Image of Paraiso & Camino del Sol Hotel

Paraiso & Camino del Sol Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Cabarete

2 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Playa de Villas de Mar, Juan Dolio Cabarete Dominican Republic

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alyson Allen
11 years 6 months ago
We booked this hotel with Thomson before reading the reviews so we gave it a go we had no choice. Some were good but most were bad unfortunately the reviews are all true we have just returned form our holiday I felt compelled to add my comments this hotel is desperate for an upgrade all over.

The rooms are very dark and dingy the shower was off the wall there was a phone but not connected because there was no gable the room was damp.

The main pool was not looked after there was suntan lotion and dead bugs in it the filter covers where broken and the sun beds where very bad.

The other pools were the same for the beach you can not swim in the sea because the waves are to rough the red flag is flying all the time sun beds and umbrellas are broken and dirty there is a lot of debris on the beach dogs run freely around and mess where they want the dogs roam the hotel as well some people were bitten.

The bar was manned by one person for 300 people a 30 minute wait was common the drinks were watered down and not much choice. The restaurant well where to start really its was bad, same food all the time I lived on rice, desert was cake no ice cream any where. Sorry but I had to add my comments having just returned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Frank
11 years 8 months ago
I so wish that I had visited this site before going on this holiday.

The whole area was as clean as my grunge teenagers sink.

The food was almost like it was cooked in the microwave the day before.

The location was OK but as inspiring as a travel type lodge, the staff were like they had been forced to attend to us at gun point and what entertainment and all they did was laugh at all our niggles and complaints.

We went here to give my girlfriend a break after her back operation but now cant wait to get back for a real holiday in bed!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Gillian & Sue
11 years 9 months ago
We had 1 week in May & 2 weeks in October 2006, we are going back for a week in May 2007.

We also went in May & did not have any problems when we were there.

The pools were cleaned ever day that we see, we stayed in a room above 1 of the pools & ever mornoing when we woke, the pool was been cleaned. We never saw any FAGS or BUGS in the pools filters.

The food was good, it was different ever day that we were there, & it was not cold once.The seats in in the Restaurant were half white plastic & half wooden one's, it just depends wear you wanted to sit in the Restaurant. If use feel the drink's are watered down, you don't get ICE in them then.

The staff could not have been any more helpful. I asked for a blanket because i felt it cold at night with the Air-Conditioning, when we got back to the room i had 1 & we had a Basket of fruit for use. We had a working telephone & a hairdryer in bathroom to, we had a fridge in the room frist time we went.

Our Rep's were always there if we needed to talk to them about anything. We also had Number's for them if it was there day off.

The staff were always cleaning the ground's of the Hotel. We did see dog's, no one was at all that we seen, because they would run away. We used walk up & down the street to the shop for the telephone at night & we felt safe.

You could swim in the sea, yes it was rough but the RED flag was not flying all the time.

The Entertainment was great & was different ever night,the staff used to put show's on & get show's to come in for the guest's.

All together we had a great HOLIDAY, if we didn't we would be going back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: the holiday place

Recommended
Gillian & Sue
11 years 9 months ago
We had 1 week in May & 2 weeks in October 2006, we are going back for a week in May 2007.

We also went in May & did not have any problems when we were there.

The pools were cleaned ever day that we see, we stayed in a room above 1 of the pools & ever mornoing when we woke, the pool was been cleaned. We never saw any FAGS or BUGS in the pools filters.

The food was good, it was different ever day that we were there, & it was not cold once.The seats in in the Restaurant were half white plastic & half wooden one's, it just depends wear you wanted to sit in the Restaurant. If use feel the drink's are watered down, you don't get ICE in them then.

The staff could not have been any more helpful. I asked for a blanket because i felt it cold at night with the Air-Conditioning, when we got back to the room i had 1 & we had a Basket of fruit for use. We had a working telephone & a hairdryer in bathroom to, we had a fridge in the room frist time we went.

Our Rep's were always there if we needed to talk to them about anything. We also had Number's for them if it was there day off.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: the holiday place

Recommended
LYNNE
12 years 1 month ago
For your health sake STAY away from this hotel. This was my nightmare come to pass. Food was not fit for a pig swill.

All alcohol was watered down. It was like Butlins for 18 - 25 year olds white plastic seating in restaurant.

I had a part refund on my return, so booked another holiday in Salou, what a difference, staff couldn't care less about you.

No help fron the rep, she had had enough, and was flying home on our return flight, and don't even think about swimming in the sea, the mersey is cleaner.

The area is full of dogs and thieves and filthy dirty.

The hotel is the pits. All food cold, sheeps head for breakfast with mushy peas (nice).

If youv'e booked it I strongly suggest that you cancel NOW. I had panic attacks when I came home at the thought of this place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Helen
12 years 7 months ago
I wish I had read / found this site befor going to this .....hell hole .

After reading all the other reports ...
poor people .. just like us ..who went for a romantic holiday to find out we would of been better to go to skegness for 2 weeks, at least its clean there.

Sorry to burst everyones bubble but ....
Noooooooo, cancel it if youv`e booked, please
demand your money back as its truly a brill place in the brochure, but ..it is nothing like that when you get there
tc all and please take out life insurance as the hotel is a dam death trap.

Helen
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: skytours

Tony +emma Dean
12 years 8 months ago
2 weeks all inclusive paraiso del sol hotel carbarette please whatever you do,do not stay here worst 2 weeks of our lives.

It is filthy stinking dirt, there was raw sewage coming through the toilet in 3 rooms.

4 days later we had a room and the legs of the bed were missing and when we told them all they did was laugh.

Beware do not go here if you do take some candles for when the power goes down and a fan for when the air con stops.

Meal times was a fight for a table and the food had all gone by the time we got there.

Fag ends in the pool and in the glasses which they rinsed out and then served drinks in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Dean And Mary
12 years 9 months ago
Food was terrible. Because we went in May which was before the peak season only 2 of 3 restaurants were open. When we went for breakfast we took some rolls because it was the same food all the time. Drinks were watered down, bar area not clean. Although drinks were all inclusive they were bland local stuff and we didn't mind resorting to buying our own carry out from a local store, and taking that down to the bar! The second week we ended up eating out all the time and spent all our money - even though it was an all inclusive holiday.

The most enjoyable part of the holiday was walking down the beach into Cabarete. It's about an hours walk but worth getting away from the hotel and seeing the lovely beach. We even bathed in warm waters.

We had some terrible weather, it rained on and off and this regularly knocked out the TV reception. There isn't that much to do in the evenings. Same entertainment every night and during the day the staff tried to get people to join in but you could see that most weren't interested. A week here would have been enough but two weeks you will be struggling and screaming for things to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Suzanne Weeks
13 years 7 months ago
Hell Hole

Worst place I have every stayed. In the middle of no where
PLEASE PLEASE THINK TWICE ABOUT BOOKING A HOLIDAY IN THIS HOTEL

We went there for our 25th wedding anniversary and all I did all day was cry.

Everybody was ill. The food was worst then you can imagine what was left from breakfast we added to and put out for lunch and again what was left was added to for dinner no wonder everybody was so ill being sick and never off the loo.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum