26 independent reviews of the Oceanis Hotel
Address: Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Rhodes 85101, Greece
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel Location
Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Ixia


4/5
Oceanis Hotel Oceanis Hotel is rated 3.65 out of 5 from 26 Reviews
62% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (26 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Oceanis Hotel Reviews

1/5
1
"Oceanis Hotel"
John Hardcastle visited the Oceanis Hotel in August 2013
We went to the Oceanis 16 years back when it was half board, and we honestly didn't expect it to be anywhere near as nice. We were right in most ways. The Hotel itself is still a good looking and well kept building (our room anyway), which was on the top (5th) floor and one of the newly refurbished ones, so much so the barcode labels were still on some of the new furniture.

The pool has been improved but did need some maintenance where some of the finish was coming away, leaving bare concrete showing. The worst however was the fact that Eastern Europeans have now almost taken over the place, and ruder more ignorant dishonest people I have yet to meet. Even the staff were complaining. People coming into the restaurant for dinner undressed (swimwear only) whereas on our ...
last visit gentlemen HAD to wear long trousers (quite rightly too)... Also to animation team, hardworking as they were INSISTED on playing ear-splitting music all day, whatever time of day. Also lunch is served at the outside snack-bar, where any food which was worth eating had to be purchased, but if one can survive on chips and ice-cream, it was OK. The pre-mentioned loud music went on long into the night, encouraging our Eastern European "friends" to mess about IN THE POOL until early hours. All in all NOT a good holiday, we were quite happy when it was time to go. We did not book a Club 18-30 holidays, but that is what the Oceanis supplies now. ONE TIP Anything that is not 'nailed down' is also fair game to be stolen, sunglasses whatever.

Read More

Tour Operator: Jet2.com

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3
"Average but slight concerns."
Andy Sutcliffe had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in July 2012
Just returned from The Oceanis Hotel in Ixia Rhodes on 6th September 2012. The comments below are OUR experiences at the above hotel and we hope they help you.

Accommodation
We stayed on the first floor (room 131) and unfortunately all the odd room numbers on this floor backed onto the kitchen and laundry areas therefore at approx 6:45am every morning the noise was horrendous in our room with what seemed a loud gushing sound and driers on the go we can only imagine that it was the same for the other occupants. The room was clean and basic but lacked a tea and coffee facility which some would like to have as did we. The room was attended every day and was as I say clean and tidy.

Pool Area
The pool area was lovely but the pool did have some cosmetic requirements. ...
Paint peel and muddy areas around the perimeter of the pool but otherwise nice. A significant number of beds were broken so get yours early.

Entertainment
We did not partake in any sports or indeed watch any evening entertainment as there is far better just a few hundred meters away walking left out of the hotel (south). The animation team consisted of two people who really did not seem too enthusiastic in all honesty. Sports consisted of water volleyball, boule, darts and water aerobics, the music was good but loud.

Food
Breakfast, was probably the best of the day which catered for most European tastes, the English may be mortified to note very little in the way of bacon but this is a minor niggle otherwise OK. Lunch (near pool area) salad, soup and hot meals available but very limited and repetitive. Dinner, the food was again OK/average but very repetitive during our 10 day stay (2/3 day cycle). Bar, The number of times the draught beer pump was turned to a trickle was amazing, this caused huge queues and only one outlet, no cocktails available for the guests on the AI. Evening queues were quite long as again one/two bar staff on the only bar in the evening.

All in all this was a great experience and all our tastes and expectations differ so what we found you may disagree with but would we stay at this hotel ? Probably not.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Hot Holidays

4/5
4

Lynn & Russ had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel in May 2008
Arrived at the airport and didn’t get stopped by the drug squad to be strip searched this time, thankfully. It seems they have started renovating the airport and it’s a lot brighter and cleaner than it was the last time we went.
Taxi to the hotel was 15 euros and there is always plenty outside, they have set tariffs to different parts of the island, all reasonable prices. Or check out this web site for prices and other info http://www.rodos.com we spoke to a couple in the hotel who booked taxi transfers in the UK through the agent and they paid over £100.
On arrival at the hotel the main foyer is modern, large, airy, nice and cool. The reception staff are very friendly and speak good English.
The bar is open until 2am but you have to pay for your ...
drinks as the free bar shuts at 11pm on the dot so the only problem if you’re arriving after 2am is there is nowhere to get a drink as there are no facilities in the room, there is a little kiosk shop just up the road if your desperate though. The downside on the drinks is there isn’t a lot of choice, local beer on a help yourself basis, vodka, rum, brandy, gin, etc. cocktails have to be paid for but aren’t too expensive, on average 3 euros. The room we had was on the 1st floor at the back looking over the children’s play area and the rear pool, the room was basic but clean, the maids came in every day made the beds and left fresh towels. Air con doesn’t start being used until July in the guest rooms so be prepared for hot sticky nights, we used our hair drier on the cool setting and blew it into the fridge when we got really hot, DIY air con, lol. The pool area at the front of the hotel is lovely, sun beds are a bit crammed in and as usual its towels at dawn if you want to get close to the pool, be prepared to get up early to stake your claim with your towel if you do, some guests even left there towels on overnight, I’m afraid its got to the stage of ‘if you cant beat em join em’ where ever you go now. There are lots of seating areas around the hotel so always somewhere to sit inside or out, shady or sunny. The pool at the rear of the hotel is a proper sun trap but there is shade too and it’s a lot quieter but you need to be up early for this too. The hotel is clean and tidy, suitable for disabled with ramps and lifts, not a lot for kids to do apart from the pool, a few amusements and the playground round the back but it is a little run down, there weren’t many kids there anyway. There are tennis courts for hotel use, they are round the back. The small pebble beach is over the road, a very busy road too, but the traffic noise didn’t bother us, if you want to go over to the beach and daren’t brave the road use the underpass at the hotel next door on the left. I found the layout of the dining room a bit dangerous though as there are 2 steps running all the way along from the serving area to most of the tables, so watch where you are walking.
The food is ok, like most other all inclusive hotels but there was enough choice and plenty of puddings. The waiters are very efficient and the dining room runs smoothly and there was always somewhere to sit without the handbag reserving!
The hotel staff are very helpful, hardworking and friendly, Yannis the barman is a good source of info and has a wicked sense of humour, he works very hard to keep the queue down but will chat if he has the time. The animations team are a good laugh and keep you entertained with their antics. We went to Rhodes town a couple of times. We did walk there the first time, its hard work in the heat or you could get a taxi, this costs 6 euros. The old part is nice lots of winding alleyways, shops and restaurants; the new town is ok too for shopping. One thing I wasn’t too happy with was the baggage room, this was round the side of the hotel and wasn’t locked so anyone could have walked in but fortunately crime on Rhodes is quite low. All in all it’s a nice Greek owned hotel and we did enjoy our stay here.

Read More

Tour Operator: independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Linda stayed at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in May 2008
Well this hotel supplied me and my family with everything imaginable for an amazing holiday! It was a pleasure to stay there and I would definately return.
Firstly, we had a night flight and didn\'t arrive at the hotel until the early hours, but we weren\'t treated any differently and the reception staff did all they could to get us settled as soon as possible. We were given a room on the fourth floor, with a mountain view. It wasn\'t the best view i#ve ever seen, but it was very peaceful, and the room kept nice and cool in the evenings, as the sun set on the rooms with a sea view - so this didn\'t really bother us.
When we went for a walk around the hotel the next day, we noticed straight away how clean the place was. ...
The staff are friendly and always ready to help.
The food in the hotel was great! Couldn\'t faulr it! They had a good selection of food on everyday to please all nationalities! Also, on some days for dinner, there was a barbeque which was a nice touch. Food in the evenings was again nice, and they had fish fingers etc for the kids. The restaurant manager/head waiter went out of his way to please people - even sitting us on a private balcony for our last meal! The staff there, deserve no critisim as they are extremely hard working.
The hotel is situated on the main road, opposite the beach. The road is very busy, so I would recommend that you use the \'beach tunnel\' in the hotel next door. The pool area is lovely, again very clean, well maintained and well looked after. The shop in the hotel sells are good selection of goods, for quite cheap prices as well.
The entertainment team were brilliant! Always offering something for everyone - of all ages. There was morning, afternoon and evening entertainment all supplied by the same members of the animation team. They were fantastic and seemed to have so much energy! In the morning, there was usually an exercise class, a pool game with Alex (who always seems to get soaked whatever he does), darts or tennis. In the afternoon, there was water polo, dance lessons, the occasional bridge game or ping pong. In the evening, the entertainment varied each evening, but there was always a kids mini disco to begin. Whilst we were there, there was a Greek Night, karaoke, a dance competition and specaial shows. The team would wonder round asking you to join in, but if thats not for you, a simple \'no\' would be fine!
Overall, this hotel provided the perfect setting for a relaxing and fun-packed holiday. It has something for everyone, and you are bound to find somethnig you can enjoy! I will definately be visting again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Fiona stayed at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in September 2007
This hotel was spotless - we had requested a room on the 5th floor as I had previously read that this floor had been recently renovated. The room was beautiful and kept spotlessly clean by very cheerful domestic staff who always spoke and smiled whenever we saw them. I had requested a sea view but didn\'t get it - however, we did not really mind as we hardly spent any time in the room.
The food was varied, hot and plentiful - the staff in the restaurant were lovely, again always smiling even during a power cut which made dining very interesting!!
The road outside the hotel is dangerous to cross unless you eventually find a level crossing (a bit of a walk) and the greeks drive pretty fast!!!
Hotel staff - as I have already said, they couldn\'t be faulted for their ...
effort and manners.
As for the entertainment staff, Matt and Pepe totally made our holiday!! They are lovely, sweet, professional, extremely hard-working men - even at the end of the season...all credit to them!! Thank you guys for making our holiday such a laugh
We only came home on Thurdsay and I am already checking the internet for next year\'s holiday!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: holiday nights

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Bernard had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel in August 2007
First Impressions make the holiday and this holiday was not a disappointment. The hotel was very clean, the staff worked hard to maintain this standard. The food was very good plenty of choice and available from 7am until 11pm, what more could you ask for!!!!
The hotel location was on the sea front with plenty of amenaties in both directions. Entertainment, the guys tried hard.

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kevin Litster visited the Oceanis Hotel, Ixia, Greece in July 2007
we stayed at the hotel for two weeks and went out at nights as the entertainment team was rubbish. As for the food you had the same snacks all the time and very limited . The beer seemed to be watered down. Dinner time had plenty to choose from but the food was not hot enough, plenty of seats to choose from in dinning area. Rooms small and basic the air con is very old style and u cannot adjust it and makes a noise all night we had 2 take the plug out of ours to sleep, watch out 2 as u have to put use toilet paper in bin as u not allowed to throw it down toilet pan can smell sometimes. As for sunbeds be prepared to get u before 7am as there is no time on ...
putting towels down and if u want a good spot well u now the problems with some people. Watch out if u have a late flight u need to be out of your rooms for 12.00am and if u keep it on till 6.00pm it will cost u 40 euros all in all we had a good holiday in this area as there is some great places to visit.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

margaret bryant had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in June 2007
JUST A QUICK NOTE
My husband and I travelled to Oceanis Hotel and were very pleased on arriving there.Very beautiful and clean first impressions always count.Well room was lovely kept clean throughout our stay, staff were very helpful and food was of high standard too.I would recommend a holiday here may go back next time but Ixia very quiet town.

Tour Operator: Seguro

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Gillian stayed at Oceanis Hotel in April 2007
Fab Fab Fab.....We arrived at 11pm just too late for a free drink but they had cookies and fresh orange juice out at reception a lovely touch... the reception area etc was very impressive..they say first impressions count and this one was 100%. We where given a room on the 3rd floor wanted floor 5 as these are refurbished (but looked a refurbished room and the ONLY difference was the door from, a key card rather than a key, laminated floor rather than carpet and that was it) The rooms where a lovely size with 2 single beds which seem rather low at first but comfy. LOADS and LOADS of draws, wardrobe space, bathroom was small but hey you only wash, shower and go to the loo!!! But loads of shelf space for toiletries. We had 2 rooms with a ...
mountain view which was nice as you got he sun in the morning and afternoon and NO NOISE!!!! Front facing get the sun in the evening and noise from below in the evening. Rooms cleaned towels changed and beds change EVERY day. The cleaners seemed to start on our floor at the far end of the corridor so they didn

Read More

Tour Operator: Independently booked

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

angie had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in September 2006
The hotel had practicaly shut down for the season.
No entertainment, no food choice, very poor
snacks. Very poor only one person serving at bar no choice on drinks.


Tour Operator: helonic voyages
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Gregson stayed at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in June 2006
We have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel. Having read reports before we left that it was difficult to get served at the bar and that the food was repetitive we were happy to find that whilst the food may be a little repetitive there was plenty of choice and the staff work hard to make it enjoyable. Yes there is only one person on the lounge bar but the pool bar stays open at night and we did not wait longer than five minutes on any occasion to be served.

The hotel will not allow anyone to put towels out by the pool before 8:00am, so be prepared to rise early to ensure a good lounger with shade.

Overall we had a lovely time and would consider this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Hellenic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Tony stayed at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in June 2006
Just returned from the Oceanis and booked with Hellenic Voyages, who I might add are getting very popular, you will find yourself reviewing other hotels with the Hellenic customers as they are very loyal to Mannos, and travel with him year after year and compare notes and prices.

Okay the Oceanis overall we were pleased with the hotel, the food and the restaurant. Food very, very good with dishes cooked fresh as you wait, the queue could get a bit boring but if you avoid the traditional 8pm rush it was fine.
Spiros the restaurant manager is a nice friendly fellow and it is worth making the effort to talk with him he is very informative about the hotel and surrounding areas.

The room was good and the rooms were done daily although if you like a lie in you would disagree ...
as the maids come early, however if you like to lay in the sun (as we do) then the pool area is restricted to the early worm philosophy you cannot put your towels out until 8 and the pool attendant is there to check he will remove your towels b4 8. It sounds awful but it was the best fun of the day, it became a personal challenge to get your speck.

People would race to the sun beds at times there was physical contact and the odd sprained ankle? Whilst trying to look cool.

There is an island with sun beds and a canopy by chance it was occupied by Liverpudlians, there where even some Evertonians who don't get abroad often! If you know what I mean.

The entertainment was as good as it could be for only 2 people I think they live on the bingo ticket money?

Now for the important bit THE BEER well what can I say it wasn't that nice and although each pump was similar the beer came out tasting different, I was asked did I think it was non-alcoholic
you never know I would say 2% alcohol

The wine was okay but again inconsistent (no I'm not an alcoholic) I did sample the brandy and the vodka sometimes together? The bar closes at 11.20 not 12 as the brochure says.

You have to queue and can only get 2 drinks per person, the bar staff are nice and work hard but don't take it out on them if you get frustrated waiting, go to the pub? Or get your own in.

10 out of 10 for the food.

10 out of 10 for the hotel and the restaurant, but sorry chaps the bar lets you down and you need at least 2 others bar staff.

Thanks for the memories.

Tony and Tracy.

Read More

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyges

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

k.whitehouse stayed at Oceanis Hotel in April 2006
Rooms need refurbishing the food was not of four star standard.

The hotel staff were rude and not helpful particularly when my wife fell over a carpet that had been folded over behind a door by the staff and ended in hospital.

The entertainment was non existent the indoor pool did not exist.

The location was on a main road which was very difficult to cross to the beach which was dirty and full of rubbish.

The hotel was inundated with mosquitoes and a number of guests had to be taken to hospital. My wife and I have travelled the med on numerous occasions and have never had a mosquito bite but we were bitten on our legs arms and body.

Tour Operator: hays travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

rob visited the Oceanis Hotel in April 2006
The hotel is a lovely hotel that has just been upgraded in reception, rooms need a little attention to be 5 star!!
booked sea view got stuck at back facing trees and mountain.

Food repetitive everyday substandard as of previous class of hotels we`ve been too. Better be up before 7am to get sunbed at pool as hotel very busy.

Entertainment....was there any?

Queue at bar was near enough out on the main road as only 1 person working you had two order two at a time
so you did`nt have too spend half your night queuing. All drinks local (watery).

Heard a few people that arrived with kids ask about indoor pool (there is`nt one!!)


Tour Operator: planet travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Drew Mutter had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia, Greece in April 2006
I would support the comments of the other traveller who went in May, 2006.Our room was to the back with no outlook other than trees and a 100 foot rock face.

It was windy when we were there and that and the room location we believe was the reason mosquitoes got in. My wife had several bites but nothing compared to the 76 bites of another guest who required hospital treatment. Our advice is plug in your mosquito repellent device and invest in cheap spray from local shop. Spray every night before going for dinner and you should survive.

Security, the balconies to the rear can easily be accessed from the doors left open at the lifts on each floor. Our balcony door would not lock and we had to get it repaired, please check on arrival. Get safe key from reception, reasonably priced.

Tour Operator: Excel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Phillips had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in April 2006
The hotel was lovely very clean and the staff very friendly. The only down side to going at this time of year was that the air conditioning is not turned on until June 15th! why they had a specific date is beyond me.

The hotel is situated along a main road which my partner compared to the M1.

You had to be up before 7 am to get a sun bed so all holiday we paid on the beach once we got across the main road.

The room was very nice with a sea front which we paid extra for over looking Turkey.

The food in the hotel is not up to 4* ( it was done on the cheap same food nearly every day) glad we were only there for one week

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyages
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Dimmer stayed at Oceanis Hotel in April 2006
We booked this hotel for our honeymoon in May. The food was excellent, and the resturant staff pleasant.

The location was not ideal as you had a bit of a walk to the nearest bar.

The hotel advertises sauna solarium and gym on their website but they did not exist.

The rooms were ok but basic, our room was overlooking the pool and the ocean which was lovely.

The only let down was the lack of entertainment. There was absolutely none! People were sat around playing cards cos they were bored and we ended up going to other hotels for something to do, which we ended up spending more money on drinks we had already paid for as we were all inclusive.

Tour Operator: kwik travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

mp had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia in August 2005
We have just come back from the Oceanis, first rate food something for everyone on the buffet

The cleanliness was excellent in the main areas as well as our room

We had a sea view looking over to Turkey.

A short five minute drive took you to Rhodes town

All staff are really nice, friendly but also very professional and nothing is too much trouble.

The entertainment could get a little boring but you can\'t please every nationality all at the same time

We would definitely visit this hotel again in the future

Tour Operator: Hellenic Voyages

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Alan Owen had a holiday at Oceanis Hotel, Ixia, Greece in June 2005
We were told by Your Holidays that this Hotel had been up graded to a 5*, not in a million years is this a 5* Hotel and First Choice have it listed a 3+ which is about right.
The reception area, bars, restaurant and pool area are 5* but the rooms struggle to reach a good 3*, they need updating and refurbishing, the air conditioning in the rooms is very old and is not up to much in the height of the summer.

The staff are okay and very friendly and the hotel cleanliness is very good, the bar staff need to smile a bit more but I suppose with all inclusive guests they don\'t make much in the way of tips.

The entertainment team is about the worst we have come across and this Hotel should have a lot better if it ...
ever wants to be a 5*, we were all inclusive but ended going down to the bars into Ixia because we were so bored in the hotel in the evenings.

The pool area is very nice and is new this year, there are loads of sunbeds and they are free to all inclusive guests, a lot of the beds are on grassed areas but a lot of people have a bad habit of putting their cigarette ends out on the grass and there they stay so you are walking around in dog ends and that is not very nice for non smokers.

Rhodes is a lovely place and this hotel is well situated for everything.

Read More

Tour Operator: Your Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Tourman stayed at Oceanis Hotel in June 2005
We expected a reasonable hotel and got a splendid one. We went All Inclusive.Paid less than some on Half Board.

Hotel was clean and friendly in need of an upgrade in the bedroom area but all public/pool areas (new) were neat,clean and very pleasing to the eye.

Staff were mainly efficient and helpful/friendly though some(Apollo Bar) were miserable and somewhat beligerent!!

Spiros the restauarant manager was very accomadating the food wonderful as we love Greek style food though there was plenty of \'plain\'food for those who are boring eaters!! The entertainment was a little basic just 3x members doing everything (after 1 week just2!!)So it got monotonous.

The location close to a busy road a little off-putting but within easy walk of shops restaurants bars etc.

The beach nearby pebbly and the sea somewhat rough but easy to travel to Rhodes Town(taxi or ...
bus), and to other resorts around the island.

Overall I would give this hotel 8 out of 10

Read More

Tour Operator: Hellenis Voyages

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars
Share