Jewel of the Seas
Ranked #38 of 133 cruise ships

This new ship offers a lively cruise experience in a wide range of bright and cheerful public rooms including the Viking Crown lounge high amidships. Half the external structure is glass. It features a nine deck high atrium with glass lifts. Passengers on the Jewel of the Seas tend to be all ages and mostly American but more Brits/Europeans in Europe. When all cabins have double occupancy, the ship provides a space ratio of 42.9 tons per passenger and a crew to passenger ratio of one for every 2.4 passengers. At full capacity the space ratio is 26.8 tons per passenger and the crew ratio is one to 3.9 passengers.
4/5
Jewel of the Seas Jewel of the Seas is rated 4 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
89% of users recommend this cruise ship
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment  stars
Food 4 stars
Staff 4 stars

Jewel of the Seas Reviews

5/5
5

Dee cruised on June 2011
We have just arrived back from the Baltic cruise. In general the ship was beautiful and all the public areas were extremely well maintained. The staff could not be faulted and the entertainment was varied and excellent, with talented comedians and other acts brought in. We were a little disappointed with the quality of the singers on the entertainment staff although the shows were very well staged and the dancers were excellent.
The choice and quality of excursions was again excellent,although we discovered that it is best not to book a \"Panoramic\" excursion if you are able bodied, as there were many wheelchair users and infirm elderly folk who, through no ...
fault of their own, restricted the amount of sightseeing off the bus.
In most ports of call there are excursions specifically designed to cater for less able bodied passengers.
Our only real gripes are the size of the cabins and in particular the bathrooms, and the behaviour of some passengers. We had a balcony cabin on deck 9, but found the accommodation cramped. We are not large people but there were very many passengers who were very large indeed ( and that\'s being polite!)and we couldn\'t help wondering if some of them actually managed to fit in the tiny shower cubicle.
As for the behaviour of passengers we were horrified to observe the lengths some people will go to to avoid using the antiseptic hand gel which is for the protection of all. Unbelievable!
But all in all, a great holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: Reader Offers

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

D. Wallace (Dee) cruised on June 2011
Just returned from 12 day Baltic cruise on Jewel of the Seas. The ship was beautiful and the staff could not be faulted - always smiling and helpful. The choice of excursions was extensive and the guides in each port excellent. One word of caution: avoid the \"Panoramic\" excursions if you\'re able bodied!

The entertainment on board was varied, and the visiting acts were excellent. The shows put on by the Royal Caribbean singers and dancers were extremely well staged and the dancers were very good, but the singers were not quite up to scratch in our opinion.

We had a balcony cabin on deck 9 which we found cramped in comparison ...
with other ships we have sailed on, particularly the bathroom. The shower cubicle was tiny. We are quite small people and couldn\'t help wondering how the many VERY large people on the ship managed!

I have to say we were horrified to observe how often some people tried to avoid using the antiseptic hand gel. When sitting in the Windjammer restaurant on one occasion the staff member manning the gel dispensers was called away by a colleague for about five minutes and in that time not one person entering the restaurant used the gel. We also saw people entering on the edge of a group to avoid it. WHY???

We had a great holiday and would sail on this ship again, but would probably go for a suite next time.

Read More

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

terry hodges cruised on April 2011
great holiday the jewel was fantastic good staff brilliant ship great food very clean spotless love to go again soon

Tour Operator: kent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Helen cruised on December 2010
WOW! We could not have wished for anything better- the cruise was fantastic! There was so many places onboard the ship you could go, it was fourtunately never too crowded anywhere. The food was delicious, also the speciality resturants were there for a special occasion.
I would definately go on one of the Royal Caribbean cruise ships again!!

Tour Operator: Virgin Atlantic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

redmond cruised on August 2010
Sailed on 11/08/2010 We parked at Jewel of the seas car park in Harwich, which was so easy and quick. we had a inside cabin for 4, which was spotless, The food was lovely, with an excellent choice at both the windjammer and Tides. The two speciality restaurants were both worth a visit. Waiting staff were friendly and always had smiles. The shows were varied and professional although not always our cup of tea. We had a ten year old who joined the childrens club who loved winning the medals, and a 15 year old son who joined the teenagers group, who we ...
never saw as he was hanging out with his new friends all the time. Incidently we never saw them around the ship either, so were of no bother to other passengers, but when asked what he had been doing it was \"Oh nothing really\".
Trips are a bit on the pricey side, but no more than other ships (this is our 3rd cruise). We did our own thing other than in St Petersburg.
Would certainly sail on this ship again.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

2/5
2

Angela Stanton cruised on June 2010
Our first time with RCS and probably our last. The ship was grubby and had had the novovirus on the cruise previous to ours. The food was non descript and sometimes unadible in the Windjammer. The cost of drinks was exhorbitant - 22 dollars for a small glass of Merlot or 80 dollars a bottle. Shuttle bus up to 9 dollars per person each way for a 15 minute bus ride. No drink allowed in you cabin. No tea or coffee making facilities in your cabin. We had an 8.30pm sitting for dinner and as most of the shows were on at 7 pm, ...
too early for us, we found little to do in the evening if you did not want to listen to music. Very few activities during the day. The ship seemed crowded and you had to queue a lot. The Thirst Quencher areas for tea or coffees was slipshod and the staff in the Windjammer stood around talking while tables were left with dirty crockery on them. We watched on member of staff attempt to clean a table that had a dirty plate on it. Rather than remove the plate he cleaned round it and then walked off and left it there!! I could go on but enough said I feel. We have cruised many times before and have just returned from a P & O Round the World cruise on the Arcadia. After 95 days we could have turned the ship round and done it all again - after 12 days on the Jewel of the Seas we were glad to get off.
!

Read More

Tour Operator: Cumbris Cruises
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Miles cruised on May 2010
Could not fault this ship. All the Crew we had contact with were excellent and very helpful. Our only criticism really was the \"tipping\", whilst we were happy with everything I feel strongly that it should be a personal choice to tip or not, and how much you give to who not a \"suggested amount\".
The trips we did were well organised, although mostly we went around on our own, using the various \"hop on, hop off\" buses that are normally available.
Evening entertainment was not always of our liking but with 2000 people to cater for there has to be something for all tastes, ...
but they were very professional, and Clo the Cruise Director had a fantastic quick wit and sense of humour. Food again was always wonderful, I think there was only one evening that there was only one dish on the main course menu that I found I liked most ingredients without having the steak or roast chicken that was always available. Overall we have no major complaints and will choose Royal Caribbean again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Readers offers

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

Sara cruised on May 2010
We had an inside cabin No 4557 on deck 4. This is very near the Centrum and can be noisy if you don\'t want to stay up until the music finishes. The bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality. Shower room is very tiny and unlike other cruise companies they only provide small bars of soap and no luxuries.
We thought the food was not as good as on Princess ships but still enjoyable.
This was a Baltic cruise visiting Denmark, Sweden, Finland, St Petersburg and Tallin. Somewhere around the Sweden visit people started going down with sickness and diarrhoea. Despite new controls in the Windjammer buffet it quickly ...
went round the passengers and I felt the Captain put the blame on the passengers saying it was all down to hand washing! As if we were all a dirty unhygienic crowd. If you became ill and reported it, you had to stay confined in your cabin for 48 hours and live off meagre rations served in your cabin. Room service couldn\'t cope with the number of passengers being confined.So I don\'t know how to rate cleanliness, it all seemed clean but obviously something was wrong. I wouldn\'t say \"don\'t travel on this ship\" but we wouldn\'t as we don\'t do a repeat of our holidays.
The disembarkation was very well organised.

Read More

Tour Operator: Jetline Cruises

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

mark cruised on August 2009
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING THE SHIP THE ITINERARY WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD BEEN ON THE ORIANA AND THIS WAS NOT A PATCH ON THE JEWEL ENTERTAINMENT ON THE JEWEL WAS WESTEND QUALITY ORIANA WAS BUTLINS IN NOVEMBER..HAVE ALSO SAILED ON MSC BUT ROYAL CARRIBEAN IS BY FAR THE SUPERIOR.WE WERE FED UP WITH THE SAME OLD BEACH RESORTS AND FANCIED SOMETHING DIFFERENT,BOY DID WE GET IT.TOTALLY FABULOUS WEATHER WAS IN THE LATE 70\'S SO WE DID GET A TAN.WE WOULD DEFINATLEY GO BACK AND ON THE JEWEL..PRICES ON SHIP WERE SAME AS U.K SO WE WERE HAPPY MOST PEOPLE EXPECT CHEAPER PRICES JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE ON HOLIDAY BUT THOSE DAYS ARE LONG GONE..PINT LAGER WAS 3.50 UNLIMITED COKE LEMONADE ORANGE WAS 25.00 FOR THE WHOLE HOLIDAY..PO WAS 20.00 FOR 20 DRINKS OF COKE\'\'\'\'\'\'

Tour Operator: royal carribean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

keith gardner cruised on July 2009
OUR FIRST EVER CRUISE, WE HAVE BEEN EVERYWHERE BUT NOT ON A CRUISE , WE CHOSE THE BALTIC 12 NTS ON THE JEWEL, WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANY THING LIKE THIS EVER. ABSOLUTELEY FABULOUS, OUR FIRST 6 STAR HOTEL ON THE SEA. NOTHING TO FAULT , WINE PACKAGES EXPENSIVE YES. BUY IN U.K . STATEROOM IMMACULATE. SERVICE ABOVE EXPECTATIONS, FOOD TO MUCH TOO CHOOSE FROM , FINE DINING AS ...
IT SAYS FINE, SHOWS WELL WORTH WATCHING, STAFF ABSOLUTELEY FIRST CLASS.
WE WERE GOING TO REFUSE TO GET OFF AT THE END, BUT SOMEONE MIGHT NOTICE , SO WITHIN ONE DAY OF RETURNING HOME WE HAVE DONE AWAY WITH CONVENTIONAL HOLIDAYS , AND HAVE BOOKED TWO MORE CRUISES , ONE IN 2010 , DUBAI ARABIAN ADVENTURE AND ONE IN 2011 YES 2011 EXOTIC CARIBBEAN WHO WITH , THE ROYAL CARIBBEAN WHO ELSE ?

Read More

Tour Operator: ROYAL CARIBBEAN

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Julie Gardner cruised on July 2009
The best holiday we have ever had in our entire lives!It was on our first ever cruise on a 6 star floating hotel.We chose the baltic 12nt cruise onboard the amazing Jewel of the seas.I had the best ever time onboard the time you was never bored! Joff Eaton the cruise Director was so funny and made it fun for all ages onboard. At the end of the cruise onboard this outstanding ship nobody on the ship wanted to get off. Everbody had an Experience of a life time!

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean International

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

James Morrow cruised on May 2009
Our cruise was on the whole a good experience with a number of positive points.
The accommodation on deck 8 with a balcony was very good, with good use of space. The room was very clean and the staff were helpful and courteous. The air conditioning and heating was a good system and comfortable. The 24 hour room service was good and there was no charge for this service. The ship is very impressive and beautiful.
The Windjammer Café has a good selection of food. We used it mainly for breakfast and lunch, however it was very busy (a bit too crowded)and disorganised, we had to find our own table as ...
the staff were mainly clearing tables, although the staff were pleasant.
The Library was barely existent, very small and catered mainly for American tastes; we would recommend you take your own books on Royal Caribbean Ships.
Of the main dining the Tide restaurant was of reasonable quality, although often the meals lacked flavour and some meals were not cooked properly. The coffee was also poor in taste; not fine dining We had two very good waiters who were very efficient and helpful.
The main show of the evening was very good most times, although we felt the overuse of strobe and pyrotechnic lighting made the pleasure of watching the acts uncomfortable.
There was too much emphasis on shopping and not enough information on the ports of call with places to see. As for the map provided for going off ship; we found them useless. We would recommend you take your own maps of ports of call.
We felt that the cruise lacked entertaining and informative lectures, although there were events going on during the day but were not to our taste.
One point to note, beware of the hidden charges, i.e. shuttle bus to the city centres.

Read More

Tour Operator: Royal Carribean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Angela cruised on April 2009
This is my third time with Royal Caribbean, everything was excellent. Highly recommend the Panama Canal cruise. Entertainment on board was the best.

Tour Operator: RCI

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

3/5
3

M Newman cruised on October 2007
Royal Caribbean Block Bookings.
My husband and I boarded the Jewel of the seas for a 6 night W/Caribbean cruise on the 25th November 2007 and got a shock when we discovered there was a block booking on this cruise by the \"Pied Piper\" of approx 900 members. This is approx half of the ships passengers.

The \"Pied Piper Group\" are same sex couples predominantly male gentlemen aged between 45 to 75.

Such a large group of people do not blend-in well on board a ship. Public areas become over crowded because as you would expect the group members congregate on mass and and overwhelm the other passengers.

Since our return we have ...
made enquires and been told by Royal Caribbean that the \"Pied Piper\" are regular customers on many of thier ships so our encounter was by no means unusual.

The most alarming point is that Royal Caribbean say that block bookings of this number and even larger numbers are not unusual, and that, thier Company Policy is not to inform thier customers of large block bookings in advance.

We would not have booked that week on that ship if we had been aware of a block booking of this number.

So beware if you choose to book with Royal Caribbean, it would be a good idea to ask about block bookings in advance or who knows what you may encounter.

Once your board it\'s too late, they have your money and if you encounter a large group travelling together as we did, you will be made to feel like a second-class citizen but you wull have paid a high price for the experience.

Read More

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Karen Cliff cruised on February 2007
Cruised in February 2007 to Eastern Caribbean -Everything about this ship was fantastic from the staff to the design, lighting and general atmosphere. The staff were truly fantastic wanted to take a couple home with us ! Nothing was too much trouble and everyone seemed to be smiling all the time. Our waiter at dinner made meals a really pleasant experience and they work very hard the show put on by the waiters one night was really brilliant.It was my first cruise and wasnt too sure what to expect but it more than met my expectations and that of all our party. At times you hardly knew you were on ...
a ship it was that smooth which apparently has something to do with engine design which is one of only 12 ships on the seas with that design which we learnt from the captain during his welcome speech. Went with Princess cruises last year on Emerald Princess and although a brand new ship it did not come close to RCI\'s Jewel of the Seas - just wish the Jewel did the Med as we would all happily book another if she did although we may be tempted to do the Caribbean again at some point in the future.

Read More

Tour Operator: Save N Sail

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

David Chittil cruised on January 2007
We have just got back from a 8 night Caribbean Cruise, visiting Puerto Rico, St Maarten, Antigua, St Thomas and Nassau - Bahamas.
Having cruised with Royal Caribbean before (7 night Med cruise on Brilliance of the Seas) we knew what to expect from the ship and we were not disappointed. The cleanliness of the ship is first class as is the food and crew.
Our stateroom was always kept spotless by Floydd our stateroom attendant, he made fantastic animals out of towels that sat on our bed each night when we returned to our stateroom. The only small problem we had is that our toilet would not ...
flush a couple of times but Floydd was on the case in quick time.
Our meals in Tides each night were fantastic all meals were cooked to perfection exactly how you order them. Our waiter was Bruno from India and nothing was too much trouble for him he always had a smile on his face and provided us with information about our next port of call and times of arrival and departure.
The crew in the bars are very hard working and always ready for a chat, Odo from Uragauy was great fun as was Florin from Romania with his \"Yummy Yummy\" cocktails.
The entertaimant in the Coral Theatre was ok, as the ship had mostly American passengers on board their taste was catered for and the artists they had performing we had never heard of and were not that great, but the shows the ships performers put on were fantastic.
We were at sea for 2 days but found plenty to do with rock climbing,mini golf, cinema, mini golf, flumes,swimming,spa, to name just a few.
One tip I would give is if you are planning on buying items like cameras, IPODs, PSP, camcorders, do not buy in the Caribbean even though they are a lot cheaper than the UK they are cheaper in Miami.
A fantastic cruise from a great cruise line I would not hesitate to cruise with them again and I am in fact looking to cruise with them in 2008.
Make sure you join the Crown and Anchor society, this was our 2nd cruise with Royal Caribbean and we got some great gifts in our room.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cruisein

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Peter Russell cruised on August 2006
Just returned from a Baltics cruise on the Jewel. I used to work on cruise ships so I know good from bad when I see it and I have to say this is the most sensational ship I have ever seen or sailed on. The vessel design and facilities were outstanding, the crew bent over backwards to be helpful and the \'animals made from towels\' that adorned our bed most evenings and the \'mental puzzles\' set by our waiter during coffee after dinner just added to the fun. My wife is generally a terrible sailor but the vessel was so stable, even in slightly choppy seas on the last day that she survived with no problems whatsoever!

Tour Operator: Royal Carribean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

Raymor cruised on June 2005
We did the Baltic cruise and thoroughly enjoyed it. The ship is beautiful, decor, cleanliness, service etc, but a little too big for our liking! Deck space is more than adequate - tho\' temperatures in the Baltic in June were not particularly conducive to lounging round the pool - in fact only 1 day out of the 12 was warm enough for this! The \"covered\" pool was always crowded because of this!
Being \"Brits\" we were definitely in the minority on this ship - it was a veritable \"League of Nations\" with a dominance of Americans, but also Canadian, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, German,Spanish, South American, ...
- and even a group of Gibraltarians! We reckon the Brits, much to our surprise with a Harwich departure, were only about 15% of the passenger list!
Also, as the principal currency on board was the US$ we always had to take a \"double whamee\" on rates of exchange for ports of call - English £ to US$ to whichever currency was required. We felt we lost out on this every time! Even the cash machine on board was in US$.
The organised trips were quite pricey and we did our own thing in Oslo, Copenhagen, Stockholm, Helsinki and Tallinn (very easy!) and only took tours in St Petersburg because of the Visa situation (they were, however, well worth the money.
Our criticism of the entertainment was that it was very \"American\" orientated and not our style.
From the point of view of \"ambiance\" of the ship, decor, facilities, ports of call etc we would have no problems with sailing on her again, or on any of her sister ships - but they just seem to be getting bigger!!! Is this a good thing?

Read More

Tour Operator: RCI

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

robinson cruised on May 2005
The ship was absolutely fabulous, food excellent, entertainment excellent, staff great. The only thing that I could say I didn\'t like was the in your face with the gratuities, from day one to day twelve, on the TV, over the tannoy all the time.

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars
Share