Image of Gran Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde

Gran Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde

1 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Calle del Mar Mediterráneo, 7, 35290 San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Spain

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A Barlow
9 years ago
The hotel was a typical 5* hotel. The rooms were spacious and had large bathrooms with seperate shower cubicle. The hotel food was good but we would have got bored with it had we been there for more than 1 week. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment in the evenings was o.k. for adults but other than the mini disco for the under 5s there was nothing to suit children aged 6-12.
We visited the hotel over the christmas period and as its the first time abroad at this time of year I didnt know what to expect. When we checked in at reception I asked where the christmas trimmings were and was shown a huge christmas tree in the central plaza area. This was about all there was. Christmas morning there was nothing in the restaurant at breakfast to suggest it was christmas. If you listened carefully and were lucky you could sometimes hear christmas songs being played. Christmas Dinner was nothing special. The only difference being a red candle placed on your table. Having children with you at this time of year it would have been nice if they had made an effort and make things more 'christmassy'. We attended the mini disco on christmas night and the music was the same as any other night nothing to suggest it was christmas.
I would stay again at this hotel if I were to visit Gran Canaria but I would not be rushing to book for next christmas. Having returned home I feel that I have missed out on christmas this year. Having spoken to the resort representative I was assured that other hotels in and around the area had made much more of an effort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Tracey
9 years 6 months ago
First time to Grand Canaria the Hotel was very clean and Big everything was 5*. The staff were very friendly and polite.The bedrooms very clean and even had own walk in wardrobe.The food was ok with a good selection. The only down side was the entertainment which was not bad but not for the younger generation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Ann Tamplin
10 years ago
My husband & I visited the Villa Del Conde previously in October 2005. This time we visited in December 2007 & had two friends with us.

As before the hotel was spotlessly clean. On our first visit the food was ok but nothing special. As we had friends with us we were a little nervous on this point. How wrong we were!

The food was outstanding e.g. suckling pig, roast duck, sea bass etc etc. The choices at breakfast & dinner were endless & the quality was excellent. The hotel staff are extremely pleasant & nothing is too much trouble. It was my birthday on our arrival day, & to my surprise I received room service which comprised chocolate covered strawberries & champagne!

We had not informed the management that it was my birthday.

The entertainment quality varies, but the Plaza is such a lovely area to sit & have a drink that I don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Roger & Margaret
10 years 9 months ago
This Hotel definitely has the wow factor especially the reception which looks like a cathedral. It has over 500 rooms and around 5 pools of which all but one were heated.

Rooms were very spacious and clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Food was either in the buffet or a la carte and was very good.

We booked hotel and flights separately and could not fault this hotel in anyway at all. A lovely 5 star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flythomascook/Relaxabroad.com

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Spent a week here and would have loved to stayed longer. Reception area is amazing, which is pretty much the standard of the entire hotel.

The rooms are very spacious with a separate dressing room. Food was wonderful, we went half board with the intention of eating out at different restaurants, however we didn't bother.

Every morning there was champagne at breakfast which we enjoyed with our strawberries. Service is first class, always willing to help and the cleanliness of this Hotel is second to none.

Entertainment was pretty good, different acts every night, only advice I would give is take a jumper with you, it gets pretty chilly at night, although they do have patio heaters but there aren't enough to go round!

Can't fault anything about this hotel and we will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ann Tamplin
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel is a copy of one of the oldest churches on the island, and is very different and impressive as you approach it.

The reception area is very grand and is like being inside a church with high vaulted ceilings and columns, in muted grey and metallic colours.

It has a huge central chandelier. One of the most beautiful reception areas I've ever been in. The hotel is large ( 560 rooms) and all areas were spotlessly clean.

As I'd read on a previous review there had been problems with tiles lifting in one of the pools ( there are 5).

When we arrived the offending pool was empty & being repaired. We were only there a week & by the end of our stay the pool was finished & we swam in it!

The hotel is divided up into different coloured blocks ( pastel colours eg lemon, pink, peach etc ) & you are given a map to guide you around. We are in our late fifties & after a day or two we had no problems finding our way around.

I considered paying up for a sea view but it's very expensive & not really necessary. We requested a pool view on a higher floor & when we arrived reception had reserved the same, but the receptionist did point out that the room didn't have a balcony .

We said we like peace & quiet & she suggested an alternative room just off the reception area ( room 4196). She gave us the key to inspect before we decided. The room was towards the corner of the particular block & was quiet & not overlooked, so we took it.

All the staff were extremely helpful & friendly at all times. The entertainment was very good for hotel standards.

In the middle of the hotel complex there's a large plaza with a stage where the entertainment took place. At night they put lanterns on the tables & it really is a lovely to sit there & have a drink after your evening meal. Drinks are pricey but then they usually are in hotels.

When you go out of the "back" door of the hotel on to the promenade turn left towards El Faro ( the lighthouse) for shops & a shopping mall " Varadero". Mainly designer & expensive.

If you are B/B there are several restaurents "sardined" together. They were packed & very noisy, but we noticed if you were down there before about 8pm they were much quieter & looked very pretty.

If you turn right out of the back door you cant actually see the restaurants until you walk round the coast & you're on top of them before you know it.

This section is much quieter than El Faro. As I said before there are 5 pools. One is a sort of infinity pool that overlooks the promenade. working back inland that pool leads into a large pool with a man-made sandy beach ( mainly parents with children).

Then there is a bridge & then there's the second largest pool that's been repaired. Further back towards the dining room there's a small area with a shallow pool where they have the children's games.

Then there's the "tranquil" pool that we loved.The food could have been better but we always found something we liked including King Prawns.

Avoid going into dinner when it first opens for about half an hour & you'll miss the usual queues. Can't wait to go back to Villa del Conde.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Orchid Travel

Recommended
Mr & Mrs McDougall
12 years 3 months ago
Have just returned from this hotel and can highly recommend it.On first arrival at reception it had the "WOW" factor.Truly stunning.

The rooms were huge and had an extra kingsized bed,sitting area,television,separate walk in wardrobe area,bathroom had his/her sinks with bath and separate shower cubicle,toilet/bidet.There was an extra long balcony with 2 sliding doors at each side so you could use either side for sitting out,with 2 cane chairs and a table.Incidentally ladies,if you like to use a hairdryer don't bother to take your own as bathroom has one of the handheld professional ones for your use so saves on your luggage weight.

The hotel has a lovely buffet restaurant"La Plaza" with show cooking and the food is fresh and just amazing with a wide variety to suit all tastes.You can eat at th "OZO" italian restaurant once if you are 1/2 board at no extra charge but you must ask reception to book in advance.There is a varied entertainment programme perhaps suited to middle age group and up.

There is an abundance of sunloungers and numerous types of pools.One being a salt water pool with its own manmade beach complete with sand!The hotel is always kept spotlessly clean including the gardens and pool area.The hotel consisted mainly of German guests but there were a few other nationalities there.

A truly wonderful,relaxing holiday. Would we go back? We most certainly will and hope to go next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Orchid

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
We arrived here early in the morning at about 05:30. The night porter greeted us and sorted out our room very quickly. The lobby had the WOW factor with a magnificent crystal chandelier as a centrepiece. There were two marble staircases leading down to an auditorium, which had a white grand piano.

We walked through garden and patio areas and passed by several swimming pools to get to our room.

The room was very spacious with a full bathroom, corner shower and Jack and Jill sinks, beach towels, bath towels, bathrobes and a large selection of toiletries.

Adjacent to the bathroom was a fully fitted dressing room with full-length mirror and a safe (extra charge). Then a King size bed and sofa and chair and TV leading out to a balcony with a lovely garden view and wicker furniture.
The room was spotless, and on the first evening there was a turn down service and the maid folded your pj's and left Swiss chocolates on the bed.

But the best part was yet to come "THE FOOD GLORIOUS FOOD!!!!!" At breakfast there was an extensive menu, which ranged from smoked salmon, champagne to boiled eggs and cornflakes. There were freshly cooked omelette's, crepes and waffles plus there was the full fry up if you so wished. Freshly squeezed juices, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit. The list is endless and the quality was superb.

Dinner was an exceptional meal with an unbelievable choice of hot and cold food.

As well as the buffet there was a silver service. The chefs cooked steaks and fish and wok dishes fresh to your liking. As with breakfast the list is endless but you need to leave some room for the delicious desserts. Also there was an Italian restaurant called Ovo and you could book this 24 hours in advance. There was a set dinner which changed nightly.

There are six swimming pools and loads of sun beds.

There is an evening entertainment programme to cater for all tastes. There is a free internet cafe for residents. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and speak very good English.

All in all this was an exceptional holiday in a magnificent hotel and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

This was our second visit and we hope to return for a third time soon.

The Gran Hotel Villa del Conde is an unforgettable experience.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked separately on the internet

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: