Image of Bogmalo Beach Resort Hotel

Bogmalo Beach Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Dabolim, Goa, 403801, India
Built in a prime location, this beachfront hotel enjoys stunning views across the bay and is perfect for watching Goa's spectacular sunsets, from the comfort of your spacious, modern room.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Stark
10 years 8 months ago
Hi there,

We have just returned from our stay at the Bogmallo Beach Hotel Goa. There was a severe vomitting sickness outbreak which coincided with the hotel pool pump failing for 2 days - the pool turned green.

The rep from First Choice was not willing to assist and covered up with the hotel management. Our floor was almost totally affected with people throwing up for 10-19 hrs almost to the clock with each other.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Peter & Janet
11 years 10 months ago
We decided to stay at the Bogmalo Beach Hotel on a B&B basis - which proved to be a wise choice. The food at this hotel was pretty poor - the buffet breakfast having a poor selection and always looking unappealing - on of the worst that we have come across for several years.

We decided to try the in-house 'Shack' type restaurant, Coconut Grove, on one evening. After returning four (yes four) dirty plates, suffering poor service, poor starters and burned main course, we had learned our lesson. Far better food could be obtained in the village at far lower cost. This restaurant is not only not recommended, but to be positively avoided.

The rest of the hotel was a very pleasant surprise, far exceeding our expectations.

The hotel seemed to be very clean. The rooms were of more than adequate size (we had upgraded to deluxe), the bathroom and toilet facilities were kept very clean and the furniture was very good for a hotel of this standard and age.

The pool was quite small and the surrounding area was very crowded, with some difficulty experience in getting sun loungers (which were neither particularly clean nor comfortable). The hotel did however provide pool towels which were clean and in much better condition than at many other hotels.

Location of this hotel was excellent, immediately behind the beach at the Southern end. We had a high floor and the view, over the palm trees, was excellent - quite one of the finest that we have enjoyed. As a bonus, there were frequently monkeys playing in the bushes behind the hotel early in the morning and in the evening.

The staff at the hotel were very polite, helpful and friendly (without being over familiar) and the staff to guest ratio was very high. Most service was fast and efficient and we never felt pestered to give a tip.

Entertainment was, for us, pretty poor and far too noisy to be enjoyable. Most guests ventured out of the hotel in the evenings (probably to avoid the poor entertainment) to the several local restaurants, all of which provided low cost, reasonable quality food - the Tiger prawns are to be recommended!

Despite the negative comments, this hotel is clean, friendly and ideally located - we would visit again and would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Damien & Dawn
11 years 11 months ago
Bogmalo Beach Resort is 15 minutes from the airport.

The upgraded also known as 'Superior'rooms at the Bogmalo Beach Resort are of the best quality I have seen in Goa. Roomy, with comfortable bed and seating, an air con unit which worked without sounding like a small plane - well equipped bathroom and doors which fitted and didn't leave big gaps for mossies to get in.

A fair sized balcony looked down onto a palm fringed beach with the sound of the sea crashing onto the sand.....picture postcard stuff. The rooms were cleaned / linen changed twice daily.

Downstairs, a large open reception /bar area opened onto a large pool area a long veranda and the restaurant. We prepared ourselves for the 'all inclusive dinner rush' but found we were the only couple in the place.

The buffet menu was OK, but, most of the A La Carte menu was available to All inclusive guests at no extra charge - Large / Tiger prawns and lobster were extra.

We found the quality to be as good as any we had experienced in Goa. As time went on, we found most guests did not go AI, and dined in a small number of shacks locally.

The hotel also has the Coconut Grove which AI guests can use for US$4 , but again no expensive shellfish there unless you pay!! The Sunset Bar really does provide a spectacular view each evening!! Service is excellent - many of the staff are from the hotel management training establishment just outside Panjim and are eager to learn.

The pool area opened officially at 8.30am, but most of the sunbeds were 'claimed' by 8am despite notices asking people not to. To be honest, we could normally get a couple of sunbeds in the less popular areas, but if you wanted a good spot or an umbrella it was better to get in early! Clean beach towels were provided, so one less thing to pack. So there we were, settled in - finding our way around the hotel and ready to explore this bit of Goa for the first time!!

The beach at Bogmalo seems to have a bit of a territory thing going on - A guy dressed like a policeman and armed with a whistle and long stick attempts to keep the bit nearest the hotel free of locals who in turn like to try his patience - there was talk of the hotel having wanted much more exclusive use of the beach.

Returning to the rooms around 5pm, we regularly saw a large group of monkeys swinging around in the trees behind the hotel. One morning a group of dolphins were to be seen swimming around the bay quite close to the hotel. The Sunset Bar is very aptly named and offers a truly magnificent view from the steps towards the pool area.
Certainly a different kind of Goan hotel-which will appeal to some people more than others. Many may find it a bit too pampering and protective and, simply not enough going on in the vicinity. Whilst I enjoyed this laid back fortnight I'm pleased I had previous experiences to compare it with.

Bad Points: Internet charges of Rs250 for 30 Min's!! (No Internet available in the village)
No Wine included in the AI package. There's not much noise from commercial operations at nearby Dabolim Airport but, it's a military establishment and when those jet fighters take off they rock the whole bay!! They don't do it too often though!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Celia And John
11 years 11 months ago
Bed and breakfast suited us perfectly as its so cheap to eat out but found food at the hotel to be of good choice and value.

The hotel itself was exceptionally clean and well maintained. Rooms and linen cleaned constantly.

The hotel itself is situated right on the beach with sea views for every room. Every afternoon would end with watching the sunset go down from our balcony.

The hotel staff were very friendly and always smartly dressed. Nothing was too much trouble.

The entertainment was of a good standard and although we didn't stay in the hotel every night.

We would most definitely stay at this hotel again but for 3 weeks. This is probably the most comfortable hotel we have stayed in. We upgraded to superior accommodation which included air con and a fridge.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jane
12 years ago
The Bogmallo Beach is a lovely, clean 4 star hotel. I would recommend it for adults - it's not really a family hotel (which suited us fine).

Go Bed and breakfast - we did and we were very glad we did. The restuarant in the hotel, the Coconut Grove is very good, but we enjoyed eating out every night. I agree with all the previous recommendations, but I would also like to add the Coconut Creek (ask for directions, it's behind the diving centre) and the Full Moon.

Plus we went to the Saturday night markets both Saturdays (which I would highly recommend) and we did 2 overnight trips, so that would have been two nights we weren't eating in the hotel.

Go on the jungle book trip - it was fab. You stay overnight in a mud hut and wash the elephants and ride on the elephants!

Get your taxis outside the hotel - they're cheaper. We liked Tanaji Kavelekar (GA-02-V-3595), you'll meet him in the village or at the Full Moon.

We really enjoyed the entertainment in the hotel, there is a band playing 5 nights a week and you can dance outside. That said, it wasn't the usual singer, so perhaps he was better than the regular one!

I'd certainly recommend the hotel - it has to be one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed - towels changed twice a day! There are hairdryers in the room and pool towels are provided.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Becky
12 years 8 months ago
Bogmalo Beach is a fantastic hotel and were already trying to book again!!!Probably the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in and definately the nicest staff who work exceptionally hard.

The poolside is nice and well maintained with gorgeous views of the sea.The beach is nice and we had no bother from locals trying to sell us stuff.The odd cow or goat wandering past was fun.

There are a few beach shacks and shops along the beach which are dirt cheap where you can eat,drink and shop for daft amounts if you fancy a break from the hotel.We have only rated food a 3 only because the time of year we went was more for locals than English so they obviously cater for the majority but we found out that simply ask the chef for anything and he will cook it for you.

They also have snacks in the day from curry and kebabs to pizza and burgers so if the spicy food gets to you there is an alternative.Room service is also available which was good quality and again really cheap.

There is Nautilus which was the main buffet style restaurant but this was very much curry.Then snacks at Sunset bar and the Verandah.Coconut Grove was next to the sea and opened for evening 'a la carte' meals and this served gorgeous food from Lobster(which you have to pay for)to curry served in a coconut.

Entertainment is the same as any hotel.Emanuel is the best singer and can impersonate anyone.The casino is just slot machines but who wants to sit in a casino every night anyway.Gym is well equipped although really is too hot to work out.

They also offer loads of beauty treatments which are really cheap so save your manicure until you get out there.Rooms are very spacious and all rooms have sea views.

They also have there own taxi service which is very cheap and they will set you a price rather make it up along the way.Definately would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: late deals/thomas cook

Recommended
Paul
13 years ago
One of the most perfect locations for a hotel in Goa.
Walk from the hotel down a few steps to the beach.
Rooms to European 5 star standard, recently refurbished. Serviced twice a day.

Excellent laundry service again to European standards priced at about R40 a shirt with a same day turnaround.
Fantastic buffet breakfast including full english, full local and full continental choice.

5 food establishments - main restaurant (a/c), poolside, hotel "beach" shack, verandah and electronic casino as well as a comprehensive room service. Prices just a little more than off-site shacks therefore fantastic value.
The staff were very attentive.

I've marked the entertainment down as it was the same as every other hotel I've stayed at ie western pop songs sung by enthusiastic crooners.

The hotel did have an "electronic casino" with slot machines, blackjack and roulette which stayed open til 2am.

This is a fantastic hotel run to European standards. No asking twice for anything.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sharyn Dowd
13 years ago
The Bogmallo Hotel is just about the friendliest place we have ever stayed, the staff could not do enough for you and were always on hand for your every whim.

The Hotel is spotlessly clean, with fresh bedding every day, and fresh towels 2 or 3 times a day. We had a deluxe room which was very large and well furnished with wonderful views from the balcony, and a fridge which was useful for storing bottled water and the odd bottle of gin, available at the local supermarket for around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum