Image of Alton Towers Hotel

Alton Towers Hotel

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
Alton Towers Hotel, Alton, Staffordshire ST10 4DB

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Chris
Great deal
11 years 2 months ago
We were two families, 4 adults & 18, 17, 16 and 15 year olds. The rooms were very nice, they state they accommodate 4 adults but you would only want to spend one or two nights in them if 4 of you are adults they are fine for families with young kids.

You get a decent sized comfy double-bed & either a bunk or a single bed with a pull-out single underneath, all made up with nice fresh linen.

People describe them as like travel lodge rooms, but I felt they were a cut above this. Small amount of theming, nice lighting, tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & a decent clean bathroom with enough towels & a few complimentary toiletries. All four of us had baths or showers the night we stayed and no problems with hot water supply at all.

Breakfast is included in the price and it is good with all the usual hot & cold choices you would expect at a decent buffet breakfast, coffee was brought quickly.

On Sat night we ate at the Secret Garden restaurant. Main courses from £9.99 such as 8 oz chargrilled burger, large haddock served with various accompaniments to £16.99 for sirloin steak and chips. One of our party is vegetarian and there are a couple of options. Food was good and freshly cooked, but took a long time to arrive as they were busy. You must book as I saw people turning up on the evening and being turned away.

There is an alternative restaurant that you can use in the Splash Landings hotel, which is a buffet and costs £16.99 per person and I was told by staff has 100 items to choose from.

The hotel was very clean with nice grounds, the location perfect for entry into the theme park and the staff were all welcoming. There is laid on entertainment of an evening, we were eating but we could hear the band and people seemed to be enjoying them.

I compared the cost of staying in hotels up to 15 kilometres away and then using BOGOF tickets for theme park entry plus paying for parking and at £85 per person for the Alton Towers Hotel for a nights B&B including 2 day's park entry, it seemed a fairly competitive deal, including what to us was the bonus of being on site. Having travelled 200 miles to get there we didn’t want to do any other travelling around.


A one night on-site hotel stay gains you 2 days entry to the park, plus early entry at 9am, although only Air and Nemesis are open at that time. You need to work out if it's worth rushing breakfast for these, but it does give you a head start on others.

The teens and adults in our party were only really interested in thrill rides. The Sealife Centre was nice to walk round and there is a woodland walk back to the on-site hotels if you don't fancy the mono-rail on the way back.

You can probably do the park in a day & a half unless you are fanatical about going on absolutely everything, but then the rides of interest are age dependant - for example we didn't go anywhere near the magic and young fun area. Also it will of course depend on how busy the park is.

With the hotel booking you get a voucher for 25% off of certain restaurants in the theme park. You should only use this once, but I printed it out twice by mistake and managed to use one each day for lunch.

If we go back to Alton Towers I would book this hotel again or maybe Splash Landings next door - whichever came up cheaper I guess, although I looked in the foyer of Splash Landings and the Alton Towers Hotel seemed a bit more plush.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barron
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed here on the WInter Break package and we must congratulate all the staff after a really enjoyable experience.
The check in was over in 5 mins and rooms ready immediately even though we were 2 hours early.The key to the success of the break was at no point was there any overcrowding.
The food is a little pricey but our kids shared our adult lunch as who wants to be stuffed before swimming.This goes for the evening buffet as
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked Direct

Recommended
13 years 4 months ago
Got a good deal to stay for one night for a family of 4 (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended
Vicki Bryant
13 years 6 months ago
Although not cheap, this was an ideal base for the family (couples / adults I would recommend staying at the Alton Towers hotel instead). The rooms were wonderfully decorated, and very comfortable.

The food was plenfitul and good - the buffet went down a storm with the kids. All the staff we encountered could not have been more helpful or pleasant!

The Cariba Creek was hugley entertaining for the kids (and us!). We opted to hire towels at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
Brown
14 years 5 months ago
We went to this hotel purely to take our chldren to the Splash Landings Water park which was really goo.

Very warm and clean. Really enjoyable the children loved every minute but our excitement was short lived. We went to our room which was a family room the room was clean and comfortable, but we had no hot water for the duration of our stay and after travelling 250 miles with two children and we could not have a bath was very disappointing and when we complained, we were told we could check out if we wished(and travel home 250 miles not a thrilling thought after paying
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
14 years 5 months ago
We spent one night at the Alton Towers Hotel in May 2007. The hotel is situated not far from the main gates of Alton Towers and is joined to the adjacent Splash Landings hotel and water park by a long corridor. We arrived about an hour before the stated check in time but were allowed straight into our room. We were told at this point that they were experiencing some boiler trouble and that they would move us to Splash Landings if we could not get hot water in our room (it turned out we were able to at this point). Our room was booked for 4 adults and we had chosen a room with one double bed and two singles. The double bed was a bit uneven but the single beds were rather uncomfortable and barely long enough for an adult. The room itself was of a similar size and specification to a Travelodge, although at twice the price. The wallpaper and carpet fitted in with the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended
Richard
15 years 9 months ago
Great hotel for families - we stayed one night on a special deal - it was brilliant value for money and would have still felt this way if we'd paid 50% more!

Just next door is Alton Towers theme park and we all had a great time there during the day even though the rides that were open were limited to just a few (closed season Nov-Mar).

The rest of the time was spent in the excellent waterpark on the site of the hotel - it is fantastic for people of all ages, but the kids especially loved it.

The food was good and the choice was varied, if a little expensive (although <4s eat for free). Staff were really attentive and responsive.

In summary, a great hotel for families in particular. You should have no complaints here!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/a

Recommended
Susan Vanscolina
16 years 1 month ago
We had a really good time at the hotel cannot fault it at all.

Staff, hotel, water park and theme park all excellent would definitely recommend to anyone. Can not wait to go back.

We had some really noisy people opposite us and I complained they moved us to another room without hesitation.

Anyone that goes there will love it and the scenery is brilliant as well.

The best theme park in the UK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked ourselves

Recommended
Nigel Lockwood
16 years 2 months ago
The splash landings hotel was an excellent place to spend a few days. We went on a special deal with "What's on TV magazine" for a room one night
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Sam Gidley
16 years 5 months ago
I stayed in this hotel on Monday 02/05/05 for 1 night with my boyfriend and another couple. We actually stayed in the Splash Landings Hotel which is more informal and relaxed than the original Alton Towers Hotel and is newer. Both are connected by a walkway through the water park.

The room was a family room with a double bed which was comfy and bunk-beds which were quite slim although suitable for children. There was a dresser and drawers etc as well as a clothes rail. Toiletries were provided in the bathroom. The shower in the bathroom was extremely powerful.

Please note no hairdryer available.

We had our evening meal at the Secret Gardens restaurant in the original Alton Towers Hotel and everybody in our group thought it was lovely. Two had steak which was cooked to perfection, one had catch of the day which was salmon with noodles etc and one had burger and chips. All had soup (leek and potato) for starters which was delicious. We all thought the food here was very good value for money.

We had our breakfast at our own hotel and that was adequate with plenty of choice.

Entertainment is geared towards children and although we are adults it was still enjoyable. We used the bars in both hotels. Last orders were 11.30pm in the Ma Garita cocktail bar.

We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.