Image of Senegambia Beach Hotel

Senegambia Beach Hotel

2 of 5 hotels in Kololi

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
5 stars
Serrekunda, The Gambia

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 8 months ago
We stayed here by default. Our aircraft was delayed 48 hours and the tour company put us up here. I had visited a few times to explore the grounds and had already decided this wasn't the hotel for me. Two nights free of charge is a limited experience but enough to persuade me i was indeed better of in the 3* Sunset Beach, even had the price not been 30% less.
The buffet breakfast and dinner were acceptable but not as good as the Sunset, at the latter you casn have breakfast overlooking the beach, at the Senegambia the novelty of having cats, dogs, monkeys and Cattle Egrets sharing your dining experience soon fades. You daren't leave your table unattended for fear of the food being stolen ! A monkey urinated all over the chair next to my wife. Charming !
The bar area is depressing, the drinks expensive but the hotel is well placed to escape to the Senegambia strip but that too is not to my taste as it's rather tacky IMO.
We had two different rooms for our stay, neither one did we enjoy.One smelt damp and the walls were actually painted breeze block with a straw finish. It was like being in a stable.
I have to say though, the staff were superb.
All in all this short visit did absolutely nothing to want to book an holiday there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Dawn Clelland
9 years ago
what a hotel staff great rooms very clean everyone is very happy ,they cant do enough for you best holiday ive ever had
try and go out with the locals to see some sights its great and cheaper than the reps trips we went with ali from the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomascook

Recommended
D Roughley
9 years ago
We stayed in the Senegambia Hotel for 1 week in November 2008. We enjoyed it so much, we're going back December 2009. For days out try the Gambia Official Tour Guides, opposite the Hotel. Our guide Stephen was extremely friendly and took us to see sites you wont normally see on the coach trips.
.We dined in the hotel a couple of nights and for the price the food was of an acceptable standard with a good choice from the Buffett. There was always a good choice for Breakfast.
We are looking forward to our return visit in a couple of weeks.
The morning walk to the hotel pool and beach through the large grounds is very pleasant. No problem with sun beds as the staff bring you one as soon as you arrive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
MR & MRS ABEL
9 years 11 months ago
Fist impressions when we arrived at The Senagambia Hotel were very good. Our room was in the gardens and it was a long way from the main hotel. We asked if we could move as my husband suffers with his knee and they were quite happy to move us. The room was clean and basic. The beds were made and towels changed daily. I did feel like doing a bit of dusting though.
Tv signal was not very good.

Woke up next morning to the sound of thunder, well we thought it was thunder, turned out to be monkeys on the roof. We were amazed. They come in the morning around 7.30am and pretty much stay all day which we loved. It might not be everyones cup of tea. They just play and muck around all day which was brilliant to see. We walked into an unused room in the hotel one day and it was like walking into the film `Jumangi`. They were jumping all over the tables and chairs and just ignored us when we sat watching.

The hotel is also surrounded by jultures circling and perching on palm trees. They get fed at 11.30am so they gather early. Once they are fed a water hose is turned on, they bathe then spread their wings to dry.

If this sort of thing does not apeal to you the grounds are so big you can avoid it. There are two pools. The one is where the monkeys hang around, there are plenty of beds. It was a bit cold when you first get in but ok after. I did feel a bit of heat coming in the one day so I think it is heated slightly.

The other pool is near the beach, lovely pool and no monkeys. Most families used that one.

As the hotel was built some years ago there are lots of trees so if you dont want a tan it was very cool in the shade. Even though the temperature was around 32 degrees it did not drain you like some hot countries can.

We found the food in the hotel very nice.

New Years Eve they set up tables and chairs in the gardens. A band played, lovely meal,dance floor, fantastic fireworks and a bonfire on the beach.

Ask one of the groundsmen to show you where the bats sleep in the day.

The entertainment was good. Typical African shows.

Can not wait to go back to Gambia. We would definatly use this hotel again. The kairaba Hotel next door looked lovely too but we were told it was hard to get a sunbed.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Alan Finch
10 years 1 month ago
We arrived in Gambia on 5th Oct 07 after an
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Edward Freeston
10 years 8 months ago
in 2007 i visited with my parents mr and mrs freeston. we had a lovely time but the year after that we decided to go to the Karaiba insted, although it costs a little more, you can barter down the price if you book last minute. it is well worth the extra money and the people are great fun and enjoyable to be arround, i love the rooms and the beds are so comfortabe,
although the senegambia beach hotel is great it is well worth going to the kariaba! every morning you have a bufet breakfast at the karaiba consisting of pancakes smoked salmon! and countless othe choices and compillations of meals! there is also afternoon tea and coffee! the childrens games board showing upcoming events is appauling at the senegambia beach hotel because they say for instance "sand castle competition" but it never happens, this is called "gambian maybe time"! whereas the events board at the karaiba is updated daily and is always ontime! i think that you will enjoy your stay, and if you are 14 like me! you will enjoy your stay even more!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: asterius

Recommended
Riley
10 years 9 months ago
Cannot fault the hotel or the staff, nothing too much trouble for any of them.

The rooms were basic but cleaned every day. Beds king size and comfortable too.
Gardens were beautiful, lots of birds, vultures fed every morning at 11.30.

New pool on beach is lovely, other pool very quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast was really good, great selection no problems.
Rooms all had TV and fridges in, great for cold drinks as it was really hot while we were there. Rooms also had fans and air-con.

We will definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jane Williams
11 years ago
We had a fantastic holiday here. Rooms basic but very clean. Maid in every day. Monkeys and very large Iguanas roam round the hotel and there are some very colourful birds.

The staff were excellent. We went horse riding along the beach which was fantastic. You do get hassled a bit once your out side the hotel but they leave you alone once you say no. We had a guide called Dave(real name Osman) who took us into the real part of Gambia and to a Gambian rasta bar which was an eye opener.

If you go to the end of the senegambia strip and cross
the road to where the welcome to Gambia fountain is there is like an open air market. Get one of the guides
to take you down the road to the real Gambia.

Our guide was with us for four hours and charged us four pounds.

Its a fantastic experience not to be missed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Victoria And Richard
11 years 7 months ago
My partner and I stayed at the Senegambia beach hotel, Kololi, early April 2006.

We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we entered the hotel grounds. We stayed on a half board basis and found the food and service excellent. Our room was basic but more than adequate, with comfortable twin beds and plenty of storage, and was well cleaned daily. We paid for a safety deposit box for which a card could be obtained in the reception area.

The hotel was excellently located within walking distance to bars and restaurants and a small supermarket located just outside of the hotel gates, far better located than other hotels seen on transfers to and from the airport.

The hotel staff were excellent, the most hospitable people I have ever met, it would take to long to list all there outstanding qualities. The pool guys were ace loads of sunbeds, Balla had to be my favourite he even gave me a leaving present.

The hotel entertainment team were new and just finding there feet but still managed to do an excellent job.

The trips that are available are a must do, we visited 2 villages and St James island on one trip, the children are so sweet the people are very poor but very happy. If you have spare room in your suitcases take a few cheap pencils and crayons for the children, they'll love you forever.
You get hassled by the bumpsters(street traders) but don't feel intimidated just smile and say no to them.

We loved the holiday and will definitely go back people say you either love or hate Africa we LOVE IT.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Sue McCormick
12 years 9 months ago
My 3 female friends and I stayed here on a half board basis and the food was fab. Plenty of choice and well presented. The hotel was very clean as were are rooms which were cleaned daily with clean sheets and towels.

The location of the hotel is great, right on the beach and also on a stretch of road with supermarkets and restaurants.

The hotel staff were great. They went out of there way to make your stay as enjoyable possible.
Entertainment was fine mainly consisting of the hotels entertainment team but very good.

We would defenitly visit this hotel again and already looking at going back next year with our families.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in Kololi