Image of Ghazala Gardens

Ghazala Gardens

3 of 4 hotels in Naama Bay

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
5 stars

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Needs to try harder
6 years ago
This hotel is very close to Naama Bay, just across the road in fact. I have been to Sharm 10 times, but the first to this hotel. The other 9 times was spent at the Sonesta beach Resort and Casino.

We had a nice holiday here, but some things need to be addressed as I go through this review.

Check in was good and we had a very good room in block 5, room 1537, very very quiet. The room was bright and airy, in the afternoon the sun shone on the balcony which was nice. A good free safe, free late check out room. We had ample of hot water every day, one day the water pressure was low, but other than that fine.

The gardens were lovely and the walk over the swimming pools via quaint bridges was a nice touch. There are ample of sun beds and double beds which we used a lot. The best place to get the sun in the winter months is the kiddies pool, hardly any breeze.

Food and drink: We used most of the All Inclusive restaurants except little italy and o fogo. All were all inclusive, but if you wanted a certain drink or different food, you had to pay.

The main restaurant the fountain and olive garden, well there was not a good selection of meat, all the food in two weeks bar one day was luke warm. A lot of complaints about the food, not from us, but other guests did see a response for a day, but other than that this was not acceptable.

We ate at Fajitas twice, the first time it was nice, the second time we had a three course for 4 of us, all finished within 40 mins. Rush, rush , rush. If you were paying for food or drink, then they would be more attentive !

The staff: The reception staff, Vicky, and the house keeper were very friendly, the let down here is the restaurant staff and the bars.

The pools: Extremely clean, the staff were always cleaning and checking temps and hygiene.

The positives: Good location, Clean hotel, Clean Pools, Good reception staff and house keeper,
Nice gardens, Good Red Sea Rep, Good hotel taxi cab driver, Good money exchange at hotel and bank next to o fogos, Good supply of sun beds and clean beach towels exchanged each day.

The Negatives: Smelly out dated reception toilets,
Need free Sakara not cheap Luxor beer, Luke warm food
Not attentive staff in main restaurants, Full glass of wine, Poor entertainment aimed at Germans, not English speaking.

I think this hotel is popular because of the closeness of Naama Bay and it comes up cheaper than most hotels in that area.

We will not be back to this hotel or any other for that matter for a few years as we have exhausted it. To be honest, if you want a better hotel still on the promenade, please try the Sonesta Beach Resort (not club), so friendly, and we were treated like royalty.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Sal
7 years 6 months ago
hotel is in great location 3 minutes walk from main strip although the locals do hassle you to the extent that we wouldn't go in their shops!
hotel very clean always people cleaning pool/beach towels provided staff always very friendly
room was ok bathroom could do wit upgrade but size wise was fine for the 2 of us
be careful with the themed restaurants which you have to book beforehand, they will try and sell you drinks but just tell them that you want al inclusive drinks and they will oblige themed restaurants were very nice although the buffet selection was always ok usually something different every night.
you are able to use the gazala beach hotel across the road which has an all inclusive bar just for gazala gardens and there is a buffet lunch restaurant as well which served lovely salad and rolls also hot food. the adult swimming pool was lovely at gazala beach
met 2 lovely blokes by the names of John and Pete who kept us entertained thanks!!
very enjoyable relaxing holiday which is just what we needed
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Red Sea Holidays

Recommended
Joe@ Joan
10 years 2 months ago
This is our second visit to sharm but our first to this hotel.
After booking we read the hotels reviews on several sites and became very worried at some of the negative comments.
We stayed for two weeks and can honestly say that all of our worries were unfounded.
the staff were exelent and worked very hard.
our room was cleaned every day. the towels and bedding were also changed every day.
the food was very good, every day has a different theme so there is plenty to choose from, some people complained that there was not enough english food, why go all inclusive to egypt to eat burgers and chips!
the italians on site was fantastic, ask for garlic cheesy bread for starters, it's not on the menu but they will cook it for you. one tip about the italians is book early as it gets fully booked very quick.
the bars are ok with waiters constantly bringing drinks, yes they like a tip, on their wages who would not, and a small tip now and again works wonders, as soon as our glasses were empty another drink would appear. the only two down sides i could find to this hotel were, firstly the entertainment, it was total rubbish i have been to many all inclusive resorts and this was the worst for it's entertainment, luckly the main town is just over the road, (i will get back to the road later)and secondly the seating in the main bar, this was poorly laid out with seating for only a few guests. but these were the only faults i could find with this hotel and did not in any way spoil our stay. we are actually thinking of returning to this hotel next year.
about that road. to get to the town takes about 3 mins
you have to cross a very busy dual carrageway. there is a zebra crossing just out side of the hotel but the egyptian drivers dont know what it is and tend to ignore it, if you turn right when you leave the hotel and walk abot 20 yards along the road you will come to a speed ramp, all of the cars stop here to get over it as it's quite severe, this is the best place to cross.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Lindsay Bruce
10 years 3 months ago
Just back to work having returned from a 2 week all inclusive holiday at the Ghazala Gardens Hotel and we all had an excellent time. We took 3 teenage boys aged 18, 17 & 17 they met people their own ages which was great for them (and us!!) We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, they start around 7am cleaning and dont stop all day, all the grounds are kept spotless and rooms cleaned everyday, along with bedding, bathroom towels and beach towels (you dont need to take your own beach towels either, as the ones they supply are big and soft enough).

We found the food to be of a good standard, although 2 of our party were quite poorly (a quick visit to the pharmacy soon cleared up the problem), you will have read the other reviews about the problem being the food, but it could quite possibly be due to dehydration. You must drink twice as much water as you do normally when on holiday as its just so hot, the ice is fine in your drinks too as its all made from mineral water and the water is mineral water also. We found the variety of food was good, with a good choice each night, it does get slightly repetative but we only ventured out on our last night. For breakfast there's a choice of cereals, eggs however you want them, breads, cheeses and salads yoghurts etc etc. Lunch we tended to stay round the Italian bar and nibbled on the lovely pizza and salads, and dinner the theme changed every night from Italian, Chinese, Indian, French with beef, chicken duck all thoroughly cooked and very tasty.

The hotel staff are very plesent and friendly and don't expect to be tipped but they get paid so little its nice to offer if they do something nice for you, we gave our room cleaner 100 Egyptian pounds (roughly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Jo
10 years 5 months ago
Went to this hotel in March 2007 on a last min deal we knew we was going back in June so we thought we would check it out. It wasn't very good then but we thought we will give it a go in June and did.

The staff are so rude if you want a big drink tip then you will get it, but if you don't tip well you don't get it.

The food was so awful we ate out nearly every night we used to go and look what was for dinner but it was just so nasty.

They just there to rip the English off now which is such a shame really. They take your cases off you when you get to the hotel so you can go and check in and get your hotel room but they only do this for a tip and when the cases came I give him
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Hawke
10 years 6 months ago
We have just had a weeks holiday at the Ghalaza Gardens, all I can say is we had a fantastic time. The hotel was lovley, the staff cant do enough for you without expecting a tip.

The hotel was very clean,the cleaners do a really good job. Every morning and everning we could see them cleaning the pool and they spray something around in the air to get rid of the flys.

The pool area was the best, loads of nice areas to sunbathe and a good childrens area too. It never seemed busy, very relaxing. The pool is set in differnt areas, lots of little warterfalls, bridges and even a beach area that we all enjoyeed. There seems to be enough sun beds, there was 4 of us and we could always get 4 sunbeds together as long as we put out our towels before we went for breakfast. I would say the pool is the best part of the hotel, it really is good.

We all really enjoyed the food, you can choose where you want to eat. You can have as many drinks by the glass as you want all day long, the white wine was very strong but good. Also you can have icecream and snacks throughout the day as well as tea and coffee.

The location was really good. Shops, bars and resterants are all across the road, so it takes a 2 min walk and your in the busy centre of Naama Bay. The road its self is very busy at night,we got use to crossing it in the end but it was a bit scary at fist as alot of the cars dont stop. Alot of the hotels are along way from the town so I think we had had one of the best locations.

The beach again was across the road so not very far really. We found it to hot to walk to the beach everyday bit it was really nice. You could walk right into the sea and have fish swiminging around you feet and there was always free sunbeds at any time of the day.

We did not see much entertainment in the hotel I dont think they had much going on in the everning but you dont need it when the town is over the road. The hotel bars were always nice to sit in and have drink.

We would all visit the hotel again, we had a really realaxing time in the hotel grounds and had some good trips and evernings out. The only thing I would say is if you dont like the heat then go before may as it was getting a bit to hot even for me.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Roberts
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Ghazala Gardens for one week in April and found that the hotel was spotlessly clean and the security was good but apart from that we couldn't wait to come home if only to get a decent meal.

The food was very repetitive and what there was did not taste very nice. At lunch time you could get lasagne or pasta or an awful tasting burger and these were the same every day. In the main restaurant the food was the same day in day out and you could not even get a nice salad and we both had a stomach upset.

The rooms were clean but a lot of people had problems with their air conditioning which was a matter of luck if it worked or didn't. Also the beds are nearly on the floor and the pillows are very hard and we found we had a backache every morning.

We also found mosquito
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: