Image of Osborne Hotel

Osborne Hotel

38 of 53 hotels in Calangute

3 out of 5 from 58 reviews
2 stars
Near St. Anthony's Chapel, Gauravaddo, Calangute, Bardez, Goa
The Osborne Resort is set in a peaceful location, landscaped with palm and coconut trees framing the sun terraces. The hotel consists of adjoining complexes offering basic accommodation. Each complex has its own swimming pool and restaurant.

58 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    21
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
keep away from this hotel
2 years 4 months ago
Do not stay here. Most rooms where being sprayed to kill the bed bugs. They charge 100 rupees a day for Wi-Fi and the reception staff are rude. We had to leave the room at 11am but where not getting picked up till 10pm at night, so we had to leave or bags at reception and did not have a room all day. We will go back to Goa but never this hotel. Goa is a great place and very cheap place we got 103 rupees to the pound, we are going back next year but not to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Whitey
6 years 6 months ago
Stayed at this hotel 4 times now and got to say that whilst we've enjoyed every holiday, the service has slipped badly - especially this last visit. Don't be put off staying here though as the location is good, the hotel has been clean on every visit (sheets & towels changed regularly) and there are plenty of restaurants and bars locally. Just be cautious about some of the staff. The majority of are ok - friendly and attentive - but there's a few who simply try to take advantage.
1) The boy that fills the fridge with drinks never has any change and always calls when the bill is a small total but one you'll probably round up and give him atip (e.g bill is 160 rupees and you give him 200). Always make sure you get the change otherwise he'll get increasingly worse as the holiday progresses.
2) Check the drinks you have out of the fridge and make sure the empties are taken away. One slipped extra empty bottle into my son's room and tried to charge saying my son had drunk it. If you are sure you haven't had the drink be firm and offer to go to the manager. It's amazing how quickly he backs down.
3) Keep a check on the drinks tab at the bar especially if there is a few of you and you have several drinks. Mistakes have been made with the number of drinks charged !!
4) Don't be surprised if the room boy tells you he is changing duties and won't be around at the end of your holiday - they're just trying to get a tip out of you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
John Ball
7 years 2 months ago
would never stay at this hotel again ,staff unhelpfull ,rooms dirty ,and overcharged ,with most meals and drinks,been in much better cheeper ,hotels in goa ,goa is Great but not in this dirty so called ,may i addd very smelly ,hotel
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Margaret Daintree
Very Helpful
7 years 2 months ago
My husband and I visited this hotel many times and always found everyone very helpful. On the times my husband was ill the attention he received was exceptional one extra perk was Zicos restaurant next door The DSouza family are exceptional and very friendly we got to know them well over the years and watched their business expand we could never have met nicer people I miss them all since my husbands death and hope to return someday .
Cleanliness:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 3 months ago
stayed at the osborne resort calangute,have stayed here many times in the past last year seemed to be slipping as regards customer care,this year confirmed it for us even though we had e.mailed and wrote letters to them asking for no ground level room and for accomodation in osborne two when we arrived we where told rooms are issued on arrival,we wre then taken to a room on the ground floor of osborne one,with a bed almost touching the walls on either side,dark and smelling very stongly of mould a room which at best would be used as a store not for three weeks accomadation which had been booked eleven months in advance,my wife and myself felt the room was intolerable so went back to reception to be told that is the only room available however on saying in that case we will take our money back or perhaps sleep in reception till a room became available suddenly there was one,this was on top floor in osborne three,now this room was an improvement on the first but all the electric points were broken so could not be used,windows and doors could not be closed and secured and lights had to be had on at all times we decided to make the best of it after being told we would be moved by friday this was sunday,thefollowing tuesday night i along with friends decided to have a last drink in the bar my wife saying she would continue to room 15 mins later she phoned to say key woul not open the door to the room i went up mtried the key to no avail so next door neighbor phoned reception,eventually someone arrived to have the same result after about half an hour the door was finally opened,so that night had to be kepy closed with a chair against it on the assurance that it would have a new lock fitted next day wednesday now that day we had arranged to go with friends for the day and then to the holiday truths meet at night which we did on arriving back at the hotel we went to our room to find a padlock on the hasp and stapel bolt on the door the door itself being still unlocked so i went to reception to ask for a padlock key so i could get into my room alas no one on duty knew anything about it,i wasnow not a little fed up and suggested they should look for a key after 15 mins of searching about one of them produced a key which was lying under the desk and said to me is this it i of course had no idea as the padlock was not there when i left on trying it it was so got into room another night with the chair for a lock and of course nothing had been done to electric points,next morning going down to breakfast we met james the manager who knew us from our previous stays there he asked how we were getting on etc.i told him about our problems but assured him we had been assured on several occaisions we would have room change next day(the friday)i also stated it seems that the more times you stay at osborne your rooms etc get worse most persons the first or second time get better conditions maybe to get repeat bookings,he said well you have known me for years if nothing is ok tomorrow come find me ,next morning 8-30 my wife went down to reception to be told we did not promise anything by the very person who did a blatent lie she was also quite rude offhand and uncaring saying no more rooms thats it at this point after giving them a week and no results i went to find the manager james,who said leave it with me within half an hour we were being moved to osborne one in an exellent room with no problems whatsoever and enjoyed very much our remaining two weeks,i dont know how we would have fared had we not known the manager and he not us ,in my oppinion the osborne needs to reflect on its customer care and the staff employed also some time needs to be spent on maintainence and deep cleaning,also a simple allocation system needs to be put in placeas i have said i have stayed here at least once sometimes three times a year over eight years along with other hotels i have noted a steady,downturn in standards at the osborne which needs to be halted,i have been given managers e.mail to keep in touch for when i next go but certainly the reps need to be taking a more active interest in conditions etc
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Smith
7 years 4 months ago

Me and my partner arranged this holiday with a group booking of 18 all who stayed at the Osbourne. I wont bore you will what ifs and excellence just how I found the hotel and staff.

On arrival staff tried to get me to purchase a A/C room for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
GEOGHEGAN
7 years 4 months ago
Having stayed in this hotel on 7 previous occasions i was very disapointed this time around. We arrived at 5.30am we were informed our room would not be ready until 9am. The room we were eventually given was not the best we have been in on previous occasions. Reception staff very unhelpful they were not the most friendliest people i have met. The pool was dirty with frogs in it during the day. Waiters were only nice to be people who spent a lot of time in the hotel eating and drinking.The hotel overall could do with a revamp to improve it to the way it used to be. Very disapointed this time i think it's time to check out alternative hotels.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Kendall
7 years 4 months ago
we stayed at the osborne in january ,but we will never go there again ,the staff where rude ,and the rooms where very dirty ,and in bad state,never again
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Jacquie Ivor
7 years 5 months ago
stayed at the Osborne for christmas I found the hotel great the rooms were cleaned daily lovely size rooms as we had the children with us we had a connecting door which was perfect to keep an eye on them we stayed in Phase 2 the bar staff were excellant especially Sandy and Joseph only ate breakfast here but that was fine Must admit the reception staff were a miserable bunch wouldn't hurt to crack a smile
Location was good with shops and bars and restaurants to hand I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again the only thing that needs attention is the towels they stink so I would bring your own apart from that great hotel 9 out nof 10
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
This was our 2nd time at the osborne and once again i must say that the hotel fitted my needs very nicely. The one complaint i had the last time was the waiters pestering you to buy tickets for various theme nights at the hotel. But they must have listened to the complaints because this year each person recieved 3 tickets per week to attend the buffet dinners free off charge. (probably added to holiday cost !) But with no pestering it made for a more relaxing atmosphere.
Never had breakfast but did attend 2 buffet nights which were adequate. My son joined us from another hotel on those nights and he had something from the menu and enjoyed very much. It certainly looked good.
I stayed in phase 3 this time and as before the rooms were basic but clean enough with clean towels and bedding every day. Though some new towels are needed to be invested in ! Would certainly use this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: