Image of Villa Flamenca Hotel

Villa Flamenca Hotel

8 of 15 hotels in Nerja

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
3 stars
Calle de AndalucĂ­a, 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Built in Andalucian style, around a flower-filled patio with water fountain and tiled walls, the Villa Flamenca offers a warm welcome.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Not Specified
Friendly staff good food
6 years 1 month ago
This is a great value 3 star hotel for couples who want to use it a base. Provided you are prepared to accept the smaller than normal rounds and badly sound proofed walls this a great place to stay.

It is corrected graded as a 3 star so do not expect 4 star facilities. The one exception to this is food which really good (both buffet style breakfast and dinner) with the exception of he vegetables which are poor. The gala night on Fridays (included in the price) is fabulous.

We could not fault the staff although one bar person seemed on auto pilot and lacked any charm. It is situated in a quiet area about a 5 minute downhill walk to the beach (the uphill return is a tad strenuous). The old town with all the shops and Tapas bars is only a 13 minute stroll and the bus station is about a 7 minute easy walk. There is a Spa supermarket 2 minutes away. The swimming pool is fine as long as don't want to spend most of your holiday here.
Gill Forbush
9 years 2 months ago
Have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and to be really honest 1 week would have been enough.The hotel room was very small and the bathroom had a very tiny ammount of shelf space. The maids did do a good job in keeping it all clean but I only counted five of them at most as we were near their 'office'and watched them rolling their laundry carts past our balcony all the time, so they were quite stretched.
The food was rarely hot and of mediocre quality. The salad selection was very poor and items such as grated carrot and beetroot appeared to be out of a can!
My partner's biggest gripe was the breakfast, bacon was streaky and very tough and fried eggs he referred to as rubber squares. Scrambled eggs I could swear were powdered. The toast machine though, works!!!

Hotel location is iffy. Not really near the beach. Fifteen minutes down 'cardiac alley'(a phrase used by one of the the older guests). Boy was he right, going down is precipitous and returning is a pulse racer. Not for the unfit or elderlies. Town is a good 20 minutes away so you need comfortable shoes, but worth the effort. Not too touristy and locals were friendly and courteous.
Hotel staff were excellent and the manager is around all the time.
What entertainment we did see was good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Brian & Jean
10 years ago
a return visit for us [last went about 21/2 yrs ago
we found the property to be in good order well decorated, and clean, food heavily Anglicised but well prepared and presented, for a small hotel the entertainment was good, [perhaps not for the younger among you]this time of year attracts mainly 50+ we had the same room as last time in the old block, these have air conditioning in the summer [rooms in the new block have fans] and a large balcony attracting the sun from early morning to late afternoon [those in the new block either get no sun [road facing] or sun from mid morning to late evening in the summer]we found most of the staff friendly and helpfully, and would return next time we go to CDS
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Rachel
10 years 9 months ago
My husband and I stayed at the Villa Flamenca for one week on a half board basis. Lovely friendly staff although the rep is only interested in you if you book trips. We had a double room which had a lovely big balcony overlooking the pool.

There was a piano outside our room which is OK until someone plays it at one o'clock in the morning. All meals are buffet service and you sit where you like.

Breakfast was fine but we found some of the main courses at dinner a bit lukewarm. Plenty of choice and we only went out to eat once because we didn't like the look of anything. Gala dinner best meal of the week.

The beach is only a short walk down the hill but it is very steep. Overall a very good week but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Barry Sheppard
10 years 10 months ago
Excellent hotel.

Our room was a good size (including the bathroom), clean, tidy and well decorated. Pool, surrounding areas, reception and dining room were clean and bright. All the staff were very friendly and efficient.

Meals were good with plenty of choice, there was even a vegetarian menu.

Only hotel we have ever been to where the Hotel Manager introduced himself and members of the staff at the reps meeting. The free blanket trip is worth doing, no pressure to buy. The guide was brilliant, and we had 1.5 hours free time in Malaga.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mrs White
11 years 2 months ago
Our flight was early by 20 mins and we were left waiting for our coach transfer for an hour.

On arrival we were warmly greeted by receptionist. Our room was adequate although quite small but very clean meals were very good with plenty of choice.

About the third day of our holiday I changed some euros at reception and was short changed where the manager looked into the matter and was reimbursed two days later. Beach was lovely although coming back up the hill was torture.

Weather could have been better as it rained for three days solid out of seven all in all we had a lovely break but would not return to this hotel .

We thought Nerja itself was fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Jack Frimston
11 years 4 months ago
Well wasn't a great holiday was there for a week... When we arrived to get a coach we was waiting for nearly two hours on the coach and then when we finally got their the hotel had made a mistake a book a double bed when we asked for a single...

We arrived on Monday morning and half the day was wasted. Had a stroll down to the beach which is very down hill. Is not a slight incline is a hike!

On Tuesday we went to the meeting where we got a free drink... Orange. And the rep told us all about the trips they wern't very sellable but she shoved them down your throats we decided to book 3 trips and two of which were a disaster.

The entertainment on Tuesday night was Sasha and she was really good I thought fantastic voice great with all ages.

On Wednesday headed up to Granada which I thought was a good trip out and the Alhambra was a great site... Watch out for the tour guide though in her seventy's and doesn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
J DUNION
12 years ago
We found the hotel exactly what we were looking for, a quiet relaxing Christmas and New Year.

The food was on a par with most hotels we have visited and the rooms although small were quite adequate.

The entertainment was a bit repetitive although the Flamenco was brilliant.The hotel is not suitable for families simply because of its size and the surrounding area is very hilly.

But with a staff like this it has got to be a winner. Nothing is to much trouble for them and the manager is an absolute gentleman.We will certainly be back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
IJP
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel in general was very clean but being so busy i don't think it was possible for the hotel's public areas to be kept 100% clean all of the time.

The rooms weren't massive but they were big enough, maids came in everyday and the room was spotless by the time they left. The food was OK but improvement was possible but there wasn't actually anything physically wrong with the food and there was a reasonable selection.

The location was excellent it was only a 5-10 min walk from the beach but it took longer coming back up the hill. The hotel staff were good in calling a taxi for us on market day and the taxi arrived on time and only cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tomson

Recommended
Watson
12 years 3 months ago
Very pretty, snall Spanish style hotel.

All staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Plenty of choice of food, always being replenished so consequently always fresh and even if you go to the dining room 20 mins before it closes, there is always the full range of food available.

We had a room in the annex which was fully air conditioned, large room and big bathroom with huge corner bath and shower, vanity unit with basin with plenty of space in the cupboard underneath for toiletries, bidet and toilet. Very large mirror over the basin which was lit with spotlights which was great for putting on makeup! The bedroom had plenty of space for cases, etc and a double waredrobe with hanging space for long dresses and plenty of drawers. Also dressing table and mirror and a further area to hang up beach bags, etc. Large balcony with table and chairs overlooking the gardens, very pretty. Bed linen changed twice a week and towels changed daily.

Pool area very nice and reserving beds was not allowed, not that it was necessary as there was always plenty of beds available and you could also sit at a table and chairs by the pool as well. Bar prices were good, just a little bit dearer than bar prices in the town and happy hour was good with two drinks for the price of one. Entertainment was okay, but we usually walked into Nerja town during the evening.

Balcon de Europe is only 15 mins walk away and the other main beach (not the one down the steep hill) is about 20 mins walk. We met some very nice people there and would certainly stay there again. We have travelled all over the world and Villa Flamenca might not be the "best" hotel we have stayed in, but it is certainly one of the friendliest hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: