58 independent reviews of the Osborne Hotel
Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel, Gauravaddo, Calangute, Bardez, Goa
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel Location
Ranked #37 of 53 hotels in Calangute


3/5
Osborne Hotel Osborne Hotel is rated 3.41 out of 5 from 58 Reviews
81% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (58 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Osborne Hotel Reviews

2/5
2
"keep away from this hotel"
Carol Geghegan stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute in January 2014
Do not stay here. Most rooms where being sprayed to kill the bed bugs. They charge 100 rupees a day for Wi-Fi and the reception staff are rude. We had to leave the room at 11am but where not getting picked up till 10pm at night, so we had to leave or bags at reception and did not have a room all day. We will go back to Goa but never this hotel. Goa is a great place and very cheap place we got 103 rupees to the pound, we are going back next year but not to this hotel.

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

whitey had a holiday at Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in November 2009
Stayed at this hotel 4 times now and got to say that whilst we\'ve enjoyed every holiday, the service has slipped badly - especially this last visit. Don\'t be put off staying here though as the location is good, the hotel has been clean on every visit (sheets & towels changed regularly) and there are plenty of restaurants and bars locally. Just be cautious about some of the staff. The majority of are ok - friendly and attentive - but there\'s a few who simply try to take advantage.
1) The boy that fills the fridge with drinks never has any change and always calls when the bill is a small total but one you\'ll probably round up and give him atip (e.g bill is 160 rupees and you give him 200). Always make sure you get the change otherwise ...
he\'ll get increasingly worse as the holiday progresses.
2) Check the drinks you have out of the fridge and make sure the empties are taken away. One slipped extra empty bottle into my son\'s room and tried to charge saying my son had drunk it. If you are sure you haven\'t had the drink be firm and offer to go to the manager. It\'s amazing how quickly he backs down.
3) Keep a check on the drinks tab at the bar especially if there is a few of you and you have several drinks. Mistakes have been made with the number of drinks charged !!
4) Don\'t be surprised if the room boy tells you he is changing duties and won\'t be around at the end of your holiday - they\'re just trying to get a tip out of you.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

john ball visited the Osborne Hotel in March 2009
would never stay at this hotel again ,staff unhelpfull ,rooms dirty ,and overcharged ,with most meals and drinks,been in much better cheeper ,hotels in goa ,goa is Great but not in this dirty so called ,may i addd very smelly ,hotel

Tour Operator: Thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4
"Very Helpful"
margaret daintree visited the Osborne Hotel in March 2009
My husband and I visited this hotel many times and always found everyone very helpful. On the times my husband was ill the attention he received was exceptional one extra perk was Zicos restaurant next door The DSouza family are exceptional and very friendly we got to know them well over the years and watched their business expand we could never have met nicer people I miss them all since my husbands death and hope to return someday .

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars

3/5
3

morris stayed at Osborne Hotel in February 2009
stayed at the osborne resort calangute,have stayed here many times in the past last year seemed to be slipping as regards customer care,this year confirmed it for us even though we had e.mailed and wrote letters to them asking for no ground level room and for accomodation in osborne two when we arrived we where told rooms are issued on arrival,we wre then taken to a room on the ground floor of osborne one,with a bed almost touching the walls on either side,dark and smelling very stongly of mould a room which at best would be used as a store not for three weeks accomadation which had been booked eleven months in advance,my wife and myself felt the room was intolerable so went back to reception to be told that is the only room available however on saying in that ...
case we will take our money back or perhaps sleep in reception till a room became available suddenly there was one,this was on top floor in osborne three,now this room was an improvement on the first but all the electric points were broken so could not be used,windows and doors could not be closed and secured and lights had to be had on at all times we decided to make the best of it after being told we would be moved by friday this was sunday,thefollowing tuesday night i along with friends decided to have a last drink in the bar my wife saying she would continue to room 15 mins later she phoned to say key woul not open the door to the room i went up mtried the key to no avail so next door neighbor phoned reception,eventually someone arrived to have the same result after about half an hour the door was finally opened,so that night had to be kepy closed with a chair against it on the assurance that it would have a new lock fitted next day wednesday now that day we had arranged to go with friends for the day and then to the holiday truths meet at night which we did on arriving back at the hotel we went to our room to find a padlock on the hasp and stapel bolt on the door the door itself being still unlocked so i went to reception to ask for a padlock key so i could get into my room alas no one on duty knew anything about it,i wasnow not a little fed up and suggested they should look for a key after 15 mins of searching about one of them produced a key which was lying under the desk and said to me is this it i of course had no idea as the padlock was not there when i left on trying it it was so got into room another night with the chair for a lock and of course nothing had been done to electric points,next morning going down to breakfast we met james the manager who knew us from our previous stays there he asked how we were getting on etc.i told him about our problems but assured him we had been assured on several occaisions we would have room change next day(the friday)i also stated it seems that the more times you stay at osborne your rooms etc get worse most persons the first or second time get better conditions maybe to get repeat bookings,he said well you have known me for years if nothing is ok tomorrow come find me ,next morning 8-30 my wife went down to reception to be told we did not promise anything by the very person who did a blatent lie she was also quite rude offhand and uncaring saying no more rooms thats it at this point after giving them a week and no results i went to find the manager james,who said leave it with me within half an hour we were being moved to osborne one in an exellent room with no problems whatsoever and enjoyed very much our remaining two weeks,i dont know how we would have fared had we not known the manager and he not us ,in my oppinion the osborne needs to reflect on its customer care and the staff employed also some time needs to be spent on maintainence and deep cleaning,also a simple allocation system needs to be put in placeas i have said i have stayed here at least once sometimes three times a year over eight years along with other hotels i have noted a steady,downturn in standards at the osborne which needs to be halted,i have been given managers e.mail to keep in touch for when i next go but certainly the reps need to be taking a more active interest in conditions etc

Read More

Tour Operator: jewel in the crown/monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Smith stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in January 2009

Me and my partner arranged this holiday with a group booking of 18 all who stayed at the Osbourne. I wont bore you will what ifs and excellence just how I found the hotel and staff.

On arrival staff tried to get me to purchase a A/C room for

Tour Operator: Jewel In the Crown. Althams

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

GEOGHEGAN had a holiday at Osborne Hotel, Calangute in January 2009
Having stayed in this hotel on 7 previous occasions i was very disapointed this time around. We arrived at 5.30am we were informed our room would not be ready until 9am. The room we were eventually given was not the best we have been in on previous occasions. Reception staff very unhelpful they were not the most friendliest people i have met. The pool was dirty with frogs in it during the day. Waiters were only nice to be people who spent a lot of time in the hotel eating and drinking.The hotel overall could do with a revamp to improve it to the way it used to be. Very disapointed this time i think it\'s time to check out alternative hotels.

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

1/5
1

kendall had a holiday at Osborne Hotel in January 2009
we stayed at the osborne in january ,but we will never go there again ,the staff where rude ,and the rooms where very dirty ,and in bad state,never again

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

jacquie ivor stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in December 2008
stayed at the Osborne for christmas I found the hotel great the rooms were cleaned daily lovely size rooms as we had the children with us we had a connecting door which was perfect to keep an eye on them we stayed in Phase 2 the bar staff were excellant especially Sandy and Joseph only ate breakfast here but that was fine Must admit the reception staff were a miserable bunch wouldn\'t hurt to crack a smile
Location was good with shops and bars and restaurants to hand I wouldn\'t hesitate to stay here again the only thing that needs attention is the towels they stink so I would bring your own apart from that great hotel 9 out nof 10

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Alan and Jackie visited the Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in December 2008
This was our 2nd time at the osborne and once again i must say that the hotel fitted my needs very nicely. The one complaint i had the last time was the waiters pestering you to buy tickets for various theme nights at the hotel. But they must have listened to the complaints because this year each person recieved 3 tickets per week to attend the buffet dinners free off charge. (probably added to holiday cost !) But with no pestering it made for a more relaxing atmosphere.
Never had breakfast but did attend 2 buffet nights which were adequate. My son joined us from another hotel on those nights and he had something from the menu and enjoyed very much. It certainly looked good.
I stayed in phase 3 this time and as before the rooms were basic but clean enough ...
with clean towels and bedding every day. Though some new towels are needed to be invested in ! Would certainly use this hotel again.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

ryan had a holiday at Osborne Hotel in December 2008
the hotel is very old fashioned typical goan style! it is kept very clean which is the only reason i have returned to this hotel and would consider it in the future.

the hotel food is terrible! apart from the eggs and toast for breakfast much better to venture out the hotel to some of the shacks on the beach or any of the nice restaurants about!

hotel waiters and bar staff are generally excellent. dont like the reception staff they are not the best it seems to be a lot of lies about room availability when you arrive, they try and put you in a bad room when you first get there! always kick up a fuss and they then seem to find you a better one!

hotel location is ok... bit of a hike to the beach taxi is a better ...
option infact you need to get a taxi evrywhere there is not a lot within walking distance of the hotel really but thats just me a lot of people like the area around the hotel. i find it a bit scruffy. althogh it must be said if you like to get about to candolim or baga the hotel is situated between them both!

i would stay in this hotel again just because it is good value for money but it gets no other merit unfortunatly... i have never slept on more uncomfortable pillows than in this hotel an i had them changed twice. my advice would be to buy some before you go and fit them in your case. i had a bad neck for the whole two weeks we stayed there!!!


Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

angela had a holiday at Osborne Hotel in April 2008
Food was terrible, pool was dirty turned you green and ruined your clothes.

Staff always short changing you.

Room staff always ripping you off. Theme nights not what they were meant too be. Always check your change.

Out of your hotel plenty of shopping and places too see.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

marks stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in April 2008
the hotel is basic, but very clean. the rooms are cleaned every day, and fridge replenished. The staff are polite and helpful. Tha gardens are kept neat and well looked after. We went when the season was on the wane, so had to pretty much find our own entertainment, but there was the occasional night and the bar was always open til late. most nights we went out for dinner and returned late. some nights we were tired and did not venture far, going out for a meal and returning to finmish the night at the hotel bar. they were very accomodating, and as long as we were drinking, they stayed open - within reason. I would definately use this hotel again.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Alison Lund visited the Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in March 2008
Breakfast consisted of toast and jam though you could pay to have eggs, bacon etc. We were given vouchers up to 200rupees a day to exchange against food.
Hotel was very basic though clean bedding and towels everyday
Convenient location for shopping and restaurants
Staff quiet ignorant, and ignored you if you tried to get help, not much personality or friendliness or willingness to help, there were no knives one morning at breakfast and we were sent around the houses between the bar and servery to get one. Getting juice in the morning was hit and miss. Had to wake up up night receptionist who was sleeping on the floor in reception area at 11.30pm to ask for the pillows we had requested earlier in the evening, this resulted in him having to phone the boy in the housekeeping room to ...
give them to us - he had obviously also been asleep.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Jackie & Ken stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute in March 2008
This was our 8th time to Goa and being up to speed on what to expect we booked the Osbourne Classic block specifically. Don\'t know what we paid the extra for apart from the breakfast and the a/c as standard, the furniture and room is not much better than a normal 2* in this area. The rooms were advertised as upgraded, they were really not much different to the other block we had stayed in 6 years ago, although advertised there was no kettle - no big deal - but why say it in the brochure. The electric seemed to be off here more than anywhere we have stayed, it is a problem in this part of the world, and you do expect it to be off at some times, but this was for hours nearly ...
every evening in our block.

Getting served for breakfast was an ordeal, not enough experienced staff who can cope with serving more than a couple of people at a time. You have to remind them constantly what you\'ve ordered and beg for it to be served. When it did arrive it was really good.

We never really ate at the hotel, based on one experience of trying to get a snack in the day. Again the service was abysmal. Even a cup of tea is brought over from the main block a couple of minutes away. It was ridiculous.

There was a kind of arrogance with some of the waiters, who I don\'t think would have got a job anywhere else, they just didn\'t seem to be bothered to move away from the counter. The only thing that seemed to bother them was forever trying to sell tickets for gala nights in the hotel - they must have been on commission or something, it really did bug us after a couple of days as others have said in previous reviews.

The location is ideal shops and bars and plenty of restaurants on the door step.

There are a couple of good sized pools, sun bed mattresses have seen better days. There never seemed to be anyone activly cleaning the pool out, the water was not that clean and the sun oil residue was always on top of the water.

Having previously stayed at this site we were disappointed with what we expected and what we paid for - wouldn\'t go back which is a shame it could offer a lot.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

sophie had a holiday at Osborne Hotel in February 2008
We stayed in the Osborne Classic and it was very nice we got a bit of breakfast everyday and everybody couldn't do enough for you.

The room boys were brillant they made different pictures on our bed each day. In the hotel rooms they had a mini bar which is very cheap!

The room boys came every 3 days for the money and it was topped up with more drinks. I celebrated my bithday over there and all the staff kindly got me a cake it was very nice!

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

theresa visited the Osborne Hotel, Calangute in February 2008
The hotel was brill everyone was nice there and the rooms were clean and tidy everyday. The cleaners were brill too there made a picture everyday witch were fab and impressing.

There was a mini bar in the hotel witch was filled eveyday and you paid every 3 days. The food was very good too we ate there at dinner sometimes. But theres some good bars next to the osborn called Zico\'s thats fab the food is great there too.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Kay Irons visited the Osborne Hotel, Calangute in February 2008
1 reader found this review helpful

We got back from Goa on 2nd March after staying at the Osborne we stayed there about 10 years ago and oh boy what a change!!

The room boys were lovely and the reception staff were as well, but the waiters what can I say, if you didn\'t eat in there at night they just didn\'t want to know you we were totally ignored at breakfast they spent all their time talking to their favourites!!!!!! Who didn\'t move out of the hotel full stop.

This was such a change from all the other hotels we have stayed in over the past 10 or 11 years in the end we went up to them and asked to be served as we had paid for the extra breakfast we couldn\'t help ourselves some mornings.

I just didn\'t bother it wasn\'t worth the effort ...
we got not goodbye when we left except from the lovely room boys who I must add got a good tip No way will we go there again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Jewel in the Crown
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

geoghegan had a holiday at Osborne Hotel, Calangute in January 2008
having stayed at this hotel on quite a few occasions i must say the reception staff, room boys and waiters are exceptional. the rooms are cleaned daily with fresh bed linen. food great no complaints at all. if you fancy eating out or just having a drink step outside to zicos. great prices, great staff and great food. fantastic holiday. same time and place next year.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Tina Jones stayed at Osborne Hotel, Calangute, India in April 2007
23 of us stayed at The Osborne and we were split between phases II and III. Each of the rooms were different, basic but very clean. Our room boy Sam, was a delight, always leaving different arrangements out of the towels on the bed. Room was very spacious, cleaned daily with fresh towels.

Every couple of days the room boy will catch up with you to settle your mini bar bill, normally early evening. We never found this an inconvenience.

All staff were really friendly who couldn\'t do enough for you. As we were there at the end of the season, breakfast closed down in phase III and we had to go across to phase II for it. Some alcoholic drinks had also run out. Breakast consisted of tea/coffee, toast and jam and fruit juice. ...
Anything else is available at a small charge.

Pool size was good, though not many sunbeds. Also found that the pool was not really as clean as maybe it should have been but this could have been due to it being end of season.

All in all a very nice hotel and would recommend and return.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars
Share