory, and the natural bridge. We struck gold with our driver, he was a fountain of knowledge about Aruba and the history. Buses are cheaper and very frequent. Just wait at the bus stop near the tennis courts to go towards Oranjestad, cross over to head to the high rise. Don't be nervous.

In general. We had a great holiday at the tam, and are already planning a return visit, next year. The hotel isn't 5 star luxury, but in occasion can feel like it. Make the most of the restaurants, and book a couple of days in advance. The staff we found very happy in general, with the odd moody person. This isn't surprising when you hear some of the complaints people have. I heard someone ask for a rum and coke at the bar, and the got Bacardi and coke (which is rum). Rather than just ordering another she went mad, and laid into the barman. He said, "oh I'm sorry, hear you go", and gave her a dark rum and coke, but she was still compaining 20 minutes later. Then she sat at her table telling all her friends, and they were trying to come up with really awkward drinks to order, then just leaving them. Like I said, considering they have to put up with rubbish like that, the staff are really good. Some stand out (like john). Others just do a job. If you have amy reservations, don't. Thisnplace is lovely. Baby beach was nice, but so busy. The hotels between them have such a lovely stretch of beach you won't believe it. Go there and enjoy!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
8 years 7 months ago
This was a return visit for us and I was a bit apprehensive it wouldn't be as good. I didn't need to worry as the hotel standards hadn't slipped.

Our room: Had two double beds. Since our last visit the room had a new flat screen tv and new bedding and curtains. The bathroom hadn't been updated and yes, does look a bit tired but it is kept scrupulously clean by the staff. The air conditioning was effective but on the loud side.

Food: The buffet restaurants at the Tam and Divi were both good. Personally, if we were eating at the buffet of an evening, we preferred the Divi. It has a nicer feel and the staff did not seem as busy, so service was better.
The speciality restaurants (4) had to be booked a day in advance. We always got the restaurant of our choice but had to be in the queue by 7.45am (the desk opened at 8.00am), otherwise it would be too late. The menus had not changed since our last visit 2 years ago.

Hotel location: Fantastic - on the beach in the Low rise area. Easy to catch bus outside the hotel into the Capital or High Rise area. A mini van may also pull up at the bus stop which charges roughly the same price as the offical bus service at $1.25 pp.
Taxis cost about $7 dollars into Oranjestad and $9 - $10 into the high rise area.

Entertainment: The Divi and Tamarijn put on entertainment every night e.g. Dancers, limbo man. If you did want to watch the entertainment, we found the Divi a much nicer place to sit and watch. The trouble with the Tamarijn of an evening is that the entertainment area is in the restaurant. At the Divi, they had a DJ playing music after the show and this was a pleasant place to sit, people watch and have your frozen cocktail!

Pools: The swimming pools at both the Tamarijn and Divi are nothing to write home about. You are allowed to use the pools over at the Divi Golf over the road. There is a pool there with a slide and infinity pool.

Bikes are available at the hotel and OH used these to cycle into Oranjestad and the High rise. The hotel runs a bike and snorkel trip every Tuesday (free of charge)You pick your snorkel and fins up at the watersports centre the day before.You cycle about 5 miles to a beach where the Antilla wreck is situated. The hotel brings towels and snacks for you. The trip is from 8.00am till 12.30pm

There were a lot of repeat holidaymakers, both British and American. Some were on their 8th visit. We would definitely visit again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
MarkJ HT Mod
9 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from a fabulous 14 night holiday at the Tamarijn in Aruba.

ROOMS
-----
Basic accommodation that is all seafront. Just a few steps and you're straight on the beach. Rooms are basic but are kept spotless clean by the maids on a daily basis. Bathroom could do with a little modernising. Ample storage space is provided. Mini fridge and iron with ironing board in each room. Airconditioning works good but is a little bit on the loud side but you get used to it after a while

FOOD / DRINKS
-------------
A wide selection of restaurants are available at both the Tamarijn and the sister Divi hotel next door. A-la-carte options that need to be prebooked offer an Asian, Italian, Caribbean and cook yourself on the table option. In addition there are two buffet restaurants and two snack bars. The latter serve food from 11AM until 1AM whilst breakfast is served between 7AM and 11AM, lunch from 12PM until 3PM and dinner from 5PM until 10PM. The quality of all the food was very good with a wide choice available for all tastes.

