Image of Jewel of the Seas

Jewel of the Seas

11 of 19 Royal Caribbean International ships

This new ship offers a lively cruise experience in a wide range of bright and cheerful public rooms including the Viking Crown lounge high amidships. Half the external structure is glass. It features a nine deck high atrium with glass lifts. Passengers on the Jewel of the Seas tend to be all ages and mostly American but more Brits/Europeans in Europe. When all cabins have double occupancy, the ship provides a space ratio of 42.9 tons per passenger and a crew to passenger ratio of one for every 2.4 passengers. At full capacity the space ratio is 26.8 tons per passenger and the crew ratio is one to 3.9 passengers.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
Dee
4 years 10 months ago
We have just arrived back from the Baltic cruise. In general the ship was beautiful and all the public areas were extremely well maintained. The staff could not be faulted and the entertainment was varied and excellent, with talented comedians and other acts brought in. We were a little disappointed with the quality of the singers on the entertainment staff although the shows were very well staged and the dancers were excellent.
The choice and quality of excursions was again excellent,although we discovered that it is best not to book a "Panoramic" excursion if you are able bodied, as there were many wheelchair users and infirm elderly folk who, through no fault of their own, restricted the amount of sightseeing off the bus.
In most ports of call there are excursions specifically designed to cater for less able bodied passengers.
Our only real gripes are the size of the cabins and in particular the bathrooms, and the behaviour of some passengers. We had a balcony cabin on deck 9, but found the accommodation cramped. We are not large people but there were very many passengers who were very large indeed ( and that's being polite!)and we couldn't help wondering if some of them actually managed to fit in the tiny shower cubicle.
As for the behaviour of passengers we were horrified to observe the lengths some people will go to to avoid using the antiseptic hand gel which is for the protection of all. Unbelievable!
But all in all, a great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
D. Wallace (Dee)
4 years 10 months ago
Just returned from 12 day Baltic cruise on Jewel of the Seas. The ship was beautiful and the staff could not be faulted - always smiling and helpful. The choice of excursions was extensive and the guides in each port excellent. One word of caution: avoid the "Panoramic" excursions if you're able bodied!

The entertainment on board was varied, and the visiting acts were excellent. The shows put on by the Royal Caribbean singers and dancers were extremely well staged and the dancers were very good, but the singers were not quite up to scratch in our opinion.

We had a balcony cabin on deck 9 which we found cramped in comparison with other ships we have sailed on, particularly the bathroom. The shower cubicle was tiny. We are quite small people and couldn't help wondering how the many VERY large people on the ship managed!

I have to say we were horrified to observe how often some people tried to avoid using the antiseptic hand gel. When sitting in the Windjammer restaurant on one occasion the staff member manning the gel dispensers was called away by a colleague for about five minutes and in that time not one person entering the restaurant used the gel. We also saw people entering on the edge of a group to avoid it. WHY???

We had a great holiday and would sail on this ship again, but would probably go for a suite next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Terry Hodges
5 years ago
great holiday the jewel was fantastic good staff brilliant ship great food very clean spotless love to go again soon
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Helen
5 years 4 months ago
WOW! We could not have wished for anything better- the cruise was fantastic! There was so many places onboard the ship you could go, it was fourtunately never too crowded anywhere. The food was delicious, also the speciality resturants were there for a special occasion.
I would definately go on one of the Royal Caribbean cruise ships again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Redmond
5 years 8 months ago
Sailed on 11/08/2010 We parked at Jewel of the seas car park in Harwich, which was so easy and quick. we had a inside cabin for 4, which was spotless, The food was lovely, with an excellent choice at both the windjammer and Tides. The two speciality restaurants were both worth a visit. Waiting staff were friendly and always had smiles. The shows were varied and professional although not always our cup of tea. We had a ten year old who joined the childrens club who loved winning the medals, and a 15 year old son who joined the teenagers group, who we never saw as he was hanging out with his new friends all the time. Incidently we never saw them around the ship either, so were of no bother to other passengers, but when asked what he had been doing it was "Oh nothing really".
Trips are a bit on the pricey side, but no more than other ships (this is our 3rd cruise). We did our own thing other than in St Petersburg.
Would certainly sail on this ship again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Angela Stanton
5 years 10 months ago
Our first time with RCS and probably our last. The ship was grubby and had had the novovirus on the cruise previous to ours. The food was non descript and sometimes unadible in the Windjammer. The cost of drinks was exhorbitant - 22 dollars for a small glass of Merlot or 80 dollars a bottle. Shuttle bus up to 9 dollars per person each way for a 15 minute bus ride. No drink allowed in you cabin. No tea or coffee making facilities in your cabin. We had an 8.30pm sitting for dinner and as most of the shows were on at 7 pm, too early for us, we found little to do in the evening if you did not want to listen to music. Very few activities during the day. The ship seemed crowded and you had to queue a lot. The Thirst Quencher areas for tea or coffees was slipshod and the staff in the Windjammer stood around talking while tables were left with dirty crockery on them. We watched on member of staff attempt to clean a table that had a dirty plate on it. Rather than remove the plate he cleaned round it and then walked off and left it there!! I could go on but enough said I feel. We have cruised many times before and have just returned from a P & O Round the World cruise on the Arcadia. After 95 days we could have turned the ship round and done it all again - after 12 days on the Jewel of the Seas we were glad to get off.
!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Miles
5 years 11 months ago
Could not fault this ship. All the Crew we had contact with were excellent and very helpful. Our only criticism really was the "tipping", whilst we were happy with everything I feel strongly that it should be a personal choice to tip or not, and how much you give to who not a "suggested amount".
The trips we did were well organised, although mostly we went around on our own, using the various "hop on, hop off" buses that are normally available.
Evening entertainment was not always of our liking but with 2000 people to cater for there has to be something for all tastes, but they were very professional, and Clo the Cruise Director had a fantastic quick wit and sense of humour. Food again was always wonderful, I think there was only one evening that there was only one dish on the main course menu that I found I liked most ingredients without having the steak or roast chicken that was always available. Overall we have no major complaints and will choose Royal Caribbean again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sara
5 years 11 months ago
We had an inside cabin No 4557 on deck 4. This is very near the Centrum and can be noisy if you don't want to stay up until the music finishes. The bed was very comfortable and the linen excellent quality. Shower room is very tiny and unlike other cruise companies they only provide small bars of soap and no luxuries.
We thought the food was not as good as on Princess ships but still enjoyable.
This was a Baltic cruise visiting Denmark, Sweden, Finland, St Petersburg and Tallin. Somewhere around the Sweden visit people started going down with sickness and diarrhoea. Despite new controls in the Windjammer buffet it quickly went round the passengers and I felt the Captain put the blame on the passengers saying it was all down to hand washing! As if we were all a dirty unhygienic crowd. If you became ill and reported it, you had to stay confined in your cabin for 48 hours and live off meagre rations served in your cabin. Room service couldn't cope with the number of passengers being confined.So I don't know how to rate cleanliness, it all seemed clean but obviously something was wrong. I wouldn't say "don't travel on this ship" but we wouldn't as we don't do a repeat of our holidays.
The disembarkation was very well organised.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mark
6 years 8 months ago
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING THE SHIP THE ITINERARY WAS OUT OF THIS WORLD BEEN ON THE ORIANA AND THIS WAS NOT A PATCH ON THE JEWEL ENTERTAINMENT ON THE JEWEL WAS WESTEND QUALITY ORIANA WAS BUTLINS IN NOVEMBER..HAVE ALSO SAILED ON MSC BUT ROYAL CARRIBEAN IS BY FAR THE SUPERIOR.WE WERE FED UP WITH THE SAME OLD BEACH RESORTS AND FANCIED SOMETHING DIFFERENT,BOY DID WE GET IT.TOTALLY FABULOUS WEATHER WAS IN THE LATE 70'S SO WE DID GET A TAN.WE WOULD DEFINATLEY GO BACK AND ON THE JEWEL..PRICES ON SHIP WERE SAME AS U.K SO WE WERE HAPPY MOST PEOPLE EXPECT CHEAPER PRICES JUST BECAUSE THEY ARE ON HOLIDAY BUT THOSE DAYS ARE LONG GONE..PINT LAGER WAS 3.50 UNLIMITED COKE LEMONADE ORANGE WAS 25.00 FOR THE WHOLE HOLIDAY..PO WAS 20.00 FOR 20 DRINKS OF COKE''''''
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Keith Gardner
6 years 9 months ago
OUR FIRST EVER CRUISE, WE HAVE BEEN EVERYWHERE BUT NOT ON A CRUISE , WE CHOSE THE BALTIC 12 NTS ON THE JEWEL, WE HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANY THING LIKE THIS EVER. ABSOLUTELEY FABULOUS, OUR FIRST 6 STAR HOTEL ON THE SEA. NOTHING TO FAULT , WINE PACKAGES EXPENSIVE YES. BUY IN U.K . STATEROOM IMMACULATE. SERVICE ABOVE EXPECTATIONS, FOOD TO MUCH TOO CHOOSE FROM , FINE DINING AS IT SAYS FINE, SHOWS WELL WORTH WATCHING, STAFF ABSOLUTELEY FIRST CLASS.
WE WERE GOING TO REFUSE TO GET OFF AT THE END, BUT SOMEONE MIGHT NOTICE , SO WITHIN ONE DAY OF RETURNING HOME WE HAVE DONE AWAY WITH CONVENTIONAL HOLIDAYS , AND HAVE BOOKED TWO MORE CRUISES , ONE IN 2010 , DUBAI ARABIAN ADVENTURE AND ONE IN 2011 YES 2011 EXOTIC CARIBBEAN WHO WITH , THE ROYAL CARIBBEAN WHO ELSE ?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question