Image of Monte Sao Pedro Apartments

Monte Sao Pedro Apartments

6 of 6 hotels in Praia Da Luz

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
3 stars
Monte São Pedro, 8600-116 Praia da Luz, Portugal

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Kym Gray
10 years 9 months ago
The villa was spacious and had a very good outside area with a decent sized swimming pool and barbecue and the garden (villa no 9) was very secluded. Tried the restaurant on the first night and was fine but didn't try again due to all the other ones in the area. Bar area was nice with a games room. Brochure did mention kids club but did not seem to be on when we were there.

Would not stay here again due to the location. Although not too far from Luz due to the main road with no pavement taxis alway had to be used.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

E Dodd
11 years 7 months ago
We booked privately (via holidaylettings.co.uk) and flew Thomsonfly, saved a fortune on package prices!.

The privately let villas are so much nicer than the site owned ones, much better equipped & nice and clean. There was plenty of crockery, cutlery and dining chairs for 6, although the lounge furniture seated only 5 (which was the maximum number we were advised could be accomodated).

There was a telly, books to read, a fridge/freezer, toaster, microwave, teapot & kettle (not always found in these places, esp.in Spain) and lots of other useful odds & ends in the kitchen, including BBQ tools to use on the built-in BBQ in the back garden, which was quite small, but big enough for at least 2 sun loungers.

The bedrooms were fine, with plenty of drawers & wardrobe space, plus a safe, but the beds were a bit firm for us. Only one bathroom, with over-bath shower, but clean and adequate.

With the help of a visitor's guide in the lounge, we found several good places to eat, the one just down the road from the site was excellent, very friendly, good food, and they'll drive you back "home" afterwards if you ask!

The road into Luz is a bit risky, but there is a footpath set back a bit from it, or an alternative along the side of the valley, then straight down to the beach, a very picturesque walk, and for the fit ones, you can detour up to the monument on the top!

All in all, an excellent holiday, we'll be back! (soon as poss!).
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Private

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
This complex of villas is sold as 4 star, which in my opinion it definitely isn't!! The villas are very "tired" and shabby.

We arrived about 20 hours late due to an airport delay, but they still weren't ready for us or for the other family who arrived at the same time as us.

We waited for approximately 30 mins in the heat of the day with no shade, for someone to arrive and open up reception and allocate our villas.

We had villa no 3, a 2-bed villa with a private pool. The bathroom was in dire need of refurbishing, bath, basin, loo and bidet all chipped and/or cracked. Loo seat fitted so badly (too small for the loo) that you risked nipping your legs (or worse!) each time you used it.

Window didn't open, shower curtain just plain nasty. The 2 bedrooms were small but adequate. However these were the most uncomfortable beds we've ever slept on, and very creaky too. Wardrobe and drawer space was ok. The living/dining room was spacious but very uncomfortable sofa and chairs.

The kitchen was a galley type with a breakfast bar which looked through to the living area. It was inadequately supplied for a family of 5, although should be equipped for 6! However we got extra glasses, cutlery and crockery from reception. The fridge was dirty when we arrived as was most of the kitchen equipment.

Outside BBQ filthy, did not use. Garden was small but very private, very eneven lawn (actually not so much lawn as weeds and mud) so be careful, our 7 yr old kept tripping up. Pool was lovely but not kept clean except by us.

The bar staff were often quite surly and even rude, with a few lovely exceptions.

Kids club was fantastic, our 7 yr old has never wanted to go to one before but he couldn't get enough of this one.

Nothing at all for our two then 16 yr olds to do thought so be warned do not take teenagers here.

One other thing was that we had understood that the 5th bed was a sofabed in the living area. NOT! It was a fold up bed (the best bed in the house actually!) which only (just) fitted in the main bedroom so we ended up with our youngest in with us, not ideal and not what we'd planned. Only 2 sun loungers in the garden and even if we'd had more there wouldn't have been room for them.

These villas are sold and priced for 6 adults but equipped for 2 or 3.

All in all the problem is that these villas are really 2 star in my opinion (although still rated at 4 star in current brochures) and are very overpriced.

Only go if you don't mind a bit of dirt and discomfort.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Ross
12 years 9 months ago
I have been going to this resort for 6 years now and I would never change my destination. It is within walking distance of Luz. You can either walk along the main road or take a back road.

It is the best place ever
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Monte sao pedro

Recommended
Steve & Jan
12 years 10 months ago
We piked up a villa on a cheap deal. Its a fair way from Luz bay but they do provide a courtesy bus, but this is very irregular! You could walk it but remember if you walk you run the wrath of both Portuguese and tourists in hire cars on a road with no footpath!

The 2-bed villa we had was excellent. Fully fitted and spacious with BBQ, gardens and carport. We did hire a car for the week and even used it to drive down to Luz to the beach. Very quiet - the place seemed pretty empty but imagine it would get busy in high season.

The bar is basic but friendly and there are facilities for kids on site. (Games rooms, playground) The pool is the coldest we have ever swam in, but I guess this was due to the time of year we visited. (June)

We felt that we got very good value for money and even though a late deal, we would have paid more for this accommodation - and would definitely visit here again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
Phil
13 years 10 months ago
We stayed in a 3 bed 2 bathroom villa with its own pool. The accom was very clean and the back garden was well cared for and secluded.

Although the villas are fairly close together, we were unaware that our neighbours were so close as the shrubbery around the property secluded us well.

The villas were decorated in a pretty Algarvian style with marble floors and pine furniture and doors. Although it was very pleasant, I imagine it would be fairly cold if you were visiting in the winter time... The villas are equipped with sky tv although 99% of the channels were in German for some reason... We did manage to pick up MTV and CNN though... A maid came to clean once during the week. She did a very thorough job - even tidying all the clothes we had left lying about on the floor! In addition to this, a pool man came round to keep (the fairly large) swimming pool looking clean and inviting. Although the pool wasn't heated, you'll find the summer sunshine keeps it warm enough to have a splash and swim throughout the afternoon...

The staff were very friendly and patient - when we first arrived we couldnt get into our villa - the staff were more than happy to help out and the problem was easily solved. Be warned about the light switches - if you flick on two lights at once, it seems to black out the whole villa - some kind of safety mechanism apparently... Its easily resolved - just go out to the front door and you'll find the fuse box - all the switches (on the left hand side) have to be in the up position! The man at the reception helpfully pointed this out to us when we were stranded in the dark at 10:30pm!

Apart from that, everything else during the holiday ran very smoothely! The self catering facilities were good - kitchens were equipped with fridge and cooker. However, do be aware that facilities for you to do your own washing up are not provided! Our washing up quickly piled up in the sink as washing up liquid, tea towels and scrubbing sponges were not provided. I suggest you bring your own along as the mini market on site is VERY expensive.

The location of the hotel is very quiet - well away from the main resort of Praia Da Luz. It is within walking distance but on a very busy road with no pavement. We walked whenever we went to Luz but if you have small children or if you're not quick on your feet, I suggest you take the courtesy bus (which runs 3 times a day from outside reception) or hire a car (which can be booked from reception).

The complex also has a small club house / bar, restraunt, and a communal swimming pool for the use of those villas that don't have their own pool. If you have kids, the 'Dolphin Club' provides activities during the day. Judging by other reviews, I get the impression that the Monte Sao Pedro holiday village is VERY popular with families with young children during the peak season - we were there in June (real quiet) but by August, you might be fighting your way through push chairs and prams to get to your villa!

Btw, when you first arrive, reception asks for a refundable deposit of 50 euros. Remember to get this back when you leave - reception opens at 9am so if you have an early flight, go the night before... We forgot...... All in all, it was a very nice and relaxing holiday - we would def visit here again!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Sue
13 years 10 months ago
We stayed in a 2 bed villa with pool.

The villas all have private gardens and car ports which was great for the kids to have loads of room to run about in.

The villa and pool were all kept clean by the staff.

The on-site restaurant was good and staff friendly.

There is a small mini-market on site for all the essentials and if you get there early enough you can get fresh baked bread and rolls still hot from the oven, delicious.

We didn't hire a car which wasn't too much of a problem as the hotel has a courtesy bus which takes you into Luz 3 times a day and to go into Lagos which I thoroughly recommend was only about 6 euros for a taxi.

The beach at Luz is beautiful and even though it's the Atlantic we didn't find the sea that cold, the kids were in it all day.

I would thoroughly recommend this complex for families but for young couples I think it would be too quiet as it was a cab ride to get to either of the resorts.

We will definately be booking up to go there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Rosie
13 years 11 months ago
Villa was tired and shabby but nothing a coat of varnish on doors would not have solved! Restaurant was limited to choice but otherwise quite good.

The shop was very basic and does not cater very well for people who holiday at the start of the season and is more expensive.

The villas could definitely do with a good airing before guests arrive as they were very musty but otherwise clean.

The walk into luz was hairy to say the least and would not try this with kids!! The resort of Lagos was very nice and only a few minutes away in a taxi at only around 7 euros.

All in all I don't think I would return to this holiday village unless they take on board the things that need addressed.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

Gormo
15 years 9 months ago
We have stayed in these villas 4 times - 3 years in a row and then missed a year and came back.

The complex is excellent for families with communal pool, tennis courts, excellent restaurant, bar and games room for the kids. Entertainment in the evening is fine.

We've always stayed in a villa without private pool. Never been a problem and the site is very peaceful and relaxing.

Maid service once a week, we left all our mess, came back to a nice, tidy villa.

Complex staff good, although can be a bit hit or miss depending on their mood. This doesn't make any difference to your holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Praia Da Luz