Image of TRH Torrenova Hotel

TRH Torrenova Hotel

27 of 37 hotels in Palma Nova

3 out of 5 from 27 reviews
3 stars
Carrer de Torrenova, 25 07181 Calvià, Spain

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Sam
7 years 6 months ago
this hotel is an absolute joke! our advise would be to avoid staying here.
the hotel food was alright but exspensive, we never stayed for any entertainment so cant comment on that, though the pool area was good with a great view.
its location was'nt to bad as its not far from the pubs and clubs the only problem was if you didnt have a heart attack getting up that hill to get to the hotel you may get mugged at the top which one of the boys we were with did,(so be careful if alone going up there at night)
hotel staff was a waste of time as one of the others we went with had their case broken into and stuff stolen, yet the only people that had keys was employees.
yet it was'nt there problem?
it also was'nt very clean all that seemed to get done was beds made and bins changed.
we wont be returning!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
8 years 4 months ago
As mentioned this is no longer a Barcelo hotel but a TRH Hotel.

Booking was Allocation On Arrival, our first rooms were 512 and 513 (apart from 511 these are are among the worst rooms in the hotel). The balcony was more like a bunker and at eye level was a path that ran along the front of the hotel. Slightly higher than this was some grass and higher still the wall to the main road, topped with metal railings.
The path was used daily by the maids to throw dirty water onto (having cleaned the rooms further along), so we watched this flow past when cleaning took place (sporadically !!).
At night it all goes wrong....under 20's go out around midnight for their night of binge drinking and god knows what in Magalluf (yes this hotel is in Magalluf and NOT Palma Nova) and return at 7am, urinating in the corridors, kicking and banging other residents rooms, shouting and singing in all languages and climbing between floors using the balcony's and gutter pipes.
At 7.45am the bin men come and empty the giant bins left on the road with the noisiest dust cart in the world and as a bonus they also do the bottle bank a couple of times a week (can you imagine what bottle bank sounds like when it's turned upside down outside your window?).
Rooms were dirty, kitchens not fully equipped, a dangerous looking kettle and a few knives and forks were all we had, along with a disgusting fridge.
Toilet paper from previous guests stayed under the sofa bed for the entire time we were in the room and maids rarely visited. The air-con in both our rooms broke and 3 sleepless nights were encountered until staff reluctantly agreed to move us to 420 and 421 (nice rooms down a single corridor of 10 apartments overlooking the sea).
These rooms were much cleaner and slightly better equipped but we only saw maids twice between Wednesday and Saturday and no clean towels were left.
Avoid if you have children as the entertainment was dire and would not stimulate your child.

95% of guests were under 20 and on Stag/Hen parties.

Avoid....
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sarah
9 years 4 months ago
After reading the reviews on this site, i was a little wary of staying in this hotel. But i have to say i was pleaseently suprised...
The view from the pool area and 90% of the rooms is absolutely stunning, the pool is very big with lots of sunbeds, no problem with getting a sunbed at any time of the day, the pool bar food & drinks are quite expensive and the the staff are pretty ignorant, so i advise just going over the road to the shop for a snack. We had absolutely no problem with the life guard or the pool area, we were allowed lilo's, balls etc and didin't see anyone being spoken to by the lifeguard even though we were quite silly in the pool most days!. i would also recommend going down to the cliff area (down the steps at the pool) as it is lovely & peaceful and there is space for jumping & swimming in the sea (if you dare)
the reception staff are friendly and speak good english, it seems that nearly all the rooms (because of the shape of the building) have a sea view, if you do not get one then i would complain because the view is just fantastic, the rooms were a good size and had all the basic requirements, the one complaint i have is that the rooms are not cleaned that well and it really lets this hotel down. we had to ask for clean towels after 3 days and it seemed the only cleaning done was beds mades and floors mopped.
We went as 3 families (8 adults 4 children) and we found this to be a pleasent environment for the children, yes there were groups of young people but these never caused any problems for us, the hotel is a real mix of families, groups and couples.
the hotel is not far from magaluf beach, which is a lovely beach (nicer than palma nova beach)The hotel is in a peaceful area but is on a steep hill, but i was more than happy to be situated on it as the views compensated for the hill. if you turn right from the front of the hotel you can get a much less steep walk into palma nova, but i'm afraid if you want to go to magaluf you have got to go left from the hotel, which means walking down 'the hill'
i would advise this hotel to anyone who wants a basic 3 star hotel, but with good pool & sea views, but be aware the hotel is probably located more in the magaluf area than palma nova, it is a 5 min walk to the edge of palma nova, it is another 10-15 mins walk into the centre of palma nova.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Elaine Whittle
9 years 5 months ago
Booked this hotel as it was advertised as a Barcelo Hotel. This hotel has been taken over by TRH and is certainly not of Barcelo standard.

The noise at night was unbearable. Party revellers came in at all sorts of silly hours. Then the bin men turned up at 7:45 every day (even Sunday..!) Not good if you are the side of the hotel we were on...

Booked on half board basis. Food not bad, but not brilliant. Ate in most evenings, but decided to eat out for breakfast as one of the waitresses was very rude on more than one occasion. So decided best to avoid her. Very strict around the pool area. No lilos in pool and it seemed to be against the rules for children to play....!! Health and Safety taken to the max. After all what can a three year old do with a football..?

Maid service nearly every day, but everytime they came we only received two sets of anything when I had paid for three adults. Had to complain to reception about towels not being changed. There was only one maid, on one day of our holiday who made any effort. The bathroom was cleaned...!!!! and the third bed was made.

Location : If you are bad on your feet or don't do hills. Then this hotel is not for you. We have a daughter 15 who struggled with this after the first week. It is just on the outskirts of Magaluf which is only for anyone who likes to drink a lot and party hard.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Jill And Kevin
10 years 4 months ago
Lovely pool area plenty of sun beds, rooms very basic and are not very clean the floor was always dirty were maids never washed it.

Location is at top of hill (torture when you've had a few drinks at night) it says its on the beach you have to walk down a steep hill then 100 steps to get to beach.

Food and drink at pool side bar is expensive.

Can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lesley,debbie And Family
11 years 3 months ago
My family and myself have just returned from our 7th year at the Barcelo Torrenova we love it & we are booked to go again next year.

We find the staff to be nothing more than very friendly and nothing seems to much bother for them the reception staff will phone for taxis for you when you need them. And as for the bar staff Miguel, Anna & Eva they are really nice & we get on very well with them they welcome us back with hugs & kisses every year.

The entertainment staff are terrific but have their work cut out for them it's not an easy job but Nora, Kirsty & Christian do work very hard and try to get everyone involved in the activities during the day and at night they are great.

The food in the dining room is quite good but could do with more variation & maybe intoduce a childrens menu.

The hotel itself is in a great location all though it is up a very steep hill but the view you get from this hotel is second to none.

Can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
I had been to this hotel on a couple of occasions before and I would highly recommend it (especially to families with young children).

The hotel rooms are basic but clean. Our rooms were cleaned about 4 times per week and if we needed clean towels in between the cleaners coming we just asked the reception.

The reception staff are very friendly and would book taxis etc for you too.

The hill everyone calls cardic arrest hill is quite steep but I smoke at least 20 cigs a day and I managed it with no problems.

Anyway you can walk round the long way and avoid the "big" hill if it is too much for you.

The view you get from these apartments is the best. You can sit on your balcony and dream the world away as you watch the planes taking off and landing at palma airport in the distance or watch the cruise liners sailing past.

The entertainers are brill!!!. Nora, christian and kirsty certainly kept my kids entertained. We got involved too and had brilliant fun.

I wanted to go somewhere different in 2006 but my kids are insisting that we return to barcelo torrenova again, if their happy then so am I cause at least I know we will have a good time again.

I have booked again for august 2006 but have saved myself
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Nicky
12 years 2 months ago
We arrived at 10pm, check-in was quick and efficient and all the staff we came in contact with were excellent. The hotel was spotlessly clean and we where never woken by the maids to clean (even when we where still in bed at noon).

The only drawback we found was 'cardiac hill' but every cloud has a silver lining - in our case several bars on the way up, esspecially the nice guys at international lira opposite the florida 2 and next to the everest resturant.

I would strongly recomend any-body staying at the barcelo torrenova stops for a drink in any of the several bars on the hill to ease the way. Besides that bloody hill, i would recomend the hotel to everyone, our view was across the sea towards palma, and we finished every night with a drink on the balcony watching planes in total silence. The only sound was the water below. Heaven.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rachael
12 years 2 months ago
We visited Barcelo Torrenova for 2 weeks. we went self catering but we still ate in the hotel and were very satisfied with the quality of the food.

The cleanliness of the hotel was very good the maid was very friendly and none of our stuff went missing.

The location was good except for the hill yet we got used to it.

The hotel staff were very nice, the bar maids were extremely nice, and the same with the receptionists.

The entertainment team were excellent, top of the range. The hypnotist was very good, the entertainer Christian took part and that was very amusing, also Nora is great she makes everyone giggle and loves kids.

I would and have recommended this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lloyd
12 years 2 months ago
I had never been abroad before and found this hotel very pleasant to be in.

The staff were very nice and the entertainment team was great as they get everyone involved.

We had a great view of the sea from our balcony and in the distance Magaluf beach was clearly seen.

You can decide what beach you want to visit from this hotels front doors by either turning right to go to Palma Nova or left to Magaluf, either way you will be able to find your way back to the hotel as both resorts connects to each other, you will get used to it after having a walk around.

We had no problems at this hotel and I would recommend it unless you are disabled as there is a hill.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: