Image of Center Parcs Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

Center Parcs Sherwood Forest Holiday Park

1 of 2 hotels in Nottingham

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Debbie Steeples
Suits everyone, different holidays for everyone in the same place!
8 years 3 months ago
I've been many times as part of a couple, part of a family, with a large family group etc. This was my first time with a group of 'girls' and we had a fantastic and relaxing break enjoying the peace and quiet of our surroundings.

Our villa was an 'Old Style Executive' and perhaps ready for a make-over but it was clean and comfortable. We mainly ate in the villa but also ate at the Country Club where we all had steaks which were perfect and the service was great there.

The choice of activities is amazing, they are not cheap but you don't have to do them! We opted for a session in the fantastic Aqua Sana Spa which was great value on a special offer. £99 for 2 people for 5 hours including a small meal and a glass of fizz.

The Subtropical Swimming Paradise is great for kids and completely free for the duration of your stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maltby
Great, but not for dogs
9 years 8 months ago
We have just come back from Centre Parcs in Sherwood Forest. Brilliant place and staff. But they do have the dog illness on site. It’s called seasonal canine illness and it’s been around over 3 years now in mainly Notts and Norfolk areas. Nobody knows what is causing this and there is a host of theories. Centre Parcs sent a letter prior to us arriving but stated they had no cases inside their property/resort. Trust me they have. We took 3 dogs and 2 were struck down with this illness. It’s very quick and vomiting is usually the 1st sign but also staggering as if drunk and lethargy. If you’re going and you take any dogs and they show these symptoms you must get them to a vet ASAP. Hope this post helps.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Victoria Thorley
Lovely scenary but DO NOT take dogs
9 years 8 months ago
Center Parcs in Nottinghamshire. A lovely scenic cabin in Sherwood forest.

After having my son, me, my partner and my parents decided to head off for a few days to a reputable site Center Parcs in Nottinghamshire.

We took our 5year old basset hound and on the first night after an evening walk she began acting very strange and scratching her side. She then became increasingly worse with sickness. We informed staff after a trip to the vets and they acted oblivious to the situation and didn't want to do anything. My mum and dad had to take the very sick dog home. We talked to other dog owners next to our lodge and they had the same problem. They said they we're warned by Center Parcs about a dog illness that has been around at this time of the year for the last 3years. I went back to the guest services to ask why we wasn't warned and they came up with four different reasons ranging from lost letters in the post to incompetent staff not telling us. She is under local anaesthetic as I type getting tests done at the vets.

I have been informed that this illness has led to the death of some dogs. 3 dogs are infected of which I know about here at Center Parcs. All the staff have given was an apology. I hope my dog won't end up with worst outcome other dogs have. We have lost the holiday money, activities money and a vets bill that exceeds £200. Do not bring your dog to Sherwood forest. She would of been better in a kennel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Sarah
12 years 3 months ago
i absoulutly love this place. I have been going for years n it never fails to let me down. The swimming pool was great and the rapids are truely the best they are absoultly brilliant. I love hucks the food was fantastic. The wildlife here was amazing also. I really enjoyed my stay at centre parcs sherwood forest and would deffo recommend it and will be coming again very soon.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Recommended
Center Parcs Sherwood Forest
12 years 3 months ago
Center Parcs was amazing, especially the dome. My daughter loved the rapids- and my 80 year old mother also had a go! The holiday was enjoyed immensely by the whole family, and we come back every year. Thank you Center Parcs! The cooking facilities were excellent, and we had the option for the villa to be cleaned by a maid. The staff were very friendly, and always willing to help. A glowing review, and one I feel is thoroughly deserved.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
Sarah & Becky
12 years 7 months ago
Loved staying here, loads of cycling, walking, swimming. Went on a cross country hack which was excellent!
Villa has everything you need, lovely to look out the window and see the wildlife. It did smell a bit musty though-the cleaners were not brilliant.
Ate out at Cafe Rouge/La Strada and Pancake house, all were excellent, well recommended.
Went to the Medieval Feast on Thursday night which was again very good. The food was good, and the entertainment was excellent!! Even my 3 year old enjoyed it-although didn't like the baddies!!!
Cute Guy of Gisbon and Robin Hood by the way!!!!
All in all a very good holiday and we will go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centerparcs

Recommended
Pearl Conway
13 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from Centre Parcs Sherwood Forest after spending a week there over the christmas period.

Unfortunately, because my son booked the holiday only a few weeks before christmas, the 3-bedroomed Comfort villa, which was the only one available, was a little cramped. The children are 27 months and 14 months and both needing cots, so an extra bedroom would have been most useful.

On the whole the villa looked clean, however, the furniture could have been moved to vacuum behind.

The villa was well appointed and had everything we needed -fridge, cooker, micro-wave and toaster. There was ample cutlery, crockery and cooking utensils.

The Parc Market was certainly well-stocked, although we had taken most of our groceries with us. We pre-booked our christmas lunch at Hugo's which was superb. Every attention was paid to making it a grand occasion.

My son and daughter-in-law had meals at both the Cafe Rouge and Hucklebury's which they thoroughly enjoyed.
To summarise, Centre Parcs have created a wonderful holiday experience for the family and are to be highly commended. It is expensive, but on the whole it is worth it. However, I do feel that the management committee are out for every penny they can get.

Having paid not an inconsiderable sum to get into the site I would have thought that, once on site, the charges for individual 'events' could be kept at a more reasonable level.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centre Parcs Sherwood Forest

Recommended
Laura Ferguson
13 years 9 months ago
Centre Parcs was brilliant a great holiday for all types.
The villas were clean and spacious inside and containing everything you need.
The kids had great fun, were always on there feet having fun.
As i am a relaxing person it also suited me as i could take a stroll down to the beach or go to the spa and relax.
My husband enjoyed every part of it too and was kept on his toes with the kids requests to play football or go a cycle.
Well we have now booked the holiday again for october the whole family is excited and raring to go!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centre Parcs

Recommended
Puszczalowskyi
13 years 10 months ago
Having just returned from Centre Parcs I felt I just had to warn all dog owner/lovers who are thinking of taking there pet with them - don't. It is cruel for a dog to have all that space and woodland to run and explore and not be able to.

Considering the cost of taking a dog the park, they should supply an area where they can run off the lead as well as the pokey toilet areas that are full of dog excrement because there are no dog bins provided.

To sum up if they don't want dogs at the parks they should say no dogs allowed instead of charging people!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: none

rsc
14 years 5 months ago
My family stayed at Center Parcs Sherwood Forest for the weekend of 10-13 November 2006. My children, aged just 20 months and 5 months at the time, were infected with cryptosporidium during our stay. This is a serious issue; a parasite infection which damages the stomach lining. Our kids have since suffered from vomiting, diarrhoea, serious weight loss and lactose intolerance and are still not fully recovered.

An investigation by the BBC discovered that there were 30 confirmed cases of cryptosporidium at Center Parcs from this time. This report can be found on the BBC East Midlands news website.

Newark & Sherwood Council Public Health dept is currently undertaking an investigation into Center Parcs. Center Parcs has confirmed that there was a problem with the water filtration system at the 'Sub-Tropical Swimming Paradise' at this time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.