Image of Sunrise Holiday Resort

Sunrise Holiday Resort

5 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lovely hotel, great holiday loads to do would go again!
3 years 9 months ago
Went with my partner to get some winter sun! The hotel was lovely, very clean and very nice and staff were on hand and helpful. Our room was a pleasant size and as we hoped - no nasty surprises as you all too often read about!

The food was ok, I’m a fussy a Easter and I managed ok! There are 3 restaurants but we stuck to the basic so I could play it safe so my food score to be honest is probably unfair but can’t rate what we didn't see or try! The cocktails were to die for though!

The hotels private beach is amazing the view was lovely and relaxing, we didn't do the onsite entertainment as we did day excursions and went out to bars in the evenings, so again can’t rate that, which is why this did not affect my overall rating! Amazing holiday, great hotel would go again and happily stay here!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Wendy Earlston
Not much to do in the evenings
4 years ago
I wouldn't recommend this hotel! There is nothing to do during the night time, the entertainment was only on for 35mins. And it was the same the second week. The food was not very good a bit cold and not much variety of food. The drinks were poor the pop was flat and the lager was like drinking water. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. I went 2 this hotel on the 15th of October 2013. Not much to do during the night time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Hotel tip: The best restaurant in the hotel was the medietaren. There were 7 floors on our block that we stayed in.

Pleasantly surprised
5 years 2 months ago
As there had been several negative reviews on this hotel I must say we were really impressed.

Our bags were taken from us on arrival and we were given a small cocktail to welcome us to the hotel. The reception desk were very helpful and pleasant and most spoke good English. We were then shown to our room and all our bags were carried for us. Our room had a lovely view over the sea and we were situated just in front of the pool bar with a slightly limited view of the lagoon pool. The room was clean and spacious and 5 minutes after we arrived our room cleaner Hani knocked the door and introduced himself. He said he would be looking after us during our 9 day stay and any problems to tell him and he would put it right.

The food at the main buffet style restaurant (El Sol ) was perfectly fine and I really don't know what people were moaning about.. Breakfast was varied and plentiful, Lunch plenty of choice again and evening meal a different theme every night including Egyptian, Mexican, Arabic, Lebanese and Asian.

Arabian nights upstairs had less choice but was quieter and you could get your food with less hassle however I did find the drinks service a little slow up there as I feel they were understaffed.

Pool bar had a good choice of pizza's available and the burgers were very nice. I did find the chips here were cooked better than in the main restaurant as they were always piping hot and crispy they did tend to be a bit on the soggy side at the El Sol.

We mainly stayed by the main pool during the day however it could be a little noisy with the animation team and all the activities going on but they were fun to watch. The Russians are a nightmare they keep their towels from the day before so they block book loads of sunbeds under the canopy's first thing in the morning often before 7am and then they stay empty most of the day but no-one else gets a look in. We did complain one day and the lifeguard did take the towels off when no-one claimed them by lunchtime. He told them off but they just ignore it and do the same the following day.

Entertainment in the evening consists of a singer from about 7.30pm then this is followed by either a belly dancer, whirling Dervish, snake charmer, dance troupe or the animation team. Either way it's all over by 10.30pm.

All in all this is a lovely hotel, nice clean well equipped rooms, good food and some entertainment day and night..The area around the hotel is extremely run down, very few street lights at night and generally the area is dirty and unkempt which is a shame.. It's a little far out from the marina and the walk takes around 30-40 minutes, a taxi cost us £1.50 one way.
_________________
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SUPERB HIGHLY RECOMMENDED HOTEL
5 years 4 months ago
My wife and I visited this hotel for two weeks from 8th June to 22nd June 2012.

This is a highly recommended hotel where the management go out of their way to make your holiday complete.
Fantastic location overlooking the Red Sea, rooms excellent, food first class all in all a wonderful experience and we will be returning.

For the money we paid this was outstanding value, the management are in the process of making further improvements which will make the hotel more attractive.

The swimming pool overlooks the Red sea and alongside is a fine sandy beach with a natural sea inlet giving you excellent chances of seeing the sea life.

Go and enjoy yourself!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Best holiday ever
6 years ago
The Sunrise Holiday Resort Hotel provided us with the best holiday ever. We arrived after a week on the Nile Cruise which was also great. A welcome drink and towel gave us a good start after a very long coach journey. Despite the hotel still doing renovation work to the buildings there was no mess, disruption and hardly any noise.

All of the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Small tips at the beginning of the holiday went a long way. Everywhere was kept clean and tidy. Our room cleaner was excellent, the beach service for towels was also brilliant.

The food was truly amazing, I do not eat meat but eat fish. The salad bar was out of this world especially the small pickled lemons. The bar waiters were very good and always kept our drinks topped up. Ok, so they are plastic glasses and not very big but we managed. The beer and wine quality was not as good as the Nile Cruise boat but we coped.

The entertainments team were brilliant, they made everyone feel special, they even got me to kiss a snake. Plenty to do if you felt active, for me I managed the water aerobics and belly dancing classes.

I have heard some people moaning about the Russians in their hotel but generally speaking we found those in our hotel were OK. So, they don't say please and thank you but that is their way. They do not thank you for holding a door open for them. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michael Pearson
7 years 2 months ago
My wife and i chose this hotel because the only way to do a nile cruise and get the extra week was to transfer to another resort, and as they are all inclusive we had little choice. plus i wanted somewhere that was not isolated so we could walk out during the evening.
we were very tired after our transfer and had an early night only to find we were directly over the disco which finished at about 2.30 a.m.
managed to get a room change first thing in the morning which was better, but looking tired and well overdue a refurb.
mealtimes were a nightmare with everyone trying to get their food all at once, it was a free for all. and so much waste.
staff were ok but as anywhere else some are better than others
on day 3 we discovered the arabian resteurant which was much better, more relaxed and civilised, but they only served evening meals.
beach and island are man made which wasn`t too bad but we were pestered throughout the day by people touting for massages or pedicures.
thought we would treat ourselves to a steam room and massage but were quoted 850 egyptian pounds, (approx £100) and he wouldn`t budge on price.
all in all not a very happy week
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jones
Animation team were fab!
7 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Sunrise Holiday Resort Hurghada, July 2010. We had a large balcony double; this was an upgrade, as we had stayed at the Sunrise diamond previously. Other rooms had a very small balcony not good.
Accommodation kept clean and tidy, bathroom needs updating.

Hotel within walking distance to town which is scruffy. But fun, beware of pick pockets, yes you will get pestered, buts that there was of life. We walked out several times, no problems.

Hotel food ok found something to eat, but I think the restaurant on the beach reheated the food as we sometimes had the same dish for lunch then evening. The beach bar had problems with their beer, tasted and smelt strange. And the water container was out in the sun. Suggest you take your own plastic glasses, as in the evening the bar where the entertainment is held always ran out. There were a lot of tummy problems, we both came down with it as did a lot of people.

The lagoons small but great, snorkel out under the bridge turn right to the jetty, if calm, or swim left past the next bay and the coral is great, plenty of fish. There is a snorkel boat which goes from the hotel jetty, fun day out, but beware if this is booked well in advance and you come down with tummy problems, it will be a struggle to get refunded.

Animation team fab, work so very hard, and long hours, join in the bowls etc it is fun. The staff were always very helpful and friendly, and the beach boys who would put your towels out for you if you wanted a particular spot were happy to do so, and a small tip was greatly appreciated.

A huge negative we were there for 2 weeks and the air con in all restaurants were not working, dreadful, complained several times only to be told will be fixed tomorrow, tomorrow never ever came. The so called al carte restaurant is not worth going to, this really needs to be sorted out with a decent menu, I have never been to an al carte restaurant and had to self-serve your starters. All in all if you can get this hotel for under £1500 for 2 adults, it’s worth a try.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter
7 years 3 months ago
room kept very clean food onfirst week ok but on second went down hill mostly down to dinningrooms being so hot no aircon being on you didnt wont to sit with sweat dripping of your nose .entertainment staff very good . firsttime out of hotel a boy of around ten tryed to pickpocket me so be aware will not be going back . back to turkey next year
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomes cook

Recommended
P & V Henderson
7 years 7 months ago
This was our first all inclusive holiday and the Sunrise Hotel Resort in Hurghada far exceeded our expectations in every way.
The hotel staff were extremely polite & accommodating, even down to the room cleaner who surprised us everyday with his creative towel origami.
The food was excellent & plentiful with lots of choice, however, it can be tricky if you are a vegetarian, for example if you wanted a vegetarian omlette the same pan would be used for meat & none meat dishes, leaving my wife picking bits of meat out of food. However by the end of the holiday, the chefs took more care when serving her.
The Animation Team at the Sunrise were superb, they worked long hours and when not entertaining or involved in sporting activities they were busy mingling & checking that everyone was having a good time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kelley
7 years 8 months ago
hotel location fab only 10mins from airport,staff all friendly and very helpful,food good and 5 places to choose from to eat,you have a private beach and are provided with towels to use on beach so saves your own there is a pool and lagoon to swim in.entertainment is provided throughout the day via volleyball belly dancing aqua aerobics and much more there is a different show on each night which are fabulous.all staff are very good especially moustafa and mohamed and sayed in restaurant2 and animation team sherif,svetlana,momo,katya,lena and maya are so good at there jobs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.