Image of Starfish Trelawny Resort

Starfish Trelawny Resort

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
54 Main Street | PO Box 54, Falmouth, Jamaica, Jamaica

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Definitely going back
7 years 2 months ago
Second time at this hotel and again not disappointed. Rooms need updating but are kept clean. Food was not an issue. Plenty of choice even for the fussiest eaters [which my hubby is].Casablanca and Japanese restaurants were lovely. Cocktails were lush and some branded drinks available.

Staff were excellent and bar staff were great having your drinks ready after only serving you a couple of times. Nothing is a trouble.

Have only put 4 for entertainment as did not see much of the daytime activities as spent our days on the little island just out from the beach and most activities were centred around the pool area.

The evening shows we caught were very good and they put a lot into them.

Guys on the beach were very entertaining selling anything from trinkets to natural aloe vera. Treat them with respect, a simple no thanks and they wish you a good day then move on. They are only trying to make a living.
Shop in the hotel is expensive and fixed prices. If you smoke take them in with you as they are cheaper and not many brands in the shop.

Would definitely visit this hotel again but if it is refurbished like it is rumoured I don’t think the prices will be as low as this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dean
We can't wait to go again.
7 years 9 months ago
My girlriend and I were looking for a cheap winter holiday to celebrate her 40th birthday. We agreed on Dominican Republic as we had both been to Cuba and most of the fares to Jamaica are expensive. So to our surprise when we saw a cheap holiday to Jamaica we jumped at the chance.

We read alot of reviews about our hotel and had a few concerns about our choice. We need not have worried, the hotel was excellent worth every penny if not more. The rooms were dated but clean with fresh sheets and towels, over 100 channels on the TV and ice cold air con keeping you cool.

The food and drink was excellent with choice to cater for every taste from the buffet resturant to the other three excellent resturants you must try them all. The drinks flow all day with all named brand drinks included.

I must admit the trips are very expensive but we enjoyed ourselves so much we are booking up for next year to take the kids as this is a great place for a family holiday the kids will love it.

We can't wait to go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
My daughter and I had a fabulous holiday at the Starfish. Our room was comfortable,clean and well maintained. Worth paying the extra for an ocean view as the sunrise was amazing.

Food was fantastic. Only gripe was waiting for a table and cutlery in the buffet restaurant. I am sure Starfish could have a better system of allocating these.

Beach, pools and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. Never had a problem getting a sunbed either on the beach or at the pool. Staff and locals are very friendly and helpful.

Daytime activities were brilliant for a family holiday. Entertainment team worked very hard to get people involved in activities and to ensure that water activities were well supervised. Night time entertainment could be better but was ok.

Trips are a bit expensive but the ones we did were fabulous. Will definately go back to Jamaica and if the price is right would again stay at Starfish.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
Great budget hotel, fantastic facilities for kids, which was what we based our booking on. To be honest, we could have spent more money on a nicer looking hotel, but none would have matched up with the kids facilities at the starfish ! we had a fantastic time. food was great, buffet restraunt had plenty of choice, japanese restraunt was fab, casablanca was really great, no problems at all with the food.
room was adequate, big double bed and a single, very clean and towels and sheets were cleaned daily.
All in all, a great stay, our 8 yr old loved it as did we, but that may be down to the great new friends we met whilst we were there.
I suppose to top it all, I would say, the hotel is really dated, but it doesn't pretent to be anaything its not and for a family holiday to the caribean, magic !!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years ago
We stayed here during October half term and were suprised to find that the hotel was only about 1/2 full.
Starfish is promoted as a fun, family orientated hotel and this is precisely what it is.
We found the rooms to be of a very good standard, especially when compared to Spanish holiday hotels. Safety deposit box is included and there is a large closet for hanging clothes - take extra hangers if required as not many in the room.
I understood that room service is included, but unfortunately, we had no leaflets or menus in the room to advise us of this.
Rooms are kept very clean and plenty of towels provided.
The buffet diningroom is a little basic in furnishings, but hey, this is Jamaica mon and everythings irie lol !! The food was fabulous at each sitting and very tasty with lots of flavoursome dishes to be had. I loved the Jerk chicken and rice and peas!!
Drinks are served in plastic tumblers and tend to be quite strong, especially the rum cocktails!! Red Stripe is on draught. Many guest provided their own thermos mugs, which are larger and keep drinks cool.
The al a carte restaurants are a nice diversion in the evenings and have to be booked in advance.
We dined at the Casablanca, which was a lovely evening, do try the lobster and pear creme brulee which was delicious.
We spent our days on the beach as we found it too hot to remain around the swimming pools. The sea is warm, calm and the breeze is refreshing. Lots of water sports available. Lots of beach sellers, but they are part of the holiday experience and were very friendly and polite, as well as offering their knowledge of Jamaica.
The entertainment crew work very hard and provide activities throughtout the day and shows in the evening. However, the entertainment stops fairly early and guests seemed to disapear. The disco was very underused, which was a shame for the youngsters who wanted to party till late. However, I would imagine this would be different in high season.
We saw only 2 light rain showers during the week and both occured when we were having lunch and had cleared by the time we had finished. Weather was very hot with lots of sunshine. Mosquittos were a problem as Jamaica has suffered heavy rains over the last couple of months. It was also quite humid so of loose-fitting,natural fabric clothes are required for comfort.
All staff and locals encountered were pleasant and approachable and have an easy going, laid back attitude, which is very catching!!
Relax, chillout to the reggae beat and enjoy everything that Starfish and Jamaica has to offer, and yes, I would definitely return!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Charlotte
11 years 1 month ago
The hotel looked a bit faded from the outside, probably because the sign on top looks a bit old fashioned. The lobby is huge with its own bar and cheery tiles but spoiled I think by pool tables and slot machines on one side. That aside, it has several pools, loads of different restaraunts, including a rather posh dining room (Casablanca), an Italian and a japanese restaraunt. These are also part of AI, if you stick to food with no price against it, the ones with prices have to be paid for with a surcharge. There is also the main buffet area (with tons of really good food, fantastic fresh fruit and fish) and a beach side restaraunt with burgers, chicken, chips, nachos/cheese et. Plenty of bars too, including a swim up and a late night disco. the entertainment was ok, not my kind of thing but if you like Karioke, quiz nights, competitions etc...there's always something going on and the bands were good. They also ptovide lots of watersports (some free), trapeze training (hoot to watch people having a go), free beach towels too. The beach is good, fine sand and a little island offshore that you can walk to and use the sunbeds, we spent most of our time over there. Beware there are beach sellers, but the hotel has security guards on the beach, although they were a bit hit and miss with the sellers (but just be firm and say no). Room was fine, basic but had hairdryer iron etc. (pity the sockets were 3 pin and the iron 2 pin !!) and as someone else said...4 bottles of booze on optics. Hotel was kept clean, no complaints but I think they need to get some fly and wasp killers especially around the coke machines. Staff were generally great, warm and friendly but the odd few were surly and obviously not happy in their job but what's new. Overall though we would recommend this hotel, it more than matched our expectations and if you are going with kids, there is just shedloads for them to do...and they will never, never be hungry !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kim Morgan
11 years 2 months ago
We really enjoyed our stay at starfish.Hurricane Dean arrived when we were there but the hotel kept us informed at all times and went out of their way to make us comfortable.Luckily there wasnt too much damage and after all the hard work of the staff everything was back up and running in no time.Our son was so upset when we returned home as he had such a great time.He loved the circus crew who learnt him on the flying trapeze, (especially Phillip).The rooms are basic but clean.The night entertainment was good but we felt it could of lasted longer.It seemed to dye off from around 10pm.All the staff were great especially the entertainment team (Kevan)and the bar men from the lobby bar (Kevin,kilmarnie,dwane and kevon).We will visit starfish again in the future.
Hope to go back soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Peverley
11 years 2 months ago
the bar areas could have been cleaner they smelt of stale beer everyday ,wasps or bees were always around the bar ,not enough comfortable seats in the reception area and bars and plastic cups are awful.
There is nowhere to walk in the evening apart from jerrys bar if like me you like a walk in the evening after your evening meal ,the security staff make you think that it is not safe to go out it is safe but nowhere to go (buy somthing from the locals they need the money just to live ,if you want to go on trips see sticky or squidly didly on the beach they may seem dodgy but will look after you as will all the taxi drivers but they will take you to shops that give them commission if you want to go shopping not much to buy anyway unless you like t shirts,
All the trips are designed to take money off you so be aware.
The food was good especialy the paties at the pool bar inthe evening the restauraunt was busy and very little room between tables this was the main restaurant and is el fresco and the mosquitoes eat well the restaurant also resembled a canteen .
The rooms are clean if a little outdated make sure you put insect repelent plugins at all times or face a severe savaging .
It would be niceto eat in the casssblaca resturant every night but the menu is limited .
Overall I enjoyed my stay even with the above comments I didnt like reggae when I landed in Jamaica I now Hate it ,would go again but somwhere i could get out more
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Vcikie
11 years 9 months ago
Been home for 5 days, and am sooooo sad for leaving Starfish. Truly was my best ever holiday (and I have travelled Europe/Med/Turkey/St.Lucia)

Remember this is rated 3* so the review is based on this.
Food is better than average, and for 3*star, it was fantastic for choice etc. All mainly spicy however in min buffet there was a kids section that always served non-spicy (spag bol, lasagne, casseroles etc)
Sea shells pool bar-excelletn-burgers hotdogs patties of course, and jerk chiken. Jerk everything is everywhere on every day-but we love it so was in our element.

Hotel, beach, pool, rooms were kept immaculate, towels/bedding changed everyday, cups/plates collected immediately, beach was even raked regular to clear seaweed!
Hotel is kind of in the middle of nowhere however we did venture out as there are 2 bars in very close walking distance.

You must get out of the complex and see the real Jamaica. People are Very FRIENDLY and think its hilarious that we are advised to not go out alone!!! Make a friend with a local-go with them-but do not stay within complex for your 2 weeks!

Entertainment ranged from acceptable to fantastic. The best being the circus show on a Friday night and Jamiacasn night Saturday night. House band were OK.
I have already booked my weddiong for here in December07/Jan '08.

My son had time of his life doing rock-climbing, ice-skating, mini golf, basketball, kayaking, swimming, volleyball etc. Plenty for kids.

BEST HOLIDAY EVER. DO NOT HESITATE TO GO HERE YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

By the way, the rooms have a 3 pin UK standard plug for us! Pretty cool (even after I spent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
This is a fantastic hotel,I cant wait to get back next year,staff are fantastic and so friendly. Always smiling. Lots of Americans here.

Beach is amazing. Food is great,this is great for children,my daughter spent most of the 2 weeks in the kids club,small charge of 5 dollars a day,but its from 9-5 and from kids age 18 months to 11 yrs. The staff are great with the kids.rooms are basic but who goes on holiday to spend it in your room.

In the room is tv,iron,coffee maker,hair dryer mini bar with rum,vodka,bacardi and 1 other,,we didnt touch ours as we drank downstairs but its there if you want it.

Towels changed everyday and room cleaned. We travelled to Falmouth market 1 day,if you ask around you will get a taxi driver who will take you any where during your stay.

The taxi drivers in the hotel parking are a little more because they have to pay the hotel money to park in the hotel. Looking forward to returning next year,yeh mon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum