Image of Center Parcs Longleat Forest

Center Parcs Longleat Forest

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
Forest Rd, Warminster, Wiltshire BA12 7PU

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Barmy
11 years 4 months ago
Excellent short break for all including dog.comfort lodge was clean,nicely furnished and very quiet.Food in the restaurants was great,Tapas bar was smashing,sports bar we had a lovely steak and special offer on prices.Land train was always on time although busy on board. Am going again in november and hope to have another very enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Center Parcs

Recommended
K George
Lost confidence
11 years 7 months ago
I have holidayed every year in a group scenario for the last 7 years every year. I have visited Elvededn, Longleat and Sherwood and always had a fantastic holiday but my last visit has really made me lose confidence in center Parcs.
On the first night we moved into our executive villa. The villa was dirty, we reported it but it was not cleaned despite assurances it would be, then at night there was loud music at the venue until 12:30am, the next day I asked to be moved which they did as the music would be the same on the Saturday night.
The villa we started to move into then turned out to be occupied! Very embarrassing situation!

Then we moved to a third villa but they couldn't find the keys, then a fourth but it wasn't an executive therefore no internet access, no telephone and no maid service which was a nightmare as my 7 year old son was ill and we couldn't leave to get food and there was no reception on the mobile so we were stuck when it came to eating!

We'd booked football which was cancelled and no-one told us so we turned up ready to play and no-one was there, had to trek back to the guest services to ask for refunds. All in all wasted time just trying to get the accommodation right, so a £400+ holiday that was not very enjoyable, more stressful which is not what center parcs is about at all!

I have written to head office and complained. We will see if they come up with a satisfactory resolution!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

11 years 10 months ago
This was our first time at Centre Parcs, and first holiday with 1yr old in tow. We stayed in a 2 bedroom comfort plus lodge in the west village.

The accommodation was comfortable. A toilet (a bit stinky) separate from the bathroom (with twin basins, bath with shower) double and twin beds (very comfy) sitting area with TV,DVD and stereo, dining table and kitchen. The place was clean-ish but not spotless - about average for most hotels etc these days. Clearly there is a quick turnover on changeover days and they rely on the last guests leaving the place clean.

The bed was comfy with TV in master bedroom. The cot provided was quite small, a bit rickety and the mattress sank in the middle. The baby didn’t sleep well at all. We also had to move the twin beds to one side to make room for the cot - not sure what you would do if you had older children too.
The highchair provided was great for 1 year old - but maybe not supportive enough for smaller baby. CP provided a couple of toilet rolls, one bin bag and 3 dishwasher tablets. The kitchen was well equipped.

As we had the buggy and had not booked many activities we didn't cycle but walked. We found that the closest area (the lake and Jardin des sport) was a short downhill stroll - but could feel a long way back up hill. The pool, plaza and everything else were a bit of a trek - but the land train runs every 20 minutes from early to late. The main parc market is at the plaza and really is very well stocked - not as cheap as Tesco but more convenient. However the shop at jardin des sport sells bread and milk.

The activities on offer looked great - especially or active sorts and older children. Unfortunately a couple of things I had booked were cancelled 18 hours before hand due to lack of interest. I thought this was out of order and they should have run anyway. We used the baby sitting service and the crèche service and both were very good. I also used the spa which was lovely.

The pool is great, busy but not off puttingly. There are family changing rooms (with changing table or baby) and mixed changing cubicles. It would be great if only those with babies used the family rooms as they are very much in demand.

The plaza and restaurants in general are OK - food is pretty standard, service can be slow/poor at times, the prices are similar to high street prices but the portion sizes smaller and no soft drink refills.

The village itself is well laid out. Good quality footpaths and board walks - we had no need for walking boots or willies. I only saw 2 pieces of litter while I was there. Our villa was on the end of a row of 3 or 4 and we did not feel at all overlooked.

All in all a good holiday, plenty of walking but not cheap.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: CentreParcs

Recommended
Siobhan Romp
12 years 4 months ago
This is the second time we have stayed at a Center Parcs village (first was Sherwood Forest, second was Longleat Forest) and I have to same I am disappointed with the accommodation. At Sherwood Forest we booked the Comfort Villa which was unsafe for small children - ants, tv wires on display, tv didn't fit unit it was in and jutted out. At Longleat we booked Comfort Plus - no problems as with Sherwood but the one thing both have in common is they are DIRTY. The housekeeping staff DO NOT check that the kitchen utensils are clean, we had stuck on scrambled egg on a mixing bowl. DO NOT look under the sofas. They do not seem to be moved and hoovered under. It was absolutely disgusting.
Putting the lacksidasical attitude of the Center Parcs housekeeping department Longleat is well designed and thought out. The staff at check in and in the restaurants are faultless. Wish housekeeping could be the same.
Also, why oh why doesn't Center Parcs provide socket covers or cupboard locks? - it is a family holiday after all!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct with Center Parcs

13 years ago
We stayed in a Comfort Villa - the lowest grade. All in all pleasantly surprised. The villa was well equipped with all utensils for cooking. It was extremely clean and there was plenty of space.

We took boxes of food - but once we'd checked out the well stocked supermarket on site we could have left our food at home and stocked up there. Never mind we will know for next time.

The villa was situated at the far side of the site - away from all the action - this suited us perfectly. We enjoy walking and cycling so being so far away didn't bother us. As we were right on the outskirts we even got a visit on our patio from a beautiful little deer. It really made our holiday! We also had plenty of rabbits, squirrels and wild birds visiting.

The majority of staff were excellent and pleased to help out whatever. We found the staff in the Grand Cafe to be less helpful.

The entertainment is there for you if you want it. Our ten year old loved all the activities and did kayaking, raft building, mini golf, ten pin bowling, archery and Activ8. He enjoyed it all. (Everything you do on site costs you extra apart from the pool, rapids etc - but its all worth it for the experience -in our opinion).

We also booked a couples massage at the Aqua Sana and it was so relaxing and what a treat! Definitely recommend the experience.

This was our first trip to Centre Parcs and we all thoroughly enjoyed our trip. We will definitely go again. Top marks.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended
14 years 4 months ago
We stayed in a 3 bedroomed excutive villa on this visit, because we took the family, and thought it was worth that little extra, It was excellant, clean, well equiped and comfortable, we had a steamroom in the villa which was fantastic, so much so we are now getting one for our home.

There is a television in each room, with plenty of channels. Large patio windows open out onto a small patio, completely private, we were greeted on many occasions by different birds, ducks and squirrels, which our little grandson loved (age 2).

The kitchen is full sized with everything you need to cook a good family meal, the dishwasher was great, and worked well. You can have an open fire too which is lovely when a bit chilly outside. I really can't fault the accomdation. It was all we needed and more.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centre Parcs

Recommended
Abbie And Allison
14 years 9 months ago
We have been travelling to center parcs now for about five or six years and have noticed that every time we go there there is always something that has improved since the last time.

Staff are friendly and are pleased to help althoguh it is sometimes quite hard to find them. The swimming pool is absolutely outstanding and has loads of slides and rapids, there also an area for children with small slides and weaker rapids.
Life jackets are provided. There is also a wide range of of outdoor activities including absailing, horse riding, paint balling and a zip line 13ft in the air!

The sports center is excellent and has many sports including trampolining, soft tennis, badminton, pool and table tennis.There is a good variety of restraunts bars and cafes so you will never go hungry!

There is a tram that goes round the park and drops you off wherever you want. It is excellent that the park is situated on a forest and so there is loads of wildlife! We will defenately continue going to center parcs and wuld recommend it to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: center parcs

Recommended
Trace
15 years 9 months ago
Just returned from a weekend at Centerparcs, Longleat.

I couldn't fault it! It's a fantastic place.

Villa was basic but clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly. There was plenty to do and all in peaceful surroundings.

It was nice to ditch the car for 4 days and escape the rat race!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centerparcs

Recommended
Rob H
15 years 11 months ago
We have stayed at Center Parcs twice a year since their Sherwood parc opened. 21 stays todate.We have been to Longleat 4 times due to distance - 7 hr drive.

Beautiful, just beautiful. The long boardwalks, the fun cycle routes [big hills], and lots of space. The parc is very spread out, so even when full, and CP is always 90% full, at Longleat, unlike Elveden, the people disperse in the space.
It is a long walk from the dome site if site to the sportscentre side, so pre-chose your preference before you book, ask for a map. A road train runs arouns s o m e of the parc so will save you some walking. Longleat NOT suitable for disabled or elderly, unless you chose location very carefully.

The dome is fantastic, the outside pool huge, much larger than Sherwoods. Rapids tamer, so less bruises :o).

See my Sherwood report for more info.

Longleat has lost of new terraces [ apt ], this must be CP way of squeezing more people in - pray you get quiet kids next door. - seems to be too much like Butlins blocks. Big mistake by them. CP is all about Villas and space - not pack um and stack um.

The parcs are no larger, so more people will mean less space, more queues.

I love CP, I have shares and go twice a year, but their current ideas of more accomm is going to fail in long term.

Their website www.centerparcs.co.uk talks about a new 5th parc to be announced this yer - lets hope they go with their historical/founders ideas, not the new money makers.



The lake at Longleat is small, but the playgrounds are great.
Carefully check your accomm location on map Vs what you will want to do Vs walking distance Vs hills.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
17 years 1 month ago
Due to booking not far enough in advance (I booked 6 months in advance) only standard 3 bedroom villa was available. Villa was OK but not particulary clean.

Location was nice and peaceful. I can recommend getting up early each morning and either going running or cycling as it is wonderful, peaceful and you may get to see a deer!
We made the mistake of eating lunch and dinner in the restaurants which were expensive and the quality was not that great. The only exception was the Indian restaurant which was lovely.

Pools were very busy as was the bowling etc - so book asap.

All in all, pleasant experience but next time I am definitely going for the deluxe villa's!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Centre Parcs

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.