Image of Abalone Resort

Abalone Resort

3 of 3 hotels in Majorda

2 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    6

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Hayley
9 years 6 months ago
It really upsets me to listen to read on this site about people accusing it of being too basic! Goa is a wonderful place and after all the hotel is just to sleep in. Ok it was a shock when we got there because it has got only what you need but you look around Goa and its paradise compared to what the locals have to put up with and they are happy,to here people who come back and moan about the state of this hotel just proves to me that they did not learn anything from there visit and would be better going to greece or somewhere like that. the hotel has excellent staff who provide excellent service, very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us, the coffee is beautiful (I had milky coffee and toast every day, yum!)also try the indian breakfast that is to die for. If you leave your key in the reception they clean your room and do decorations with the towels. I feel it is the little things that matter. If you are used to luxury then you may be in for a shock but stay with it and I think you will have a change of heart by your second day. It is a little far from some places but taxi's are so cheap it hardly matters. Theft is absolutely nothing to worry about. I had a safety deposit box to keep passports tickets and english money in, but phones, Mp3's etc stayed in the room by the second day as I felt so confident they would be fine, and guess what they were! I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone who is open minded. Its great and I am already looking to rebook.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Abalone Resort is not a good hotel to stay at.

Have just returned from a visit January 2007. The hotel is old and unloved, staff morale is low and the condition of the rooms is beyond basic and they are dirty.

The current brochures advertise it as having sky TV and baths however this is not true as they have neither in fact the have sold all the TVs. The My Travel Rep was not interested, unhelpful, unfriendly and dismissive of everyone who complained, if you are offered an alternative after you complain then you will have to pay extra and it is usually an even worse hotel, the travel companies know there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Ve94n
11 years 4 months ago
Prior to staying at the Abalone resort, we had certain reservations because of previous reports.

I can 'officially' say that (for what it is) this hotel is fine. The staff were friendly and polite. Every time we went in or out, it was either a 'hello, how are you' ' good morning/afternoon/evening'. "Come, look my shop....." No, I jest, that last bit happened only once.

Was the front desk efficient? We expected them to be a little more clued up on the questions we asked. So from that POV, they could tighten up.

Having stayed at the hotel opposite, the previous year, we knew what we wanted and what to expect, for the rating. These rooms were ok; cleaned daily; fresh towels, prettily arranged on the beds. If we asked for extra supplies, they were granted....and quickly!! And we didn't experience any "theft" - according to SOME reports. Phew!!

The comments we read about the pool area were damning !! We have to disagree, the pool & the area was kept clean and tidy.

We didn't avail ourselves of the hotel fare, because of the plethora of good & local restaurants. So we can't comment on the 'dried toast, and weak tea' breakfast.

Entertainment there wasn't our thing, but I'm sure there are people who maybe sit around the pool of an evening and the live music is just background. Certainly didn't notice any audience participation on the 1 or 2 occasions we sampled the entertainment - four piece combo, WITH dancers. They made a good fist of popular hits.

I suppose the only down side, is the swarm of taxi drivers that descended on us EACH TIME, we went out from the hotel - even though, they KNOW we have a scooter!!!! Can't blame them for trying tho'. But this is not a comment, that the hotel can take the blame for - where there's a hotel, they are taxi drivers...heaps!!

Would we go there again? Sure!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the crown

Recommended
Jayne & Steve Smith
11 years 5 months ago
Go with a very open mind don't expect to much and hopefully you will enjoy this hotel as much as we did.

After reading some of the reports on this hotel "dreading going was not the word" Well in our oppinion the reports were inaccurate. Our rooms were cleaned, beds changed on a daily basis.

Anthony our room boy was the perfect gentleman,if you looked after him he certainly looked after you. If we used anything out of the fridge it was replaced straight away.All the other staff were as helpful as well,they made us feel at home straight away.

The best holiday we have had.In our oppinion all that is needed to make this hotel feel better is a little TLC,everything else is fine for a 1 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Chris & Claire
11 years 6 months ago
We went on a bargain allocation on arrival and were pleasantly surprised with what we found.

Clean hotel that was cleaned every day with clean towels. Friendly staff who were faultless.... away with the fairies a little bit but in a nice way !!!1

Location was not in the middle of baga but this made no difference and made a change to the hustle and bustle.

Never stayed in the evening as was too busy at Plantain Leaf which served the some of the best food in goa !!!

Looking at trying to book the same holiday if the price is right and if it's at the Abalone then I won't hesitate to stay again.

In a word it's basic bliss which albeit crap for sunbathing (use the beaches) is a nice place to wake up and a welcome place to sleep.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Robert Woodward
12 years 1 month ago
The Abalone is best described as basic.

We were warned not to expect too much,and so we were not dissapointed when it didn't match the standards of other hotels we have stayed in.

The staff were very polite and helpful,it is about half an hours walk to the beach and shops,but there is a fleet of taxis constantly parked outside,it cost less than a quid, and the drivers are very helpful,better than any tour guide.

The food was fine,although we ate out nearly every day. The only entertainment was piped music by the pool,which was cleaned daily and a fair size.

Some rooms are without air con. I would not advise a room without it. the showers were great and the rooms were cleaned daily on request. I used a safety deposit box, with no problems.

I will use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset travel

Recommended
Cody
12 years 2 months ago
Abalone resort hotel. Hotel of very poor quality stayed just 4 nights before moved hotels ourselves. First room disgusting second room just as bad.

Would not recommend to anybody, rooms were dirty and was not cleaned in the time we was there. We had no clean towels either.

We asked the rep to be moved to another hotel but only after making our own arrangements did he appear interested. breakfast just tea coffee and toast.

Staff not really interested. No entertainment. And would I visit this hotel again, not never.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Trish Clark
12 years 2 months ago
The room was absolutely disgusting, mozzy dead in the fridge and shower was all mould and smelled awful, walls so dirty can't imagine what the stains were, or rather I can.

The whole place was really dirty and the bedding and towels in my opinion were not even good enough to do the decorating in??

The breakfast was cold mouldy toast and warm coffee in disgusting and cracked crockery, staff not interested in anything, security begging when I came in, reception staff didn't care, keys just left lying around for anyone to lift.

What entertainment?? Pool all yucky and not cleaned often. Left after a few days to stay in beach shacks up north which were far cleaner.

Reps weren't interested, they wouldn't visit us as there were only 3 of us staying there, we had to go to another hotel to see him, they never answered our calls or tx Scary scary place and I've been all over the world but never ever have I stayed in such a disgusting place as this, yet the tour operator tell me it's up to standard, weell, you should see my photos.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Chris Weaver
12 years 4 months ago
This is a very basic hotel with friendly staff. The other reports written made it sound awful , but it is typically Goan where there is no luxury. Accept this and the stay will be wonderful. It was unlike any other holiday I have had , but it is India...

The room was basic and once we located our maid, and asked her for additional towels and pillows, new linen every day and good cleanliness, she did us proud. She did beautiful towel displays every day and we rewarded her with a good tip at the end of our stay. We used the fridge mini bar and therefore had water etc as we used it, and it wasn't expensive when we settled the bill.

The pool was cleaned every morning and was lovely.

Breakfast was only toast but with the lovely eateries in the area, you didn't need anymore. Food is so cheap, and full breakfasts could be had everywhere at reasonable cost if required. I took a travel kettle and coffee as their coffee was awful- norm in a lot of holiday areas, but tea was Typhoo and ok.

Wouldn't recommend the tailor as he is very pushy, quite expensive and when I asked for a simple teeshirt shortening, he didn't do it in the timespan requested, and therefore didn't get paid...so nice bloke but not reliable.

The Jewel in Crown rep called Gavin was fantastic and very helpful.

So go with an open mind and expect 2*...small tips go a long way out here...We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in Crown

Recommended
Meryl
12 years 6 months ago
The room was dirty with all the walls marked, when I complained they gave us another room which was a bit better, but I have never stayed in such a hovel in my life.

The food for breakfast was just toast and tea, all very basic.

The staff was very unhelpful, the biggest complaint was having
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum