Flight Only / Airline and Airports

Discussions relating to flight only, airlines and airports.
SAGA airlines
45 Posts
raymondj40,

I've no personal experience with them, but from all accounts, they are just your average charter airline and on a level with Onur Air. Where are you flying from? I believe some passengers originally booked with Viking are now with this carrier from certain airports. Their flight from Manchester (SGX6201/2) the other week was subbed out to Amsterdam Airlines (Airbus A320-200) and Viking (737-800) last week! You'll find company details on SAGA Airlines website.

Darren
Darren, we are flying from Aberdeen, and I think we are landing at either Glasgow or Edinburgh to take on a full load of fuel(since the Aberdeen runway has not been extended yet...) and probably to pick up passengers as well. We flew to Dalaman from Aberdeen 2 years ago with another Turkish airline and did the same regarding fuel and passengers, and had no problems or complaints about their aircraft or service. Just curious to see if anyone had flown with SAGA to try and get a heads up on what to expect
RJ
raymondj40,

Have you got your flight numbers yet - SGX7102/1? I believe your flights are operated by their new Boeing 737-800; TC-SGH (chartered by Scot Travel). They'll have 189 seat onboard configured 3-3 with 28/29" seat pitch but if they have the slimline Recaro seats, it'll feel more like 30". I wouldn't expect any IFE.

Darren
Viking Airlines and Saga airlines seem to have some sort of agreement whereby Viking will base one of their 737-800s in Turkey for part of the week and operate it for Saga, which is why last weeks Manchester flight was operated by a Viking aircraft! As Saga have a timetable for 2 aircraft with flights from both Bodrum and Dalaman but only 1 aircraft to operate these flights, having a Viking 737 helps to explain things (I think)