America/Canada Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in America and Canada
I always call and confirm that I will be onboard. It's habit by now. I don't think it has anything to do with the TSA- I've been doing it as long as I can remember. The one time I forgot was for a flight from UK to the USA and nothing happened.
Occasionally the flight times change too. This happened to my parents when flying LAX to LHR. The flight was moved by a couple of hours (I forget the reason).
Ooh, I didn't know you were supposed to. We didn't confirm our return flights from New York in May and all was OK when we got to Newark - we just used the self service check-in
I have been flying with Lufthansa 1-2 times per year for the last 30 years and haven't had to confirma flight for over 20 years now.. I am booked with them to fly to New York next year and my booking email doesn't say anything about confirming though I do check on the Internet a few days before flights to see if there are any changes, departure times on International scheduled airlines rarely have any substantial last minute changes. I flew round the world a couple of years ago with meant using four different airlines and didn't need to confirm any of the flights. Charter companies often change flight times though so it is worth confirming their flights if requested to. Some Far Eastern carriers request confirmation (can't think of the names though) as they have long standyby lists and may give the seat away if it isn't confirmed. But with Lufthansa you don't have a problem.
But the original post states that she has rec'd an email from Lufthansa requesting confirmation be done...... I would follow those instructions and then ask for details once you get to check-in.