Image of Meeru Island Resort

Meeru Island Resort

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
Kaafu Atoll, MEERU ISLAND RESORT, Maldives

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alyson
9 years 4 months ago
We first stayed at Meeru in April 2007 in a Jaccuzzi water villa, the room was fantastic, cleaned everyday to a very high standard and you have a nightly turn down service. Every member of staff on Meeru are extremely polite,helpful and friendly. The food was gorgeous and there is always plenty of choice. We had heard people say that the Maldives are the last paradise on earth and they were not wrong.
We returned to Meeru in April 2009 for our second visit and from the moment we arrived on the island,our room boy
and all the waiters in the resturants and bars remembered us from our first visit, we were treat like royalty.
We love the island so much we are returning in August 2010 for the third time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Tracey And Daz
9 years 5 months ago
When we first arrived we were put in 600s and I had asked for 100s, anyway, they moved us within a few hours, so we just got changed and went to the beach...and after 2 hours, we had been moved to 100s :-) The room was beautiful, jacuzzi in the garden, outside bathroom which was great, very comfy bed and everything was just perfect :-)
The food was out of this world and there was never a time when there wasn't something there you would like, a lot of cooking stations where the chefs were cooking the food fresh in front of you. You do have to pay for food at the Asian restaurant...but they do have special offer evenings which we went too....and the food was out of this world....one of the best restaurants we have eaten in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ronnie
10 years ago
Went to meeru for our honeymoon it was absolute paradise, staff were really pleasant could not do enough for you, we stayed in a jucuzzi water villa and it was worth every penny, the bed was made up covered in flowers when we arrived and the room was done in the morning and again in the evening,food was terrific in both buffet restaurants and at the a la carte asian wok.the cost of which is approx the same as you would expect to pay in the uk.
kay at best at travel organised everything brilliant !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: BEST AT TRAVEL

Recommended
Laura Laidler
10 years 2 months ago
This resort island is fantastic! We travelled here on our honeymoon and from the moment you set foot on the island it is paradise. You are greeted with welcome drinks on arrival then escorted to your room. We were upgraded free of charge for our first 2 nights to a jacuzzi water villa and couldn't bare to leave so stayed for the rest of our holiday.

The villas are immaculate and very modern. Each villa has its own balcony with sun loungers and steps down into the sea, perfect for snorkelling. On a night the light from your balcony attracts lots of sealife and is amazing to watch. Rooms are cleaned twice a day once in the morning when the bed linen is changed and once in the evening when the towels are changed! The service is unbelieveable and you are never disturbed for them to do this. All villas also have a mini bar, satellite tv and a safe.

Breakfast is quite early so only made it twice but the choice of food on all meal services is great, something for everyone! Breakfast is the normal cereals, toast, English breakfast and freshly made omelettes/fried eggs cooked in front of you to order!

Lunch and Dinner again everything you could imagine. Several types of meat all in different sauces each day, either a joint of meat or fresh catch of the day fish carved and served, salads, soup, vegetables and a different type of potato every day.

Thursdays was traditional night where the waiters were all dressed in traditional clothing and Dinner was all traditional curries etc. and they were lovely.

Sundays believe it or not there was Sunday dinner with yorkshire puddings! And at least 3 joints of meat, all different, being carved and served.

The staff on the island were second to none. Nothing was ever too much to ask and from the day we arrived our names were remembered which was really nice.

I have never experienced all inclusive like this, no sooner was your glass empty and you had a new drink waiting for you, service was always excellent.

Entertainment was good, traditional night, crab racing, a disco and a few local bands playing but mostly enjoyed sitting outside on the decking at the Utheru Bar star gazing, relaxing and drinking a few cocktails.

The island is perfect for snorkelling and you are able to hire the equipment from the dive centre. The beaches are also fantastic,the sea crystal clear and the spa is well worth a visit.

We went on 2 excursions, the sunset cruise was amazing although it was cloudy the day we went we got to see spinner dolphins out in the ocean which was amazing to see. We also went on the whale submarine in Male which was also a good experience.

Overall, the best holiday we have had and we will definately return in the not too distant future!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Bob Dobbs
10 years 4 months ago
Simply the best what a great hotel we stayed in a land Jacuzzi villa and had every thing you could want mini bar air con and your own little garden with Jacuzzi so private and satellite TV so you can keep up with the football
we only had one fault with this holiday we didn't stay long enough we were only there for six nights as it was our first time in the Maldives and was not to sure about it but we will be back.

Every one was so friendly the food is great and plenty to choose from they even had a Sunday roast to make you feel at home and if you like a drink good booze.

The transfer to the island is about one hour by boat that's the start of your holiday as we see dolphins and turtles plus you get to pass a lot of the other islands and see the beauty of the Maldives.

Once you arrive you are taken to the reception and given a nice cold drink and a warm towel to refresh your self one form to fill in and you are in your apartment with in fifteen minutes were you suit cases are waiting for you .
And then it's just chill and lay back enjoy your self everything else is there for you we are hoping to go back next year for 14 nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: key2holidays

Recommended
David
11 years 3 months ago
The place is stunning - we stayed in both a Water Villa and a Jacuzzi Water Villa - couldn't fault either, they were cleaned twice daily to a very high standard.

It's as they say a no shoes/no news island we are already planning to return. We only stayed 7 nights as we were not sure if we would want to do nothing for 14 - we were wrong and will be going for 14 nights next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes & Jarvis

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
Well what can I say ?? After getting a late deal for 300 each all inclusive - what a bargain!!! I can say that I would have paid almost anything to stay here - it was lovely!!

We had been given a standard room - which we didn't even look at as we had got the holiday so cheap we decided to upgrade straight away to a jacuzzi land villa which was fantastic - even better we upgraded again to a jacuzzi water bungalo for the last few nights when there was one available which was out of this world!!!

The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was lovely - we ate at the buffet which was a similar standard to the food we had in Dubai ( the best "buffet " food ever - very lean meat, everything very well presented and fresh !!) and had a meal for 2 on the boat with lobster and was worth every penny.

The beach was beautiful - lots of little sand coloured crabs though - and small harmless nurse sharks in the shallow waters, great fish and stingrays.

The waiters were well presented and very polite and helpful, the "entertainment" consisted of dancers and music, a crab race, a live band and a disco. Mostly we sat looking at the stars with a cocktail - sheer relaxation.

You do not need to dress up at this hotel too much - smart but casual evening wear and the best thing of all - sand floors in the bars meant NO SHOES!!!

We have been to many places - Jamaica, Dominican etc and have found our perfect couple heaven - not for kids although some people did take their children - I will be saving hard to pay full price to go back as I don't think we will ever get such a last minute bargain as this again!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
This was our first time in the Maldives and we were not disappointed. We booked a jacuzzi land villa, these were super-an individual villa with your own back garden with jacuzzi.

The villas were cleaned twice a day and were spotless.The food was simply fantastic a terrific choice for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Wherever you were situated you were only about a ten minute walk from the bar or restaurant.

All the staff we encountered were very polite and most were chatty.

Evening entertainment varied from crab racing to live bands and a disco night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
12 years 8 months ago
Meerufenfushi or Meeru as it is more commonly known is one of the largest island resorts in the Maldives and approximately two hours speed boat ride away from the airport. If I remember correctly there is even a one hour time difference between the two.

After arriving at the airport you will be transferred aboard a large speed boat with seating inside for perhaps 50 people or more. The more adventurous may want to sit on the roof of the boat, but if you do, remember to put on some sun cream as it is easy to burn. You will be transferred to a smaller dhowi a few hundred yards from the island as the larger boat cannot dock.

As with all islands on the Maldives, it is wise to carry a bundle of one dollar bills as these come in useful for tipping the baggage handlers. The going rate is 2 dollars per suitcase.

Meeru is the only island of the dozen or so that I have stayed at where I have seen a car (No roads though!). There is also a pizza delivery operation for the really bone idle.

Being such a large resort there are many standards of room available. Personally I would not be too happy staying in the water bungalows, they may be the more luxurious, but they are the farthest from the main bar and restaurant, a good ten minute walk. Standard rooms are fine, as you will only be using them for sleeping.

There is a pleasant pool next to the bar, but if going in high season you may have to get up early to grab a sun lounger as there is a limited supply. The bar itself is spacious and is obviously the hub of activity. There is a second large bar with a stage for occasional entertainment, which by Maldivian standards is quite good.

The restaurant serves all meals on a buffet basis. With any trip to the Maldives, do not expect gourmet cuisine. I have never had cause to complain about the quantity or quality on Meeru. The chef will be pleased to cook anything that you might catch on a fishing trip. There is also a small bar farther along the beach which serves some nice curries and other snacks. A room service menu is also available, and food can be delivered by a guy on a bike. Do not get conned into having a romantic candlelit dinner on the beach, or a beach lobster party, as these are both expensive and naff.

The beach between the reception area and the snack bar is not too popular, the water is too shallow. Early morning you can walk out for fifty yards or so and watch the baby reef sharks feeding, but it is no good for bathing even at its deepest point. Farther round, between the snack bar and the water bungalows there are some small but very nice spots to sunbathe and swim, and you will also be able to do a limited amount of snorkeling (Meeru
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
Erol
12 years 11 months ago
Our accommodation was clean and well serviced,however the a/con was out of order and after a few complaints we were given another room.

The food was repeat menu during out stay and on occasions under cooked,my wife suffered from upset stomach as a result.

During our stay we had two local bands perform and a disco,the bands brilliant,the disco.....somewhat too techno.

All inclusive....never again as it does not reflect the extra outlay,you are at the mercy of the bar staff and have to drink what they put in front of you. The drinks are low quality and non alcoholic.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum