Image of Cidade De Goa Intercontinental

Cidade De Goa Intercontinental

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Centrally located in extensive, tropical gardens by a secluded beach.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 4 months ago
Visted this hotel in January for one week.
The hotel is kept clean and the rooms are spacious with good TV coverage/minibar etc. Choice of restaurants and places to drink. The beach is poor as it is on the estuary and not inviting for a swim. The hotel is rather isolated and no where to walk to. You have to get either a pre paid taxi from the hotel which is expensive or walk to the top entrance to the local cab stand.

Staff very helpful and pleasant.
Ate in the Cafe Azul for both breakfast and evening meals, also the BBQ night on the beach. Food at the BBQ was extemely good but very expensive.
Costly for soft drinks, beers compared to eating and drinking out in local restaurants.

Good base if you want to travel either north or South.
Would not stay again due to isolated location. Dona Paula jetty is some 1km away but it has little to offer and was currently undergoing building work.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Liz McGrath
11 years 4 months ago
We visited this hotel in January 2007, on a bed and breakfast basis.

On arrival at 8am on New Year's Day, our room was not quite ready, but we were given breakfast - very good choice, buffet style.

Dining room pretty empty after the previous night's celebrations!

The room was soon available and was very clean and spacious, with a view of the sea. The room was cleaned every day and towels and sheets changed regularly.

Although we were only bed and breakfast we did eat at the hotel a few nights, usually when there was a theme night eg beach barbeque, Goan night etc. Although more expensive than eating out, the food was always good and you could choose what you wanted.

The hotel is located about 1 mile from Dona Paula, and about 5-6 miles from Panjim. The main drawback from our point of view was that it was a bit isolated, i.e. you couldn't walk to any restaurants really, but had to take a taxi.

There are no beach shacks as the hotel has a private beach. There is however, a taxi rank at the hotel entrance, much cheaper than using the hotel taxis. You are more or less centrally placed for visiting both North and South Goa, though going to the North means you have to go via Panjim every time, and the traffic can be heavy.

We found all the hotel staff to be very helpful and pleasant.

The entertainment was not very good usually consisting of singers/small groups. Some of them were of a very poor standard. There is not much night life to this hotel, so if you want anything more lively you would have to go out.

Although we enjoyed our stay, we would probably not visit this particular hotel again solely because of its rather isolated location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Dee Baker
11 years 5 months ago
This was our first visit to India and we were slightly apprehensive however on arrival we were delighted on our choice of hotel.

We were greeted with drinks, a necklace and a very warm friendly smile. We found the hotel staff a delight, nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is a bit out of the way but a plus is that it is central so easier access to both north and south beaches etc.

Our room was cleaned daily with a turn down service each evening.

I recommend this hotel for couples and families however it may not be lively enough for the young looking for lots of dancing on site
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
First trip to Goa and could not have chosen a better hotel than the Cidade De Goa.

A little remote but we travelled around Goa at least every other day and found it a wonderful relaxing place to come back too. Not ideal if you enjoy walking out at night - safe to do so but not many places to go even walking distance!

The staff,the rooms and the restaurants on site were excellent, I was unwell one day during our stay and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

Well kept large gardens and clean beach, although because of its location, the sea was not particular clean. The hotel pool more than made up for this and the temperature of the water was always just right.

Would defintely recommend this hotel to those wanting a great relaxing base and lots of pampering.

Even saw our first 'celebrity' abroad, an ex-england cricketer was staying at the Cidade during our second week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
This was our third visit to Cidade De Goa - we think it is fabulous.

The hotel has two wings - Bay and Garden. The Bay rooms are traditional 'Portuguese' style and are medium in size. Rooms in the Garden wing are large. All of the rooms have been recently refurbished and upgraded.
The whole hotel is kept exceptionally clean on a daily basis.

The staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. There are a large number of repeat visitors.

The hotel is in a very quiet location some 6Km from Panjim, which means a bus or taxi ride, but this means it is a very peaceful place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Seabie
12 years 6 months ago
There are several restaurants at this hotel. Obviously pricier than if you were to eat out. The staff were very friendly. Hotel entertainment quite poor, but amusing. The hotel rooms are lovely, but you may get a room without a baclony - just a window.

We did, but asked to be moved and the staff did move us no problem. I wouldnt class this a five star hotel though. The hotel is geared up to All Inclusive, but we stayed b&b, ate in some nights and out some nights.

Location is good if you want to be near the north and Panjim, if you would rather stay in a better class hotel, but every where is a taxi ride away. The beach is tiny and as it is on the estury can sometimes smell of petrol.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Pauline & Lindy
12 years 7 months ago
This was our first visit to India and was unsure what to expect, as we had heard many tales. We decided to go for a 5 star hotel ( being as certain as possible, that even if we did not like Goa the hotel would be of good standard. On arrival we were presented with a necklace each which we felt was such a nice gesture. Our room was ready. I did expect the room to be of a higher standard due to the fact we was booked in a 5 star hotel - we did not complain because we felt it was only a minor problem. The room was cleaned twice a day and towels exchanged as many times as you liked. The food was amazing, you was never stuck for choice and the service was excellent. I have to stress that the staff were just wonderful and could not do enough for you, the management should be so proud of their staff they do so a wonderful job. We never once found that the staff expected tipping, they were just lovely people.

The hotel entertainment was not up too much, however our visit was mid October - I think only a couple of weeks into the season, so perhaps as the season gets into its swing so will the entertainment.

The hotel is off the beaten trac so taxis are required to get around, but no worries because taxis are so cheap. The taxi driver will stay with you all day for approx.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Geoff
13 years 1 month ago
We went to Goa for our first hoilday without the children and couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

The Hotel was spotless, the food was excellent and most of all the staf were brilliant and could not do enough for us. The private beach was a bonus with no hawkers etc.

The entertainment was a bit of a let down however the beach barbie was really good. We managed to get out on some day trips which, due to the cheap transport, were easy and inexpensive to book and a pleasure.

We would, and have recommended this hotel to our friends. If you havn't been to Goa it's a must.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Natalie Davies
13 years 4 months ago
Couldn't fault this hotel at all, the rooms were cleaned daily they left fresh flowers in our room most days.

Breakfast was really nice a lot to choose from and they make the best omelettes ever. The staff were very friendly couldn't do enough to help you.

The hotel location was out of the way but very peaceful, it took 20 mins to get to Panjim, but we travelled most evenings by taxi to Calangute, Baga or Candolim and really enjoyed it.

We are returning to Cidade de Goa in April 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Somak

Recommended
Jon Burrell
13 years 5 months ago
Hotel was very smart with great facilities, situated on its own secluded sandy beach.

The hotel is fantastic for relaxation with a lovely pool and palm tree lined sun bed area overlooking the beach, there are no hawkers,no loud music but just peace and quiet.

On the downside the hotel is a little off the beaten track and it is quite a long taxi ride to other areas
( Panjim 20 mins, Baga 45 mins. Because of its isolation the hotel charges more than double the norm for drinks and the food was more expensive. We ate out most nights because of this and found the food to be better at the many restaraunts we tried. breakfast however was included in our package and was superb.

The staff did not really seem to care as much as I have experienced at lesser hotels in Goa in the past
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum