Image of Watamu Beach Club Hotel

Watamu Beach Club Hotel

3 of 3 hotels in Watamu

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Watamu Beach, Kenya

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Fallon And Jemma
10 years 2 months ago
Well,
Even thought the rooms were very basic you did not stay in them for long, the beds were comfortable and clean and they were cleaned daily, with fresh towels.

The food was average but ok considering the country, they had a variaty of foods, but did tend to be the same every week.

well i would advise to get lots of sleep on the plain as the journey to the hotel is very bumpy and long winded so not advisable if you are tiered..

The hotel staff are are very friendly and talkative and make you feel very welcome.

The entertainment crew were very pleasent and nice to get a long with.
The night entertainment was very basic ant tended to be the same every week, so we went to the near by bar where you were able to have a drink for cheaper and a dance, even though you did get pestered in there you just had to tell the locals No and they would leave you alone.. they were all very chatty and good to have a drink with.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: african safari club

Recommended
Bob
10 years 3 months ago
The Journey was Bumpy and interesting the first time you take it, the second and third time began to grate.

The welcome from the hotel staff was emotional and sincere, and a drink and hot face cloth was most welcome.

The rooms were simple but clean, the air con noisy but very efficient.

The food was very samey with fish or beef steak with various sauces.

In saying that as a fussy eater I survived quite easily.
The location of the hotel is fantastic the bluff is dynamic and you never tire of looking at it.

The beach boys were a pain but were very freindly.
The staff were always ready with a smile [except management who seem to run the place like a military junta] they were attentive, and very well spoken in several languages.

The entertainment was a good effort, well done, must try harder.

The band on fridays went down very well.

The hotel was better than we thought it would be overall I will return!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ASC

Recommended
Hatti & Bea
12 years 7 months ago
We went (February)in the dry season and the hotel was very quiet which made it more relaxing. The best thing about the hotel was the staff.

We made lots of friends especially the sports lads. we really enjoyed the holiday and are going back in February 2006.

The one thing you must be warned about are the local trades men on the beach(beach boys) they will try to sell their produce for extortionate prices so be prepared to barter!!!!!!! However the beachboys are not allowed onto the hotel premises this will only happen on the beach.
The beach was lovely and the sand is fine and white.

There is a wide variety of sports activities to play on an afternoon including beach vollyball, bowls, bowling, and a morning session of aquagym ETC.

The entertainment ranged from poor magic shows to excellent beach parties, and a gospel choir sang whilst you ate your evening meal.

You had 3 set meals breakfast, lunch and evening meal but at around 4pm each day they sold tea coffee and cakes on the terrace.

The people in the local village are lovely and friendly,you can either get someone from the hotel to take you or you could walk down on your own, I would advise you to take a guide on your first trip.

We also went on a safari, with african safari club excellent!!! We would recommend Kimana game lodge, were you will be well looked after by the locals.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: African safari club

Recommended
Julie Dyche
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel looked lovely on arrival, the thatched bungalows on the beach front are very pretty, but once inside are very basic and in need of a major make-over, the rooms had air conditioning but you could'nt keep it on at night as it sounded like an army of tanks going through the room, the rooms were cleaned every day and clean towels and bedding several times a week.

The food in the hotel was very bland, tasteless and repetitive, what you did'nt eat for dinner one night you got for lunch the next day with sauce added to it. The food was either luke warm or cold.

The local boys who work at the hotel were mostly friendly and helpful, but the holiday reps were unfriendly abrupt and unapproachable, entertainment saw the same dancers 3 times in a fortnight, a snake show, acrobats not my ideal of holiday entertainment, even new years eve the entertainment was gone by 10pm.

You were in a bay which was lovely but the tide was out most of the time so you could'nt swim, you had to go to the pool for dip. I would'nt recommend this holiday to any body, a definite no no if you have kids.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: asc

Bee-Ann Lim
12 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from a fabulous holiday at Watamu Beach Hotel with African Safari Club. Before going out there we had heard very mixed reviews about it so had a few reservations but could not find any real fault with the hotel or the company. Put simply, if you are the sort of person who likes to complain, you will find plenty to complain about, but if you are just out for a nice relaxing holiday and are happy to remember that you are in a third world country then you will be fine.

Make sure that you take
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: African Safari Club

Recommended
Pablo
12 years 11 months ago
Most of the rooms havent got air conditioning if you request for it the answer is`simply: this is africa
Food: always same choices, no variety 14 days of having same food every single day and night.

Drinks: very expensive specially water

#Safaris: you will be put in a bus acrossing Tsavo west only stoping for lunch (pack lunch: dry burger carton of juice, warm, and a lime) bus without air conditioning and in most cases wouldnt pass the mot in England.

The lodges created in the 70's hadnt change since, food again same thing. If you visit Kimara, very beatifull but no cats, no rhinos and you do same route 5 or 6 times a day

Hotel services and administration staff, cant do anything at all everything has to do with head office.

We did make formal complaints with letters from the hotel manager sugesting a full refund this was done near to a year a go we call about 5 or 6 times to the head office had no reply at all.

It was a very expensive holiday and it was the worst holiday I have ever been on.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: african safari club

Lynn
13 years 3 months ago
Due to our request that we would not like to stay in the Malaika on Shanzu [because of bad reports] spent approximately 3hrs in Watumu hotel, then demanded to be transferred to Sea horse, as it wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: asc

Paul
13 years 4 months ago
Hotel was nice, beach view was stunning, quite alot of seaweed though.

Rooms were basic but fine.

Food was ok but a little bland, no fear of putting too much weight on. Drinks were priced ok and were free at meal times.

Staff were very friendly. When we tipped our waiter early on the change in him was amazing, we couldn't drink fast enough at meal times.

Entertainment was ok but I have seen better in Kenya. Beach volleyball each afternoon was a must.

Nice holiday and good value for money at around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: African safari club

Recommended
14 years 4 months ago
Hi,
As I have reported on the chat forums about Kenya the hotel club watamu beach is supposed to be four stars but the only four star rating I would give it would be for the scenic beach location.

The hotel itself needs overhauling. As before the rooms in the lower grounds are like army barracks. The sockets are dangerously placed in most of the rooms with the only socket being over the sink in the bathroom. Highly dangerous. My extension socket consisted of three bare wires twisted around each other with a socket on one end and a plug on the other.

The rooms need a good lick of paint and the air-conditioning units need a modern replacement as nearly everyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: AFC

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.