General Holiday Enquiries, Hints and Tips

General Holiday Enquiries? Got General Hints & Tips? Post Them Here.
Yes that's what I was thinking. Turkey are stlll to join eu so want currency, not so sure on other european countries!
Thanks lynn
sj
just got back from zante (greece)
used my nationwide card and the resort was giving between 1.18 and 1.20 and got my statement today
we were getting between 1.25 and 1.27 out of the atm
Just bought my $$$ for Florida. :sun2

£2003.48 = $3910

exchange rate was 1.9516

I am happy with that. Started this morning at 1.89 from the Post Office :yikes

AMC316
Only 3 1/2 wks until my holiday and have got my new Nationwide debit card ready and waiting thanks to recommendations from HT users. I've never used an atm abroad before, I'm sure I read somewhere that the machine asks if you want conversion done in Euros and you should opt for 'yes' to get the best exchange rate. Can someone please clarify this for me? Thanks, Nic.
What it will likely ask is, "Do you want the currency conversion in sterling?" You must say No.

Whichever way round it asks you have to select the euros option and not sterling, otherwise you will get whatever conversion rate the ATM imposes and it will be less than the Nationwide one.

luci :wave
Topped up my prepay currency card yesterday at €1.2575 as sterling hit a 3 month high v Euro on the back of BOE policy minutes!!! Don't go on hols for another 3 weeks but decided to grab that rate now :)

The rates falling back away from that now but still showing 1.2550

Best of it is that the previous high 3 months ago was when i bought my last lot of Euro for cyprus!!
Thomsons the travel agency were giving a rate of £1= 1.24 Euros yesterday, I tried all the other agencys and thomsons was the best everywhere else was only giving between 1.20 and 1.22 Euros.
Im trying to decide how many euros to take on a trip to Dublin in 2 weeks, usually go to M&S or Post office but will check Thompsons etc...