Image of Club Sun N Sand Hotel

Club Sun N Sand Hotel

1 of 5 hotels in Mombasa

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
Kikambala, Mombasa, Kenya

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Anon
8 years 6 months ago
we went to this hotel on our honeymoon, the room was supposed to be deluxe, just a standard room so disappointed to start. No acknowledgement of our honeymoon until staff were reminded, then a plate of fruit arrived and a garland round the door, but all to late really, the surprise element had gone!! You could not go on the beach, firstly no sunbeds there, just the locals haggling for business so couldnt do a romantic walk, the tide came right up to the hotel anyway and the reef started around 20ft from hotel so pointless having a beach. No mention of this at any point. Could not go out front of hotel due to locals haggling again and no where to walk to. The weather was not too good and we were so bored. The sports room (joke!!) had a big tv with no remote so could not change channels, no bar there just a snooker table. It was pathetic. One couple we knew left on day 2 and transferred to another hotel, i wish we had the guts to have done it too. Food relatively good, so a bonus point, located in middle of nowhere, public toilets never worked properly even when reminded twice but gave up after that. Certainly not the romantic honeymoon we had in mind, apparently this is third world 5 star and not 5 star as i have subsequently been told.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: anon

S Melluish
10 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the sun n sand beach resort on an all inclusive basis, which I was very glad of, being Kenya; the room was cleaned and restocked every day. The food was excellent, 3 times a day such a choice, and the presentation was so eye catching, everything being so fresh, we tried every soup they had, and the bread was smashing, we loved the choice of fresh fruit. the staff were amazing, so friendly all the time, they just couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
we stayed at sun+sand aug 2007 for 3 weeks fantastic. staff could not do enough food superb chinese+ala carte+barbeque as well as main resturant.pools fantastic very clean anderson did very good job tip him when you first get there and you will have a sun bed where you want for the rest of your stay.must do things.school visit take plenty of hankies.pen,pencils,a4paper,calculaters.dont be scared of beach boys.booked our safari with phillip saved nearly
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel staff were amazing, always smiling and asking how you were. We had a room on the 4th Floor overlooking the sea and the lazy river pool.

I was surprised by the service it exceeded my expectations, The location is great you walk out of the hotel to a few local shops and there is a fantastic German bar a couple of minutes walk from the hotel.

You do get pestered slightly by the beach boys at first but when you get used to them, they are invaluable for the info and help that they give you.

The entertainment was superb, local shows and bands on.
Food fab and we enjoyed the chinese restaurant. I would definitely return to the hotel, but not in rainy season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FirstChoice

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel was excellent. The staff very friendly and helpful.

We upgraded to a deluxe room which is slightly larger than the standard room. The rooms were clean and the cleaners were very friendly and helpful. Just ask them to fill up the fridges and they keep you well supplied with fresh bottled water.

The main buffet restaurant was very good. We only tried one of the other restaurants being the grill which was also good food.

The location was a little far from Mombasa but Allan (one of the beach boys off the beach) arranged a trip for us with him as a guide and we had a great day.

Our holiday normally consists of a fly drive which is why we would not visit Mombasa again but we really enjoyed our 2 week stay there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
David
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel was excellent in decor, somewhat arabesque, I was told Swahili in style. Food was great. The table service was diabolical. Reception were helpful except for check in that took over 20 minutes. Porters slow. If the service improved radically I would reconsider but often it could take 20 minutes just to be noticed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Somaka

11 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Sun N' Sand Beach Resort and the welcome we received from the hotel staff on arrival was extremely friendly and professional.

Although our room was not immediately ready for occupation we did not mind as we were directed to the nearest bar for a coffee and our first chance to relax after the long flight - within 20 minutes the room was ready and we were accompanied to it by a friendly porter who carried our luggage and made us feel welcome.

The food at the hotel was second to none - always fresh, plentiful and very well presented. The staff of the hotel, at all levels, from management down to the cleaning staff were always friendly and always greeted us with a big smile whenever we met them - they could not do enough for us and obviously all wanted us to enjoy our stay with them.

Some people complain about the 'Beach Boys' but when you see for yourself the poverty and the circumstances they endure it is understandable that they need to 'tout for business' as they are only trying to make a living to make ends meet. If you are pleasant and honest with them they can actually make your stay more enjoyable and interesting (obviously as in all walks of life some are better than others). The best ones to deal with on Kikumbala beach are Martin and Henry - look out for them Martin wears a yellow 'McConnel' cap and Henry has a pinkish cap with his name on it - they have a good reputation and also run the 'Kikumbala Branch' of Marks & Spencer down on the beach where you can buy wonderful wooden carvings and sculptures (wish we could have bought more from them).

We spent the Christmas period at the Sun N' Sand and enjoyed every minute of it - we can't wait to return again as soon as we can.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Just Travel 4u is part of the Not Just Travel Group. We are members of the Uk's largest Independent Buying Group and have access to over 450
Popular hotels in Mombasa