13 independent reviews of the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Lhaviyani Atoll
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel Location
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Male


5/5
Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel is rated 4.77 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
100% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 5 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Out of this World"
Gareth had a holiday at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male in June 2012
We went here for our honeymoon in June 2012. We were hoping that the island looked just like the pictures and we were not let down. It was better. The staff and the facilities are excellent and nothing is too much for them. We had a room boy that visited twice a day everyday and treated us like royalty. Food was fantastic and a great variety.

Would highly recommend this island and resort to anyone.

Faultless.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Greg visited the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male, Maldives in December 2011
We went to Kuredu on Honeymoon. The accommodation (Beach / Jacuzzi) was simple, but comfortable. I wouldn't personally go for a Jacuzzi again. It was an unused extra. The food was excellent - even for all inclusive and the staff friendly, but not intrusive.

I would definitely go again, but not with Thomson First Choice whose service was nothing short of appalling. Their staff were badly trained and totally uninformed about delays etc. to the extent that I felt sorry for them. This was not what I expected for a top of the range holiday.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Excellent hotel, holiday reps were appalling"
Greg had a holiday at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male, Maldives in December 2011
We went to Kuredu on Honeymoon. The accommodation was simple, but comfortable. I wouldn't personally go for a Jacuzzi again, it was an unused extra. The food was excellent - even for all inclusive and the staff were friendly, but not intrusive.

I would definitely go again, but not with Thomson First Choice whose service was nothing short of appalling. Their staff were badly trained and totally uninformed about delays etc to the extent that I felt sorry for them. This was not what I expected for a top of the range holiday.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Very quiet and private"
Strawberry Whizz visited the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel in August 2010
Beautiful location. It is a large island and there are plenty of activities: diving, snorkelling, kayaks, banana and ringo watersports etc. The sea life is great, so much going on and the house reef stretched out either side of the pier, so there was plenty to explore. Even closer to shore there is plenty of sealife to watch as you snorkel back in from the reef. Husband dives and he had a great time with ProDivers. I made good use of the spa and had some wonderful treatments. The ginger tea they give you after the massage is very very nice.

The island is stunning, white sands, turquoise ocean, lots of greenery - it really is paradise. Very clean, there are people working all hours sweeping the leaves off the pathways. The wash rooms are very clean and smell of peppermint ...
which is really refreshing and uplifting. The island is quite isolated so you only see islands way off in the distance.

We stayed in a beach bungalow (room 404) this was perfect for us. It was very quiet and private on this side of the island. The beach and sea are better on the other side of the island, however it takes approximately four minutes to walk straight down the main route to the other side of the island. We thought the beach bungalows were in a great position and the aircon has a night setting so it doesn't get too cold and its not noisy. Best night's sleep definitely!

The food was great. Lots of choices. Breakfast was pastries, cakes, breads, homemade yogurt (which was amazing) cereals, omelets and eggs cooked to order, bacon, mushrooms, sauteed potatoes, beans. Lunch was just as good with salads, soup, breads, pasta cooked to order, vegetable curry, fish curry, pies, chicken in sauce - I think you get the picture; there was plenty on offer.

The all inclusive wine was really good, the red and white were very fruity and easy to drink. All the usual spirits are on offer and I recommend the rum and pineapple. Fresh mango juice is also on offer and this is very refreshing.

The staff were very amiable and friendly. Always smiling and happy to help. The welcome talk is worth attending to find out all about the facilities and you get to meet some real characters - lots of fun.

The entertainment is based around the bars, very low key. They do special nights such as crab racing and the white party which is stunning (they decorate the bar in white and everyone is asked to wear white and then they put on the ultraviolet lights!) There are shisha pipes available which is interesting to watch.

We visited the golf course - hubby played and said it was novel to play golf in the Maldives. The bar here is lovely - the scenery is so lush and the fruit bats swoop down to catch their supper to entertain you as you have a tipple. Very relaxing. The bar staff are really friendly and love to chat.

I would recommend this island and I would visit it again one day. Its great for families with teenagers as there is a pool, the snorkeling is fab and there's plenty going on if this is what you want. If you want a quiet, intimate holiday you can also achieve this as its a big enough island to find your own piece of paradise. Large islands are not everyone's cup of tea but we loved it and enjoyed our week here very much.

The seaplane transfer is exciting, though it is hot and cramped and noisy. We both agreed we preferred the boat transfer but Kuredu is too far away from the airport to go by boat (5 hours on a good day and up to 8 hours when the sea is rough).



Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Mr and Mrs Cox stayed at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel in April 2009
Well what can i say, the island is paradise, no words can dexcribe until you experience it yourself.
We were on our honeymoon and couldnt have asked for anything else.
We were lucky to be upgraded to a water villa for 2 weeks. The rooms were amzing the view onto the ocean was lovely. When you stepped out onto the decking you had 2 levels of decking to sit or sunbathe on.
Hotel food we could not fault, everything you wanted was there, and also the chef would cook food in front of you. The waiters again very friendly and would ensure you always had a glass of water. You could eat inside or out on the beach.
All inclusive drinks; there was not a lot of choice. Others you had to pay extra for. Happy hour 6-7pm for cocktails.
suitcases are taken away the ...
day before you fly and left at the airport for you.

Read More

Tour Operator: Kuoni

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Rach waspsgal visited the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male in June 2008
Just returned from Kuredu yesterday on our honeymoon and cannot fault the resort in anyway.
Rooms were so clean, we were lucky enough to have the new o\'beach villas. Restaurants and staff were so friendly and helpful. Roomboys who clean your room twice daily were very friendly and always stopped for a chat.
The food in our allocated restaurant was great, buffet with all meals so eat and drink as much as you like! Variety of food was great and the chef is always up for a chat while he cooks infront of you.

The island itself was kept in good order - no rubbish, staff always seen clearing pathways.
We booked in the monsoon season but that didn\'t bother us, the rain was so refreshing. And when it rains, it rains!

I recommend this resort to anyone. Just a magical paradise.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Claire visited the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male in November 2007
All inclusive great but as anywhere in Maldives cocktails and some spirits/drinks not included.

Food good but sometimes (as in Indian night) not a lot of choice if you didn\'t like chosen food.

Location beautiful, staff really helpful.

Entertainment not really our thing but okay if you like disco nights, bingo, quizzes etc. They try to please all with different bars with different things (i.e. quiet blues, disco and sports in different bars and just peaceful chill out in sunset bar- pool bar in eves was the \'in\' crowd!).

Would definitely go again. Like a little bit of paradise!

Tour Operator: Exploere travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

clark visited the Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male, Maldives in June 2007
This holiday was paradise and a lot better than expected. We met some fantastic people, Maureen and dougie, Elena, Susan and Alan, and a lot more. It was certainly not a quiet holiday we had approx 4 hours sleep a night for two weeks. It was hectic but fantastic.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

T. Hanson had a holiday at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male, Maldives in April 2007
We returned from two weeks on Kuredu on 19th April. We are

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kelly Jones stayed at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male in May 2006
We went to Kuredu on our honeymoon for 2 weeks and it was beautiful and we met a lot of other couples on their honeymoon too.

We had a beach villa about halfway up the island to the right of the jetty as you get there, bear in mind you can walk round the whole island in about 50 mins.

When you arrive in Male you are taken by bus to a big warehouse looking building where your hand luggage is weighed in and you wait for your sea plane transfer, it is very hot here so make sure you have water, although they do sell it there. Sea plane is fantastic and goes much higher than I thought they would. When you get off you are greeted in reception with a fruit juice and a cold flannel which is heaven. you ...
are booked in and given your room details, your luggage will come to your room later on as it comes but speed boat so make sure you have sun cream and bikini in your hand luggage(you will need it).

Rooms are gorgeous, although would definitely pay the extra for a beach villa as the bungalows are set back a bit from the sea.

You will have your own waiter for the duration of your stay as well as the same table so no clearing up, the service is fantastic and the staff cannot do enough for you.

The bed is even made up with flowers and petals when you arrive and they come round to turn your bed down every evening, you will also have the same room boy for your stay. My husband had a birthday while we were there and they laid our table up specially and made him a cake.

Resident geckos are everywhere but leave them in your room as they eat the mozzies (if you get any in your room) although beware the sand flies and do not lay directly on the sand as they bite.

Entertainment is ok, usual disco in the main bar and some games and competitions by the pool bar, but this is an island to relax and not to party.

Shop is a little expensive but it is the only one on the island so to be expected!

The food was fantastic and a lot cooked in front of you, a lot of their cooking is oil based but the Maldivian night was great and try the fish curry-they are caught fresh every day, you can see them bringing them in at the end of the jetty every night.

Water villa side is choppier sea but you will see turtles and great sea life this side, and reef sharks up by the beach(harmless).

Golf course is basic and you have to carry a small square of fake grass around to hit from on the greens which is very funny. full size driving range though. Water sports are very good here too.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Norman and Pat had a holiday at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel in March 2006
My wife and I went to Kuredu to celebrate our 30th wedding Anniversary, our first holiday alone since we married. The flight was long but the approach into Male was something else, looking out of the windows as you come in over the atolls is fantastic.

When we landed the time at the airport seemed to pass quite quickly and we were handing over our luggage to the island staff not to be seen again until it was in our room on the island later that night. Then came a highlight of the holiday, a seaplane transfer, superb. I was watching the sea taxis take off and land and really could not wait to get on board and experience it for myself. The views from this small plane where even more spectacular than the view form the jet.

On arrival ...
at Kuredu you are met off the plane by tow of the reception staff and then escorted along the quay to book in, on approach to the island the drums start up to welcome you, a very nice touch. The beach bungalow we stayed in was basic, but very clean and well maintained, although showering in the great outdoors did take all of one time to get used to. The room was made up everyday and you had clean towels for both the bathroom and the beach left in your room. The little gekkos which tend to share the room, were actually very cute, however the cockroaches outside were not.

It was very strange to see gangs of women sweeping the jungle everyday, and on you trip back to your room at night you could see the many bats that are on the island, during the day the lizards which inhabit the island made good photo subjects.

The island, apparently one of the largest has beautiful white talcum powder beaches, a football pitch, a small golf course, par three pitch and put holes all of them, but its a paradise. The large coconut palm trees, were shedding their fruit whilst we were there, a couple did fall well away from us though. The frigate birds flying above whist you sunbathed either by the pool or out in from of the bungalow. One of the highlights for me was the late night walk along quay, where there were not lights and you could look up and see the Milky Way, the first time I have ever seen it, no light pollution absolutely magnificent.

For the divers well its the Maldives and what more do I have to say, its everything you\'ve read and then some, my wife was into spotting fish whilst swimming along by the side of the quay, even here in the relative shallows you could see a whole range of reef fish including moray eels, she was very keen to snorkel everyday.

Another highlight was the day trip on board the Britt with Captain Mohammed, the man can smell manta rays, we snorkelled with four different groups of rays, what superb creatures, when the come towards you and then fly right over the top its just so fantastic, on the day trip we also swam with dolphins in relative open water, and the food on board was like ambrosia.

The food on the island was, well I put on a fair few pounds over the fortnight, the mango pieces were sweet and melted in your mouth, everything was perfect, and the staff in restaurant and you get your own dedicated waitress or waiter for you stay, superb and polite.

There is not much to do in the evening, there is limited entertainment, although the slide show by Pro divers was very very good, the local room boys gave a night of local dancing, with cracking open one or two the coconuts which fell from the trees. The slow pace of the evenings gave my wife and I time to chat with each other quietly, also with other guests as there was no loud music, this was a fantastic holiday, and one we will be repeating very soon.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

lorraine trueman stayed at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male, Maldives in November 2005
Wow what can you say, the place of dreams, i still constantly miss this place and would love to go back tomorrow if i could afford it. we went in november 2005 for our honeymoon. you must go. the beaches were to die for and we snorkelled every day was bliss.

Tour Operator: kuoni

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Jo Hardy stayed at Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel, Male in April 2005
Unfortunately the report says I went in 2005 but as 2004 is not mentioned, I thought I would mention it here, although I have to say that those 3 years have passed ever so quickly and the island is still fresh in my mind.

My husband and I had our first holiday without our daughter here in April 2004. We went with First Choice and although we flew ecomony, First Choice have since upgraded their planes and they are much better now. Also, they fly direct both there and back.

We upgraded to a water bungalow at the Sangu end of the island.

Upon arrival at the island those who have upgraded are whisked away in an a/c van to the other end of the island for a separate reception and given an iced flannel and iced drink as part of ...
the checking in procedures. This island is a \"no news no shoes\" island, there is no t.v. in your room and the whole island is sand, even in the bar and restaurant.

Your luggage will arrive sometime after you if you have booked to go by seaplane transfer.

The food here was varied everyday with various cuisines. All food is buffet style and is not left standing at any point. Some of the dishes are prepared for you there and then (especially eggs in the morning or omelettes).

All 50 water bungalows have private balconies, but the verandas are open to view (we were in the middle of the group and never overlooked). Word of warning, when coming back to your room at lunchtime take some flip flops as the boards get very very hot in the midday sun.

My husband and I sat in the same place everyday underneath the palm trees near the end of the island at the spit. We were lucky to see half a dozen people or so at any one time during the day (except at meal times). Most were diving or out on excursions.

The house reef was ok (I have seen better since going back to a different island). And if you are lucky enough you will get to swim with turtles around lunchtime in the shallows on the jetty side of the island.

We had a couple of nice meals in the a\'la carte restaurants (you have to pay for these but you do get 25% off for being in the Sangu end). It made a welcome change to have a pizza, or a lobster meal.

We did the free sunset cruise, and paid for one other. We took a day\'s excursion on the Britt yacht and it was well worth the money. You are taken to various snorkelling sites. All drinks (non-alcoholic) are provided and you have snacks and a full lunch on board. The yacht only takes 10 people. Best trip I ever done. Don\'t forget some small change for tipping.

Water was not included in the all-inclusive package - half price for those at Sangu end. If you drink red wine it is served at room temperature (which is very warm in UK standards). I drank mine with ice (odd I know but was much more nicer to drink that way). Local beers, spirits, wine and tea and coffee all included.

The water bungalows were lovely and very nicely decorated. Plain and simple - wooden throughout with black wrought-iron furniture. Have to say that the a/c was not quite powerful enough during the day but certainly sufficient by night.

Two sinks in bathroom with a walk-in shower. Towels were provided for both the room and the beach (although we did take our own).

You were able to access the water from your room which was very nice if you didn\'t fancy going to the beach.

Mosquitos not generally a problem, but they tend to like me as a rule. Didn\'t see anything creepy or untoward from the animal kingdom.

Hope you enjoyed reading this report. I know it\'s old but it will give you an insight into my holiday. You could always try the forums too at www.kuredu.com.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share