107 independent reviews of Ixia, Greece
Ixia Location

3/5
Ixia is rated 3 out of 5 from 107 Reviews

Ixia Hotels

Ixia Reviews

3/5


Pat visited here on August 2007
Stayed in IXIA which was a lot quieter than I had expected but that was OK by us. Some parts off the main road looked like a building site & waste sites used as car parks.On the main road you will find all the restaurants & bars to suit all tastes but mainly the over 30\'s. The bars all have sky so every sport is available, as boards are displayed with all times of all sporting events. F.B.I; White Station(Billies Bar) & Fatboy Slims all recommended for the British visitor & as usual for a resort all service is at the table with gratuities at your own will. Plenty of restaurants but all serving the near same cuisine but as ...
always some Chef\'s better than others. Dimitreos\' restaurant being one of the better establishments with good service from happy smiling staff, as all Greeks / Rhodians appear to be. As said, the resort is quiet but taxi fares are so cheap, ie 6 euros to Rhodes Town, it doesn\'t make a big dent in the cost of the holiday. If you are after a quiet relaxing time then IXIA is the place to stay, as for families I found that there is very little for children other than the swimming pool. Teenagers might find IXIA OK because of the bars & being able to have a drink or 2. We found IXIA as an ideal place to stay as a HQ after visiting other areas of the island........By taxi, again cheaper than tour operators fee\'s!!

The \'Beach\' is pebbly with hidden rocks under the surf, sandles, jellies etc a must for the beach user. Plenty of lounger\'s with parasols available, at a daily charge, along the thin strip of \'Beach\'. The sandy beaches are all on the East coast of the island which doesn\'t have the cooling airs of the Aegean Sea Breeze, normally a force 4-5 on the Beaufort scale, so very cooling but very misleading too so make sure you have sun screen applied BEFORE you head off to the beach

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


jill visited here on August 2007
Ixia is a quiet resort with limited numbers of bars and restaraunts but you will find something for everyone. There is a selection of shops which are well stocked and prices are good. Rhodes town is lovely and is easily reached either by bus or taxi which costs about 7 euros.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Greenwood visited here on July 2007
This hotel is between Ixia and Ialyoss (not sure spelled correctly). We walked from the hotel into Ialyoss and it took about 10 minutes, but we were browsing in shops on the way. When you first arrive you think there are only a few shops by the hotel, but just carry on walking past these and you get into the town, however, I found the closest shops and hotel shop were cheaper than those in the town. You can get to Rhodes town by bus and it costs 1.80 euro each way (cheaper for kids), get off at the main bus station in Rhodes (two bus shelters) and on your return if you go to the bus ...
station they announce what buses are in. However, we found Rhodes town more expensive than locally, but obviously they have more selection.

There is a beach at the back of the hotel and we went there once, but it was quite breezy and we were on Lilo\'s and drifted quite a way, so you would need to be very careful with kids with floating aids.

For all of you who smoke, cigarettes are the same price wherever you go, so we bought from the hotel. However, the airport is more expensive (only by a couple of euro per 200).

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Jo visited here on July 2007
Ixia is a very quiet resort with a large selection of bars and restaurants to choose from. The beach is a shingle beach but very clean and there were plenty of sunbeds to choose from whatever time of day you arrived. The only negative is that the bars empty very early, about 10pm and there is not much entertainment. However, the neighbouring resorts are a short taxi journey away and well worht seeing anyway. I would definitly return!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


jason visited here on June 2007
the resort was fab apart from the shingle beach and the wind blowing non stop on that side of the island apart from that i think its the best resort on the island if your after a lively resort but if not lindos is even better for a quieter holiday
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

5/5


Gillian visited here on May 2007
Restaurant and shops nothing more in resort. Resort very clean and shops cheaper than RHODES town as Rhodes get the cruise liners in each day so the prices tend to be higher in the shops!!!!

If the Oceanis was in Rhodes town that would have been perfect as there was more to do there i.e. looking round if you didnít want to sun bath all day
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Pauline visited here on September 2006
Ixia was a bit of a let down - just the main road to walk up and down and no pretty side streets to explore - what a shame. This is strange because there are many large 4* and 5* hotels here and so would have expected something a bit more up market. We chose this resort because it was near to Rhodes Town and this was a blessing! You must visit the old town and expore the cobbled side streets - wonderful.

Beach is shingle and pebble, but plenty of water sports on offer.

Velios sports bar was best value for drinks if you want to watch the soaps or the footy! Beer 2.50 Euro a pint ...
and white wine and soda was 2 Euro.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Christine visited here on August 2006
Only ventured out a couple of times during the week - shops and bars were plentiful. Went in the Sports Bar where they had several large screens showing various programmes. Went to beach - stoney for the first couple of metres and then sandy. Sunbeds always available. Don\'t take your lilo into the sea - we lost ours because it was so breezy. Wouldn\'t vist resort again as there are many other places to visit in the world.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Arthur visited here on August 2006
The beach at Ixia was a shingle beach. We took a couple of walks out in the vicinity in the evenings - the walk towards Ixia was along quite a dark road with no pavements and not much going on. The other direction towards Triandad there was more shops and bars but all very quiet. We would have been better taking a taxi into Rhodes Town. Also beware of the trips offered by the Tour Representatives, expensive for what they are. We went on a boat trip to Lindos and was told the duration of the trip would be just over an hour and 5 hours at the destination, this materialised to be 2 and ...
a half hours each way and 3 hours at the destination (also when you get there expect a temperature of 40+ Farenheit). A trip to the waterpark was only from 11 - 1/4 past 3 and to Rhodes town from half 10 until 3 - the latter two we would have been better either getting a bus or taxi to have more time there.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


Anne Fraser visited here on August 2006
We found Ixia clean and quite a pleasant place plenty of eating places and of course places to have a drink. We never used the beach. but some nice shops and great supermarkets best we have ever seen. We thought Ixia was a good base we could walk to Trianda in about 15 minutes(in the August heat)really nice shops and tavernas, get the bus to Kramsti and it was so easy to get to Rhodes Town 1.40 on the bus or 8 euros in a Taxi. The Old Town was fantastic. And in August the wind you get in Ixia is a life saver.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Doonhamer32 visited here on August 2006
Ixia is a long drawn out resort, little more than a ribbon of bars, restaurants & hotels, but pleasant enough. Trianda is only a short walk/taxi ride away, with Rhodes Town only a slightly longer taxi ride.
The beach is shingle, but once you get into the water, this soon gives way to sand, and it\'s very pleasant.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


ray visited here on August 2006
Beach terrible resort very limited one road and very little on it food in local restaurants terrible .

Rhodes town lovely but getting very noisy and busy it is now a world heritage site but cars and trucks still drive through the beautiful old city ?
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Sam visited here on August 2006
We felt Ixia was too quite for us and we would get a bus into Rhodes town every evening. Ixia was mainly for older couples and young families.

Beach was lovely and clean but would have preferred more sand on the beach than a pebbley beach.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


Kathryn Clegg visited here on August 2006
A single strip of average eating establishments along a very busy main road where you can expect to wait five minutes to cross. The beach is shingle, narrow and not worth paying to sit on.

Don\'t go.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Gregson visited here on July 2006
This resort (Ixia) is built along the main road to Rhodes Town, which makes crossing the road a bit tricky. Consisting mainly of restaurants, bars and supermarkets there is not a great deal to do but the regular bus service (E1.70 each) and taxis (E6.00 trip)to Rhodes Town gives plenty of options for sight seeing or shopping.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars

3/5


palacedolly visited here on July 2006
Ixia is okay so long as you don\'t expect too much from the beach. We stayed at the Avra Beach Hotel and if you walk along the beach for about 5/10 minutes you will find some relatively cheap (3.5 euros) sun beds to hire and it\'s along there the wind surfing and jetskis are. We walked all along the beach as far as the eye can see towards Rhodes and the bits of beach not close to a hotel are a bit manky with plastic bottles and general debris washed up. I would visit this resort again as it is a good place to base yourself. The bus service into Rhodes is excellent (1.70 euros per person) ...
so if there is 4 of you a cab is better value for money (6 euros plus 1 for a tip if you wish). Have fun, we did.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Lynne, Ian + Ben visited here on July 2006
This resort (ixia) is on a very busy road with no crossing whatsoever,you took your life into your own hands every time you crossed it.There are plenty of nice bars and resturants,but dont expect discos and clubs.Rhodes town is only 7euro in a taxi.We only went to the beach once as it wasn\'t very nice,the sea vas quite rough there was no sand, only what I would describe as hard core and dry cement.
I have been to quite a few greek resorts all being beautiful.But this one didn\'t quite live up to standard. I wouldn\'t go back....Well maybe if it was free!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
2 stars

4/5


Jeff visited here on June 2006
The night life around the hotel is is good and the bars are very friendly in particular Bocaderos, Veloise, and fat mans slims which is run by a man from england called Ray who is a a true gentleman and always welcomes you, as do all the bar staf really. Ixia is a lovely place with plenty of things to do but a bit of advice if your booking day trips, you save a lot of money if you book your tours yourself and not through the rep we booked ours through a company called Sigma travel which is opposite fat mans slims in a shopping mall well worth it and its door to door service, the trip to Lindos ...
by coach was well worth it. In closing i would go back to Ixia again but would choose another hotel

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Sara visited here on June 2006
Lots of building work is taking place in the resort, so beware of the huge holes in the pavement, covered by pallets and the telegrah poles in the middle of the walkways !

Not much to do outside the hotel, other than the standard holiday restaurant.

Went out 1 evening into Rhodes Old Town and paid 160 euros for 4 adults and 1 child and the food was no better than a pub. Do not eat in the Old Town, go to the New Town much cheaper and better food as this is were the locals eat out !
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


Catty Lee visited here on June 2006
Ixia\'s shops are mostly supermarkets,restaurants, with a few jewellers and skinny people clothes shops. The best shopping is in Lindos or Falaraki.The beach is pebbly with rough seas, ideal for water sports, not for a relaxing dip! There was not much entertainment in the resort. Hiring a car to see the Island is best.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
2 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Amathus Beach Hotel  stars Amathus Beach Hotel
Address: Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Oct 2009

Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Anixis Apartments  stars Anixis Apartments
Address: Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2008

Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Atlantica Princess Aparthotel  stars Atlantica Princess Aparthotel
Address: Paralia Ialissou, Ixia, Rhodes, Greece

Latest Review: Apr 2011

Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3/5
Avra Beach Resort Hotel  stars Avra Beach Resort Hotel
Address: Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3/5
Belair Beach Hotel  stars Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes, Iraklidon Ave 100, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #14 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Ixian Grand Hotel  stars Ixian Grand Hotel
Address: Ixia Beach, Rhodes 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2006

Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Ixia

5/5
Les Cocotiers Hotel  stars Les Cocotiers Hotel
Address: Odos Sotiros, Σωτήρος, Ιξιά, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2007

Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Miramare Wonderland Hotel  stars Miramare Wonderland Hotel
Address: Ialyssos, Ixia, Rhodes 851 01, Greece

Latest Review: Oct 2005

Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Ixia

5/5
Nathalie Hotel  stars Nathalie Hotel
Address: 65 Sotiros St., Ixia, Rhodes 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2012

Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Oceanis Hotel  stars Oceanis Hotel
This pleasant, friendly hotel enjoys a beachfront location, set against a charming backdrop of low wooded hills, creating a perfect environment for a relaxed holiday. It is popular with guests of all ages, many of whom return year after year.

Latest Review: Sep 2013

Ranked #10 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3/5
Olympic Palace Hotel  stars Olympic Palace Hotel
The Olympic Palace hotel and studios offer large, comfortable rooms and a friendly service, making this an ideal choice for families. There are non-stop activities on offer to entertain the whole family, including entertainment and weekly Greek evenings.

Latest Review: Jul 2009

Ranked #11 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Pine Tree Hotel  stars Pine Tree Hotel
Address: Ixia, Ιξιά, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Oct 2007

Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Ixia

4/5
Solemar Hotel  stars Solemar Hotel
Address: Sotiros 99, Ixia 85101, Greece

Latest Review: Sep 2009

Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Ixia

3/5
Sunland Hotel  stars Sunland Hotel
Set in a quiet rural area between the resorts of Kremasti and Trianda are the Sunland Apartments. The atmosphere is relaxed the beachfront is close by.

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #13 of 14 hotels in Ixia
Share