Cruises

Discussions relating to Cruising holidays
Which Cruise?
12 Posts
Hi Danger Man
As you say its down to preference but i would say if you have young children they would be better off on anything but Thomson as they don't have much to keep them happy.
The Caribbean is great and so is the Canaries and i know both Carnival and P&O are child friendly but i have no experience of NCL.
Looks like it will have to be a lucky dip but which ever you choose i am certain it will be the right one and you will have a good time
Good luck and sorry i can't be more helpfull
Roger
Thanks, Rogerdoger. My "children" will be 20 and 17 next year so they ought to be able to find something to keep themselves amused wherever they are!
Very difficult to please everyone I would have thought! Personally I like the eastern med idea, a week cruising and a week relaxing is best of both worlds. Cant speak highly enough of Adriatic Explorer cruise with Thomson, brilliant itinerary.
Canaries from Southampton? Well you waste a couple of days at sea straight away, don't think the Canaries are a particularly picturesque group of islands and would def visit in winter rather than summer, seems a waste going in summertime when the med is so much more interesting.
Same for Bahamas etc, more a winter destination again? Isnt there more chance of hurricanes in summer months? (Apologies if I'm wrong about that)
If the Azura is sister ship to P&O Ventura then I personally would find it too child friendly in the summer months - we were on Ventura in June, young kids def enjoyed themselves but noise levels around pool area was horrendous, we couldnt even sunbathe in the vicinity, too many excited youngsters jumping into pool from all angles so everyone got soaked. I think your two at their ages wouldnt want that either?