STAFF
-----
Very friendly and efficient staff everywhere. Drinks are served promptly whilst the wait for food at the a-la-carte restaurants was spot on (not too rushed or too slow).

AMENITIES / ENTERTAINMENT
-------------------------
Pool/beach towels are provided with enough sun loungers for all guests although the best spots on the beach are unfortunately reserved by guests hours before they make use of them. The watersport activity desk provides enough equipment to spend hours having fun in the warm and clean Caribbean sea. Access to the beach is restricted by rocks along a large part of the property. Entertainment in the evening is low key.

OVERALL
-------
Excellent value for money. Well recommended!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Babs
9 years 6 months ago
Just had to write a review on this hotel. I can honestly say I have never enjoyed a holiday so much. 14 of us went mixture of adults and children. Aruba relies on tourism and the people go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your holiday. Everyone was smiling which is why they call it the happy island. It is also the safest island with a 0% crime rate.
The Tam was fantastic excellent food, stunning white beach and crystal blue sea. The all inclusive was great with a good range of restraunts that you had to be pre booked two days in advance, however you could eat at the buffet at either the Tam or its sister hotel the Diva which was reached by regular golf type buggy buses.
Beach towels were supplied by the hotel and you could change them as often as you wanted, in addition you had use of non motorised water sports the climbing wall, snorkeling etc.
The cleanliness was first class would go again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Tom & Shellie
9 years 9 months ago
It couldn't have been any better !!
Well, it could, if it had the snorkelling clearness of the Maldives.. but that's a different holiday ...
The staff are amazing ..
The beaches are amazing ...
The weather is amazing ..
Whatever else you do there :-
Go on the Master Blaster.. at least once !!!
Do the Helicopter Tour of the Island ..
And eat at El Gaucho's ....
Sea on one side, quiet pool on the other ...
Massive drinks !!!!
Excellent food ...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Allan And Tracey Whittaker
10 years 6 months ago
this hotel is as everyone else has already described! the food is good especially the a la carte restaurants,which you have to book early(start queuing from 7.45am at the concierge desk!)great cocktail drinks,as well as all the branded ones.childen have a self serve soft drinks,there are coffee machines dotted around the hotel.you couldnt ask for more!i loved the movies under the stars!! it speaks for its self (how romantic is that?)if i had to find fault it would be this tiny little niggle which i must admit i was upset by!all the rooms overlook the sea,some however (mine)had in front the sea defences which meant i couldnt run straight into the sea as i had dreamed of!!(i know tipical female!)i had to run 100 yards either way.but a word of caution! mums make sure your little darlings have something on their feet if they paddle!! there is alot of broken coral on the shoreline!
some of the activities are limited, the windsurfing is twice a week they only had 2. sunboatsailing was twice a week with only 1 boat(if they could get it!!)the scuba class was once a week,they only have 2 pool tables!so my teenage kids got fed up!on the plus side it was wonderful just to be able to actually get a sunbed round the pool after 9am(try doing that in spain!!)the pool was warm,as is the sea(which wasn't crowded) plenty of shaded huts with sun beds, pool/beach towels were provided you can get clean towels everyday! one less thing to pack!best of all was the company you meet! we met with two families and they made it special!!!we all agreed we would love to come back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Darren And Tracey Plassard
10 years 6 months ago
we booked our honeymoon at this hotel due to the fact that it is out of the hurricane belt. going all inclusive was an option we have never used before but it does take all the hassle out of trying to find somewhere to eat.the food on offer at the buffet was a delight,the only problem being that you wanted to try everything.the maid service was excellent. the room was right on the beach front with about 4 yds of grass and a walkway between our patio and the beach.one little gripe i had though was the toilet seat wouldn't stay up. the entertainment was good although i felt it wound up a little early at 10 pm every night.we were also told by other couples with children that there wasn't a lot to do for their kids but i cant comment on that. the frozen cocktails were a revelation, the stayed cold right to the bottom of the glass.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Chris
10 years 6 months ago
The food in the Tamarijin was excellent the rooms were spotless, the location does not come any better right on the BEACH, the hotel staff were brilliant always willing to help, Entertainment we thought finnished a bit early (10-00pm)

And most definitley we has only just got back and have booked for Next Year
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum