Image of Santa Lucia Hotel

Santa Lucia Hotel

11 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

4 out of 5 from 64 reviews
3 stars
Calle de Duc Estremera 6, 07180 Palma Nova, Majorca, Spain
The popular Santa Lucia has one of the finest positions in Palma Nova; standing on a rocky headland between beaches of Son Matias and Palma Nova. Due to be refurbished before Summer 2004, the superb location along with the excellent facilities make it a great.

64 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    41
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Has gone downhill
6 months ago
I have stayed in this hotel for years and it was a fantastic hotel, the jewel in the crown of the lovely resort of Palma Nova. Globales have ruined this hotel, the worst all-inclusive I have ever been in. Cocktails from a machine, but if you’re paying you get beautiful cocktails made fresh, stale sandwich or a little sponge cake is the only snack you can get in the afternoon, you want that sandwiched toasted, you have to pay for it. It took us three days to find out what we could have all inclusive, only hot food between meals is 10-12pm in the restaurant, and we didn't see anyone in it all week, because no one knew.

Kids were running the entertainment who were French and from an agency. All the guests were British. Watched them running about, screeching into the microphones, never seen a hall empty so much at night, even the bar staff were covering their ears. People were playing bowls through the day on a wooden bridge over the pool, the racket was horrendous, and bang goes a quiet week sunbathing.

Internet.. 4star hotel that only gives you a half hour per day, or pay through PayPal, £4.80 per day. That is only a tiny bit of the bad service at this hotel, to cap it all off, an early call came 10 mins late. No one knew that the restaurant was open an hour early for travellers. No one told you and it wasn't on any paperwork, we were raging when we went down for the bus and saw it open, as we could have had a cuppa.

I love this hotel and have had many great family holidays there, 4 stars is definitely for location. Rooms are exactly the same as they were 25 years ago. Globales should have a look at the all-inclusive in the Iberostar hotel group, it is outstanding, and you are not made to feel like a second class citizen. I suggest updating the rooms, and providing free internet in the day.

Globales could do with some mystery shoppers in there hotels.

Isabella Clyde - Iclyde661@hotmail.com.

Feel free to ask me questions before you book xxxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Benjie
Ideal location
2 years 6 months ago
We recently stayed at The Santa Lucia & really enjoyed our stay. The location is excellent, right on the beach. Because of the way the hotel juts out onto the beach every room has a sea view. Rooms are bright & were cleaned every day. Restaurants & bars were both very good & staff in both were always friendly & polite. My only niggle with this hotel is that for its size the pool area is on the small size & although there were plenty of sunbeds there were nowhere near enough parasols.

Central for shops & bars, so this hotel has an ideal location.

Not a complaint more of an observation, both me & the wife are in our early Fifties & we were one of the youngest couples there & at times it did seem to look like a retirement home, so for our age plus it was perfect but not really for youngsters.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bob & Lynda Anderson
Immaculately clean
5 years 7 months ago
Palmanova is 20 minutes from the airport and has excellent bus links to other parts of the island.

The facilities include a water park, amusement park, go karting, mini golf and more shops and restaurants than you can shake a stick at

The hotel sits on a headland between 2 beaches in the centre of Palmanova, hence every room has a sea view.

There are 8 floors, dining room, lounge, and piano bar, indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor is heated. Reception with internet access. A small shop which does everything including the hire of kettle and cups, wheelchairs and motorised wheelchairs.

There is a book hire scheme, the proceeds of which go to charity.

There are 3 lifts and there is seldom a problem getting one.

The rooms are well appointed with Satellite TV, hairdryer and the usual complimentary consumables in the bathroom. The showers are great, very powerful.

There is a mini-bar and safe, at extra cost.

The beds were just right for us.

The staff are great, some people were overheard complaining that they were ignorant, but just taking the effort to learn the rudimentary Spanish like Please and Thank you goes a long way. Otherwise who are the ignorant ones.

The whole Hotel is kept immaculately clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jean Barnett
7 years ago
We loved this hotel the location is excellent.We had a lovely sunny room overlooking the pool and beach.We could have just sat on the balcony and enjoyed the view it was really lovely.the food was very good it suited my husband and I, we both have dfferent tastes.we had fish chicken lamb pork, lovely salads and plenty of sweets.The hotel is spotless, the dining room staff are not very pleasant but the staff on the door were lovely.If you want a sunbed early its the usual getting up early and waiting till the pool opens.There just arn't enough sunbeds
The down side was it is 50 euroes for a safe for 2 weeks and what I feel is expensive you have to pay for the fridge 37 euroes for 2 weeks.That is the best part of a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 2 months ago
best hotel in palma nova
food is excellent,typical menu was,salmon,pork chops.sea bass.lasagne,also lots of salad and cold meats on offer.
superb location right on the beach.
only downside was it is hard to get a sun bed at the pool side or sun terrace unless you get up early
all in all a superb hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Angela And Friends
7 years 4 months ago
This hotel is exellent,and can recommend it to anyone who wants a spotlessly clean hotel, good food, and exellent location. It is a three star hotel, but is better than some four star hotels i have stayed in.
The food is very good with the main emphasis on british food.A very varied menu.
There was even a sunday roast, beef and yorkshire pudding, the beef melted in your mouth. Apple pie and custard for sweet,or bread and butter pud, a selection of ice creams, gateaux , fresh fruit salad etc.
Breakfast was great too, bacon was tasty and not the usual sloppy fatty bacon you usually get. There was even porrige on offer!! Food was so good that we never ate out at all, which was unusual for us, as in other hotels we have been fed up of the food.
The location of the hotel is great right on the beach,which is lovely, every room has a sea view. There are bars resturants shops near by.
Hotel staff were very polite and helpful.
Entertainment is exellent, english speaking acts, which were top class. There is a main lounge where there is the main caberet,when that finishes, you can go into the bar where there is another entertainer , usually a singer.
I will definately be visiting this hotel again, and would like to say that the facilites are exellent for disabled as there are four adapted rooms if required, they esch have a walk in shower,and grab rails.
There also a hire service if you need disabled aids, there are even mobility cars which are kept in the hotel reception.
There is a shop within the hotel which is run by a british couple, it is reasonably priced, cheper to buy your water , soft drinks , lilo's etc from there. The shop also runs a hire service, which was useful as i had forgot the travel kettle and mugs, i was able to hire these for nine euros.
Cant wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lorna
7 years 6 months ago
We Have Previously Stayed At Santa Lucia But Found The Standards And Service Have Gone Down The Food Was Very Repetitive Ok If You Like Fish And Veal Over And Over Again.The Thompson Rep We Had Dealings With Obviously Has No Customer Service Skills ,She Was Extremely Rude And Abusive To My Family .The Maids Did Not Bother To Speak To Anyone Most Of The Restaurant Staff Were Fairly Pleasant But Some Didnt Care If They Spoke Or Not There Was No Kiddies Food Section Apart From 1 Day And There Wre A Lot Of Children ,What The Poor Little Mites Found To Eat I Dont Know I Will Never Return To This Hotel Again And Neither Will My Family.I Do Not Recommend This Hotel If You Want A Stress Free Holiday .Shame It Used To Be Lovely

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Palmer
7 years 7 months ago
We travelled out on a late deal, We could not really find any really probelms, everything was cleaned every day, and food always fresh and good choices. The staff dont chat much but then again they are always busy.Entertainment a bit hit and miss but it was only the start of the season.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Wood
7 years 10 months ago
i would recommend the santa lucia to everyone. we stayed for a week over christmas and just had the best time, the food was wonderful especially christmas eve, christmas day and boxing day, as the hotel put on special gala dinners on these days which were superb.we thought the entertainment was great, sam and sonia worked so hard to ensure everyone had a good time,christmas eve was lovely they children all got stockings,christmas day there was a visit from santa and a lovely present. i would just like to say a big thank you we had the best christmas ever
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
R. Gannon
8 years 1 month ago
Excellent hotel with prime position between 2 beaches.
Staff very friendly, especially room cleaners. Food in restaurant is very good with a wide choice of salads and main dishes and sweets. Always a choice of 2 different soups. dining room staff very efficient and we never had to wait to be seated.
Nice little shop in foyer although the lilo's we bought from it kept going down, they willl re-inflate them free though, but that's a bit of a drag.
The rooms were very clean with fresh towels each day and sheets changes twice a week. Only gripes, the pillows were not very comfortable also the adjoining door let every noise from next door, even normal speech heard clearly. Pool sunbeds reserved early each morning which means unless you are prepared to queue very early, you do not stand a chance of getting one, even though it is against hotel rules. The most annoying thing about that is the fact that once they are covered with towels, a lot of them seem to be empty for long periods.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: