Image of Brayka Bay Resort

Brayka Bay Resort

6 of 8 hotels in Marsa Alam

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Holt
We would certainly go back!
6 years 9 months ago
Due to Egypt unrest not many people stayed at Brakya Bay Hotel hence the food was of limited choice.

All staff were friendly and most helpful. Our room was lovely and cleaned every day.

The beach and Bay are ideal. The sea is perfect for snorkellers.

We would like to return. This was our second visit and we met lots of lovely people.

Entertainment was lacking but we did have a few nights at the piano bar and made our own entertainment. Thanks to Management and staff for making our stay comfortable.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
D Humphreys
9 years 5 months ago
The hotel was nice. Staff friendly. Food tasted nice but a few days into the holiday we were all ill with stomach problems. This lasted for a week and we had to visit the resort Doctor. Everyone we spoke to had similar problems. Most had to go to the Doctor for medication. I would not recomend anyone to go to this hotel at present. Shame because health problems aside it is a nice hotel but it is not pleasant when you are ill along with most of the other guests in the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Pete
10 years ago
Arrived at hotel and first impressions of the bay were excellent. Snorkelers paradise, excellent beach, but you have to be up at 6am to get good sunbeds on the beach.

This time in Marsa Alam it appears to be full of Russians, been to Marsa Alam beore and never seen the amount that we encounterd this week.Flies also are a problem at this time of year.

The hotel itself has a gorgeous setting but the service from the waiters and the bar staff is not good. Have stayed at four other hotels in Marsa Alam wwhere service was excellent, there didnt appear to be enough staff to cater for the amount of people at the resort.

Water seems to be an issue at this hotel, could only get it at dinner and lunch and again unfortuneately the waiters did not want to give bottles easily.

Food in the resturant was plentiful, however very often was cold or luke warm.We ate at the Italian which was hot and received the good service you usually get from the Egyptians albeit that there was a charge.

Overall would not return to the hotel which is a shame as the hotel has an excellent setting but they are in the process of building Brayka Bay Heights next door and this will cause the bay to be overcrowded.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Chris Edmonds
10 years 2 months ago
We returned from the Brayka Bay 12th September

Our first impression was lovely location, nice clean spacious room.

We enjoyed our first week, but we were aware of some not so lovely hygiene. We observed the plastic glasses at the pool bar being washed under the tap, and then being put straight back out to be reused. The juices were left open in the hot sun, an invitation to flies and bacteria. In the Restaurants, the salad, fruit, bread, cheese, cold meats and desserts were left open with no covers or ice to keep them cool. The cooking stations were fine if you got there first for dinner, because as more guests arrived they just couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Colin
10 years 4 months ago
Quick easy check-in, bags delivered to our 3 adjoining rooms within 5 mins.Staff all friendly and most spoke fair english. we gave the guy serving drinks in the bar
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Ann-Marie
11 years 5 months ago
Speedy start only ten minutes at the gate - Situated on a reef ideal for those who cannot snorkel or dive as fish can be seen from a paddle - Nothing around the resort so all-inclusive advised as even water is expensive - Shopping only in hotel - Entertainment mostly by the Italian reps but very enjoyable - Premium brands of alcohol - Quietest air-con in room, ever, which works well too - Recommend the Dolphin House Trip with about 40 wild dolphins playing by the reef - On return, 17.15 flight eventually took off at 00.45 as another aircraft hired, but kept room till 6pm and meals at hotel until 8pm instead of midday checkout - Good Rep, Pete, and flight crews,and staff in complex too - I week enough for me and my adult daughter
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Dee Hosken
11 years 6 months ago
This is a lovely hotel though I would put at 4 not 5 star. 95% of the staff are really happy, friendly and eager to help.

The variety and quality of food served is also really good. The wine is is not quite so good but drinkable.

The location is in the middle of the desert - there is NOTHING but sand for many miles!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Dai
11 years 6 months ago
Stayed at the Brayka Bay in May. Nice hotel very clean
looks very new. To start my review I'll break it into sections:

Room:
The room was quite large, we wre on the ground floor of one of the buildings. It had a fridge, tv, coffee table and chairs with safety deposit box in the wardrobe. Shower was cold first thing in the morning unless you let the tap run for ages (only real complaint about the room).

Hotel Facilities:
Main reception very spacious and clean staff very friendly and helpfull. Doctor at side of hotel by the shops. open early morning and evening in case of the runs. Gym had a few weight training machines but no other machines like tread mill etc it also has it's own heated swiming pool indoor which is good.
The shops at teh reception and the side of the hotel are the only place to get stuff if you need it as there is nothing outside of this hotel. Pool is qiuete if you want a relaxing sunbathe as the families seem to go to the beach. Pool also has seat to have a drink at the bar.

Food:
The food is mainly catered for the italians plenty of pasta. We found the food to be ok quality wise but I'm not a lover of itilian food so apent my time on the atkins diet(just my prefernce). they di d do chips about 3 times a week though. One word of warnig make sure the barbecue meat is cooke properly.Lunch is in the main retaurant there is no beach bar serving food. In the morning you can get a coffee or tea and sandwich from the italian btween 10 and 12 which is if you feel pechish.

Entertainment:
not much it was geared towards the Italians. Apart from that it is non existant. Most people just had a quick drink after there meal and went back to there rooms.

Beach:
The beach is ok you get your towels from one of the huts on the left of the beach there is a little bar for a drink. The water is shallow so you dont have to worry about being in over your depth or the kids going out to far. there is a little bit os corel to go snorkelling but not much. If you are into snorkelling yoiu are better off doing a trip with diving school. Water looks very clean but the sand is moer of a fine dirt which is typical of Egyptian beaches but is was very clean none the less.

Not much more ai can say but enjyed my stay at this hotel I would go back there. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday I would recomend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: can't remeber

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: