Image of Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

Ramada Caravela Beach Resort

3 of 5 hotels in Varca

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
4 stars
Location 75 minutes' drive from the airport with 23 acres of gardens leading down over sand dunes to the wide expanse of Colva Beach in south Goa. Facilities Include a spacious, lobby with attractive bar overlooking the gardens and main restaurant.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Richard
10 years 3 months ago
Definitely change your room if they put you in the old block as the old room smelt of damp.
Try and get a room in the newer block near the tennis courts
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lastminute

10 years 5 months ago
Its me again, well I visited the hotel again this month and I will give credit due where its due, there were no rats however, I believe this was because there were staff constantly spraying rat poison every morning around the same annexxes around 7am. This shouldnt need to be the case, yes every large hotel must have to deal with rats from time to time but to take such big preventative measures is worrying.

The staff service hasn't improved much although with the shacks now operational I avoided the hotel as much as possible. Only ate there once on the last night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

10 years 5 months ago
Third visit to this hotel for Xmas/New Year.

When we landed at Dabolim we got through the arrivals in record time, went straight to the booth at the airport for a taxi and found it was exactly the same price as last year 550 rupees.

We were greeted on our arrival at the hotel by our friend Suzanna and quickly shown to our room which was situated in the block by the tennis courts. I realised when I went in the room that it was not on the side of the building that I wanted but another word with Suzanna and we were relocated the following day to the 'sunny side'. We were lucky enough to be put in a room which was the only one in the block which had been upgraded and was brand new with wooden flooring, bathroom with shower cubicle and bath, plenty of storage space, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar and plasma tv on the wall it was extremely nice and very comfortable.

Being AI we didn't eat out apart from a couple of snacks during the day at the beach shacks which were all still run by the same people.

I have nothing but praise for the staff at this hotel every one of them remembered us from our previous visits and went out of their way to look after us.

The food/drink are still excellent and we were invited to a dinner in the Indian Restaurant to meet the management as repeat guests which I thought was very good customer relations.

The hotel is in a lovely setting with a wonderful beach and the sunbeds are scattered throughout the grounds and the only place where you may have difficulty getting one is by the large pool.

The gala dinners held on Xmas and New Year Eve were memorable occasions, the food as always was superb and there was so much choice although some people did complain about the music as the star act was a Beyonce lookalike but we personally thought she was very good. The firework display on New Year's Eve was magnificent and it was nice to see all the catering staff mingling with the management and guests at midnight.

I must admit that having read previous reports on here about rat infestations I was a little wary this time and even more upset when my O/H went back to the room one night and said he'd just seen one go under the wardrobe!! but all was well it turned out to be a very large frog which somehow had got into the room and he quickly 'hopped it' when we got the staff to do a thorough search. I had to laugh when the following day I asked the taxi driver who was taking us to the leather shop what his name was and he said Roland!!

The only adverse comment I would make is that the hotel is a little remote so if you want to do some shopping you are stuck with the expensive taxis who are just outside the hotel grounds, in fact we got in one and he transferred us to another because we were only going down the road.

Also must comment on the Thomsons Rep who looks after this hotel. We had no communication from Thomsons throughout our holiday, we were not invited to the welcome meeting were not given any information and had to get our departure cards from the Thomas Cook Rep. She was also of no help to our friends who had been on our flight and whose luggage had been left in Manchester. It finally turned up over a week into their holiday having gone (so they were told) to Russia!!

All in all another very good holiday at the Ramada and yes I have already booked for this Xmas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
Stayed in this hotel for five nights in november 2007.
One word of advice, do not stop in the annexxe towards the far side of the hotel next to the golf course, it is infested with rats.
I can forgive you for not beleiving me but rats entered a member of my party's room chewed through her belongings left "mess" on her pillows, floor, bathroom... chewed sugar sachet's- may i add they stopped using those perticular sachets about 12 months ago(I am a regular visitor to this hotel-not through choice) Staff service has gone down hill since I last stayed here they do not grasp basic phrases and questions. I have a long list of things that went wrong and not once was "sorry" said once I had to prompt them on many occasion to say it.

My advice please take a look at either the Cidade to Goa or the Intercontinental- a bit pricey and further away but worth it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: -

Recommended
Elmar Brueckner
10 years 6 months ago
New Indian director with management by anxiety. Cost cutting program. Choices of foods shrinked. Only one event a week. Food ( buffet) now simole and poor.
Many flies Mosquitos in the room. Entertainment poor.

Surrounding, Bech and Water are nice.
Oriental Hut with fishes is nice.

It has been much better the years before.
Hotel is on upgrading process with rooms but downgraging with service.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Sharon
11 years 4 months ago
Tenth visit to Goa, fourth to this Hotel.

Staff are wonderful.

Rooms very good already booked again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
Our 2nd visit to the Ramada and 5th time in Goa.

On arrival at Dabolim I got a taxi from the booth located just outside arrivals 550rs which I didn't think was too bad a price.

When we got to the hotel we were greeted like old friends as they remembered us from the previous year, we even got a lovely chocolate cake with 'welcome back' written on it.

The evening of our arrival was the Xmas Eve Gala Dinner so we just dumped our cases had a quick shower and change and were shown to our pre booked table. Had to give in and go to bed around midnight but a lovely start to the holiday. I notice that the bars now stock Kingfisher which is a marked improvement on the previous year's Fosters.

This holiday for us was a pure R & R, in our AI package we had a full body massage, pedicure, manicure and many more things which we had not taken full advantage of last year.

The food and service were superb and we thoroughly enjoyed a restful 2 weeks.

The only negative things were the prices charged by the taxis just outside the hotel and the plane which was freezing!!

Would I return, yes of course, I've already booked for next Xmas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
A week before our holiday (booked last January) the tour operator informed me that our original hotel in the North was overbooked and they were moving us to the South. I wasn't pleased having always stayed in the Calangute area of the North and knowing that the South was extremely quiet.

My taxi booked to take us to Baga had to be cancelled along with other arrangements I had made. After our flight from Birmingham in the early hours of Boxing Day we discovered that several people on the coach had also had their holiday changed and was expecting the worst. How wrong can you be, they did us a favour.

The hotel must be rated as one of the best we'd ever stayed in. Our room was ideal looking over the golf course and the sea beyond and the sun shone on the balcony all day.

The staff were amazing and could not do enough for you.

The food was superb and the New Year's Eve Gala was like something out of a fairy tale. I was glad that we were AI because it was quite expensive to eat and drink if you were on a B & B basis.

No rush to reserve a sunbed here, there were loads of them scattered throughout the extensive grounds and by the beach.

We found ourselves eating our evening meal in the restaurant by the beach every evening and they even reserved a table for us.

We found that things are a little bit more expensive in the South but visiting the North for a dental appointment one day we decided that our future holidays to Goa would be spent in the South, hopefully at the Ramada.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
LiL' RoMeO
12 years 5 months ago
I would never visit this disgraceful hotel again, it was truly sickening.

The hotel cleanliness was a disgrace there was rubbish everywhere I went and there was litter on the beach as well. There was a terrible smell at all times of my stay.

The hotel food was not even fit for a dog, it had mosquitoes and flies all over the food and they expect us to eat that, utterly disgraceful.

The location was appalling as it was so far away from the airport and so far away from the main in town shopping centre, they also charged alot of money to chauffer us around.

The hotel staff were really moody and rude at all times I even found some of my items missing from my hotel room, not making any assumptions.

There was no entertainment. All I heard was a group of cows trying to sing, I don't know why the hotel paid them for.

If you want to go on a quality holiday try Florida In America Pure Class.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet Airways

Karen Harris
13 years 2 months ago
The only word to decribe this hotel is horrible. After insisting we had four star or above at the travel agents we where looking forword to our holiday.

After a 24hrs delay at Bombay airport(thats another story altogher) we arrived at our hotel, first impressions where good but they didnt last.

The room smelt fusty, the bed throw had red stains on it and when we peeled the covers back the sheets where stained too, the bathroom was in need of a re-furb the sink was nearly off the wall in fact the whole room was in need of that d.i.y disater program and the balconey had a lovely feature of a pot with special goan weeds in and mucky tables and chairs!

We complained and was show a bugalow this was livable but still only a low three star. PLEASE DONT GO!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Varca