Image of Calypso Hotel

Calypso Hotel

4 of 4 hotels in Gozo

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
Uniquely situated on the water\'s front in the most popular resort of Gozo. The Calypso enjoys breathtaking views of the clear blue Mediterranean seas and the fishing harbour of Marsalforn, and makes a quiet and peaceful holiday destination.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Allison Morris
15 years ago
Although we had half board I prefer to explore local restaurants but when we ate in the hotel it was good and the area kept very clean.

I couldn't fault the cleanliness of the rooms and the staff were available, friendly but unobtrusive.

Stunning location and being September time there was no problem finding beds by the pool in a lovely breeze and a pleasant dip in a not huge pool but adequate for our needs.

Very relaxing holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs F
15 years 2 months ago
Our first holiday with a 7 month old baby and we were pleasantly surprised with the facilities of the hotel.

The room was large with plently of space for the cot although the balcony was very small and disappointing (we had thought we may be able to sit out there in the evening once she had gone to bed)

Staff were friendly and the restaurant staff were particularly keen even arranging some different first solids for our daughter.

The food was excellent although rich and the buffet theme nights on the roof top had something for everyone.

I cannot fault the hotel for cleanliness, staff and food although the entertainment was sparse and the hotel pool small and quite crowded.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended
Simon & Pam Riley
15 years 3 months ago
We were very impressed with this hotel as soon as we arrived.

Located on the harbour front close to the small beach,
the hotel was refurbished last year to a very high standard.Are room was very clean and was cleaned daily,with fresh towels.

The food was excellent,a bit fancy for my wife who only eats plain food but, Manuel and Joe the two head waiters were very helpfull in finding her something she wanted each evening.The breakfast is very good with a wide choice.
The staff were all friendly,reception staff managed to issue us with the wrong bar bill unfortunatly,not noticed untill we arrived at our next hotel.

The pool which is quite small is located on the roof with about 25/30 sunbeds,we never had a problem getting one at anytime of the day.

We didnt experience the entertainment as they only have it on friday and saturday nights and we stayed Sunday to Friday.

There were no chairs on the balcony,apart from this we could not fault the hotel,which we would use again if we return to Gozo.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mercury direct

Recommended
JOHN MORIEGO
15 years 4 months ago
*Edit by Admin. This review has been removed as it was posted from Malta. To ensure that our reviews remain unbiased we do not allow posts to be made from the country where the accommodation is situated. If you are on holiday then please post on your return.*

Travel operator: NO TRAVEL AGENT

Maggie Ellis-jones
15 years 11 months ago
Breakfast was great it seemed to go on for a long time, a wonderful and never ending choice of foods.

Friendly and efficient waiters were forever either topping up coffee cups or else taking away empty plates. I surprized we were able to even think about lunch.

We had a room with a sea view, giving us more than enough space for two. It was clean, well maintained and had some good furniture.

Travel was no problem as there is a regular bus to Rabat.
Will we stay at Calypso again? Oh yes!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ***

Recommended
Ian Andrews
16 years 2 months ago
We stayed in this hotel as a allocation on arrival when we expected Malta. What a great hotel.

Although the entertainment is limited the others ares are all 5*. Would recommend for couples.

Agree pool is small but all kids seem to have fun. Beach & sea is 50 yards away and water is clean clear and warm.

The roof top restaurant with it's special theme nights is top grade stuff. Drinks reasonable. Only UK speaking channel was CNN but who wants to watch TV when there was so much more available.

Will be back I am sure
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Adam Evans
17 years 1 month ago
We have traveled to Malta on numerous occasions, this hotel and its staff are great. The only let down was the entertainment and the lack of tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. Th tv system was lacking any good english entertainment most was as u would expect was in Italian.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Trisha
17 years 3 months ago
It has been re-furbished to a very high standard, the hotel is immaculately clean, the food is very good, the breakfast buffet has everything that you could want, the rooftop pool is not very big, but ok for a quick dip to cool down.
We had a nice room overlooking the harbour, we found the staff very polite and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.