Image of Pontins Southport Holiday Park

Pontins Southport Holiday Park

2 out of 5 from 25 reviews
Shore Road, Southport PR8 2PZ

25 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    7

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
AWFUL
4 months ago
WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SITE TO ANYONE , ITS LIKE GOING BACK TO THE 60'S HOLIDAY CAMPS, SO OUTDATED AND UNSAFE ITS BEYOND WORDS.

IN OUR CHALET (CLUB) THERE WAS MOULD ON THE WALLS WHICH HAD BEEN PAINTED OVER , THE ONSITE SHOP WAS VIRTUALLY EMPTY ALL WEEK APART FROM CONDOMS AND BOOZE ,

WAS NOT A PLEASANT EXPERIENCE AT ALL, LUCKILY WE NEVER STAYED ONSITE APART FROM SOMEWHERE TO SLEEP, WE WENT OFFSITE EVERY DAY
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: PONTINS

Hotel tip: BOOK ELSEWHERE

Sue
In need of a deep clean!
5 years 4 months ago
Dirty rooms, floor looks like it’s never been mopped, TV crap rubbish picture and only 5 channels, don't choose to do self catering as the cooker is probably going to be filthy like ours was. If you use the cooker you can’t have hot water as it’s a switch for either one or the other microwave is situated away from the plug socket so you have to keep shifting it backwards and forwards. No comfortable seats in the room what so ever and the beds are uncomfortable too. The only good thing about staying there would be if you spent as little time as possible in the room!!! The Lunar bar was ok and the entertainment decent the bluecoats do a very good job and the only other bonus is that the beach is literally just around the corner from the resort. Would not stay there again though unless the place was revamped and cleaned thoroughly. Staff are pleasant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Sun Holidays

Hotel tip: Lunar bar is ok. Do not choose self catering as the cooker is filthy.

M Squires
NEVER AGAIN
5 years 11 months ago
We took a chance and booked at Pontins Southport, just to see what the 'holiday camp' experience would be like. We weren't expecting luxury or anything near a 5* holiday, BUT would have at least expected to be able to sleep and walk around inside without getting soaking wet feet!!! Having been to Butlins as a child, I though it might be a good fun cheap holiday - how I was mistaken.

I should have listened to the hint on the website 2 days before when it said the swimming pool is closed and full refunds would be given, but how do you explain to a 3 1/2 year old his holiday isn't happening.

As we drove through the gates we very nearly went straight back round the roundabout and back out. After driving around twice trying to find a spot to park we queued for about half an hour to check in - it was disorganised chaos!! The person checking us in couldn't even direct us to our chalet because the print was too small for him to see and when I asked about the half board he didn't have a clue where it was. I got the info out about the halfboard and we had missed our slot for the food and had to search around to find the place they were serving the food and just about managed to get some 'left overs' for the kids. NOT the best start to our 4 day stay.

If it wasn't a 300 mile drive home we wouldn't have stayed another minute!!!

The apartment was horrible to stay in, it stunk of a mix of paint fumes and musty dampness. Even with the heating on full it was cold and unpleasant. The floor was so wet with condensation that we had to keep our shoes on the whole time - try explaining to two small children why they can't sit on the floor to play or walk around with their shoes off. Most of the time inside we were constantly telling the kids not to put things on the floor because it was wet, so much for a relaxing break. The curtains in the bedroom and front room were twotone from the wet that was running down the windows and we had to move a bed away from the wall as it had a wet patch from the ever running windows. The so called 'sofabed' was like sleeping on concrete with the frame digging into you if you dared to move.

The only positive that I have to say about the whole thing was the food quality. We paid for halfboard and the food overall was of good quality and appeared to be mostly homemade. Just a shame that it was freezing in 'Lunars' and the food was cold from the minute it hit the plate. A family sitting next to us asked why the air conditioning was on and the lady very politely said that it wasn't the air conditioning there was a problem on the roof!! She went on to suggest that people should complain then something might get done about it if enough people say something. The bar in the food area was open only one of the 4 evenings, it would have been nice to have been able to have a drink with our evening meal other than fruit juice, tea or paint stripper (coffee) - after all we were allegedly on holiday.

In the evenings it seemed as though the amusement area turned into the local youth club, so not much fun to be had there. The entertainment in the evenings was pointless, as once we had got to our 45minute food slot and eaten the 'fun factory' (or lack of) was packed. The kids evening party entertainment didn't start until 8, which was way too late.

The soft play area was a saving grace for two children needing to let off steam, but totally out of control. There was barely any seating for adults to 'supervise' their children so how the 60+ children were all being supervised is beyond me.

It states that Pontins Southport was born in 2011, from the looks of the place I would have said 1911. I would seriously consider complaining to any of the companies that have been used to refurbish the place as they have really let you down.

The best part of our holiday was getting away from the scummy, rundown, filthy excuse of a holiday camp to Farmer Ted's, Martin Mere Wetlands centre and the Knowsley Safari Park - all of which I would recommend fully for excellent days out.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chris Gardiner
7 years 7 months ago
On arrival we had to get the room cleaned as they had forgotten to do it. Had to then return the bedding as it looked like it had been used to clean up a blood bath.

Holes in the roof above the balcony, one apartment had its roof hanging off and was let out to holiday makers.

Small swimming pool had a non slip-carpet like flooring which didn't fit properly and the large pool was filthy and again the flooring was worn away.

It needs totally knocking down and a new one in place. Holiday makers, even budget ones, deserve a better place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lbond
8 years 5 months ago
We booked a club chalet which is apparently the 'top' range of accommodation, it also had patio doors which I needed for my daughter as she is in a wheelchair, and she is severely disabled. The accommodation was filthy it was damp; windows, curtains etc. were covered in black mould. There was crusty food still on chair legs and a cigarette stump floating in the toilet. my daughter is on oxygen overnight and has chronic lung disease so we couldn’t possibly stay in this accommodation.

The only available accommodation was a classic chalet which is a lower grade. This was not really any better but because my 2 son's had been looking forward to this holiday we couldn’t exactly go home.it was that damp and musty the curtains had black mould along the bottom of them and the windows were wet on the 'inside’. My daughter got a chest infection and had to be started on antibiotics we came home 3 days early. Couldn’t stand it any longer. There was nothing on site either for disabled people. The pool was up 3 flights of stairs!!!

I am in the process of trying to get a refund from Pontins as I paid for a higher grade chalet and had to be downgraded this is proving very difficult. I keep getting passed from pillar to post without any luck of actually getting anywhere.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Pauline Maher
So bad I went home
8 years 7 months ago
We have attended Soutport Pontins on the scooter rallies for many years now. On arrival we had pre booked the same rooms last year but we had been moved. There were 32 in our party, one of the rooms had blood stains all up the walls and the wallpaper was hanging off. There were crisp packets and cups from previous people still there when I asked a member of the cleaning team to come and rectify this. They just stood laughing at me.

So I went to the reception desk and said somebody needs to come and look at this and sort it out. The manager came over and agreed that this room should never have been sold. As I only lived 20 mins away I left the party and came home.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Vicky Lee
9 years 11 months ago
the budget accomodation was awful very dirty.broken windows,dusty.no bedding,no kettle,it smelt had stains on everything the electric meter ate our
money stains on floors
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jess
10 years 4 months ago
we visited pontins last week with my little boy and i must say, although my little one had a fab time watching the childrens entertainment and visiting the fair at southport, the biggest let down about this place is the cleanliness.
-Our accomodation was distgusting. the carpets looked like the hadnt been cleaned (or had a good hoover) in months. the matresses on the beds and sofa beds were so old and dirty i was reluctant to sleep on them (even with pontins sheets and my own sheets over them).
-The sofa bed in the lounge was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept on, it was broken and as a result the top half of our bodies slid in to the back of it when you lay down. The fire alarm was hanging of the ceiling and there were holes in nearly every door. -the window in my little boys rooms was broken and the draft was so bad that we had to put two duvets and a blanket on him whilst he slept.
-the pub/restaurant on site was no better - we stayed 4 days and every time we went in it was filthy. the floor was covered in food and litter, as were the tables. Staff were hard to find and one occasion we had to ask three times for our table to be cleaned before anyone came over. When he eventually did he pushed the food stuck to the table on to the floor with the bottom of his spray cleaner!!
-staff were often rude and did not have information that you aksed for (or knew where to send you to get it).
- the toilets in the bar/funfactory were so disgusting that i had take my little boy back to our accomodation when he needed to go. they were never cleaned and once again staff were hard to come by.
- the whole place (outide areas) was littered with fag butts, so much so that i couldnt let my little boy play on the grass outside out accomodation.
- this place needs a serious refurb (and a good clean) i would reccomend a visit from environmental health.
- we stayed in budget accomodation, but i didnt realise that budget meant that they didnt clean it for you. Disgusting - we wont be returning and if i was you i'd definatly go elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: private boking

Dave
10 years 8 months ago
Just returned from Pontin
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: UK Holidays in The Sun

Pam Rosenthal
11 years ago
when we arrived at our chalet (673) it was dirty dust was rolling round the floor,we went to put the kettle on and found all white bits floating on the top having a 6month old baby with us we could not use this so we did get it changed for a new one if that wasnt enough when we did brew up we found that the cups had lipstick on,there is not enough sockets for people who have babies and need to have sterilising equipment plugged in all the time it smelt of damp,the draft from the windows meant we had to have the heat on all the time which ate our money i dont think it was ever cleaned befor we got there what was surpose to be a new year break spent most of the time cleaning things befor using them.The travel cot which
we paid for didnt fit in the bed room and we was not informed befor hand you did not provide bedding for it but luckly we had taken our own.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.