Image of Aguamarina Club Hotel

Aguamarina Club Hotel

3 of 8 hotels in Arenal d En Castell

4 out of 5 from 136 reviews
3 stars
Es Mercadal, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Spain
With direct access to a beautiful sandy beach, this hotel is an excellent choice for families. Lively and friendly, with a superb range of amenities that will keep guests of all ages entertained.

136 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    43
  • Very Good
    61
  • Good
    18
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tracy Cupit
great for family holiday
4 years 3 months ago
Just returned from this hotel with my husband and 11 year old son. The hotel was very clean, room was ok a bit on small side but we had a great view. Our son had a fantastic time with the animation team, the girls from which were fantastic and kept kids entertained all day. The food was nice but repetative. It is great that kids can get their own drink when they want. Weather was good a bit cloudy a few mornings. It was easy to catch bus to mahon or fornells bus stop 1 minute from hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Wally Batten
Good for families
5 years 4 months ago
Hotel was quite clean and the room was adequate, but there was no table on the balcony, which was a bit awkward.

The food was not too good and even if you were one of the first in was lukewarm. We tended to stick to the salads which were quite good.

The outside bar by the pool was a lovely sun trap but on the one day it rained quite heavily this area was waterlogged with water pouring out of a drain on the roof onto the area.

The entertainment for kids was really food and I would definitely recommend this hotel for families.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Anne Arundale
Beaches were lovely
6 years ago
Had a fab time first time in Menorca and defiantly would visit this hotel again. Our 2 year old grandson loved the pools and the mini disco.

Rooms were clean and well-spaced even with the extra small be in the area was clean and even though there were only a few bars and shops it was what we wanted from the holiday.

The beaches were lovely a good time had by all there was only one night one food was not at all good but rest of time ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Great food, great rooms, needs a bit of an update
6 years 1 month ago
Can't understand previous criticisms of food. OK this is a large hotel and restaurant does have a busy school dinner like feel to it but there was loads of choice. At breakfast, continental buffet, omelette station, full English anything you wanted. Lunch and dinner there was salads, soup, hot and cold dishes and pasta, can't think how more choice could be provided. If I wanted to be picky bacon was not brilliant like in all of Europe and puddings the same most nights.

Block A v Block B. Yes block A has the best sea views and bar terrace and other nationalities are placed here but Block B is fine, rooms the same and you can serve yourselves tea, coffee, soft drinks, beer and wine whereas block a is bar service only.

Contrary to other reviews I did not find hotel at all noisy and slept very well, but beds are a bit hard. Daily maid service, towels changed every day whether you put them in the bath or not. Again if I wanted to be picky no table on the balcony, balcony floor was sandy and not swept all week and bath plughole didn't drain.

Would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Nicola
7 years 1 month ago
stayed here (family of 3) in june/july 2010. 20mins away from the airport which was great! fast and easy check in no hassell. 22euros for fridge hire for the week and also for saftey deposit box.
rooms were quite small but we wer hardly in them so wasnt a big deal, had a pool view which was nice but would have loved a sea view, it was stunnin at night time. clean hotel rooms cleaned every day and fresh towels which is a bonus. sun loungers haha well if your not fast your last is what they say haha if your'e not there by 8am putting down your towels well you've had it.
my son who is 5, wanted to do the day time activities but you had to be 13 or over we wern't told before we went. night time was good mini disco great for kids! but a bit noisey if you want a quiet night in!
Drinks were expensive, 7euros for a magners!!!!!!! they changed there mind all the time, so we ended up buying them from the supermarket and taking them out with us haha!
FOOD..... this was the only down fall. i could not wait to go home to get fed i was starving!!!! as was my partner and my son. at first we thought we wer fussy but the more people we spoke to they said the same. they definatly cater more for spanish! if they had more for english it would hav been fantastic. if the food changes i would definatly go back in a minute!! but overall we made the most of our holiday and met some really nice people. xxxx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mrs Harris
7 years 1 month ago
We have just come back from the Agua Marina very dissatisfied, the pools were excellent along with the weather, our room was very small in block b, twin beds and 2 camp beds which we had to replace 3 times due to them breaking. Very noisy at night, mini disco for the children 8.30-9 was good and adult entertainment was good, i wish we saw more of our reps as they were only seen during day, we had spanish reps entertaining the children in the evening. The resturant gets very busy and their is a lot of queing, the variety of food is poor, chips, pizza, veal, pork and pasta. The beach is lovely just a short walk down some steps. We found the bar staff very rude. Also the hotel apparently caters for 1,000 people, but the kids club only takes 24 children so its first come first served.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Betts
Great for families
7 years 2 months ago
Stayed in the Aquamarina for 14 nights in July/August. First impressions not good probably as it was cloudy and the hotel looked like a prison block! Checked in room not huge but enough room for our gear, one complaint our son had a camp bed and 3 of the slats were missing but reported to reception and they changed it straight away.

We were in block B that had no sea views which was a bit disappointing as the views out of block A were fantastic. Plenty for kids to do our son who is 14 struggled a bit to find mates as lots of young children in the hotel but he enjoyed joining in with the adult games during the day. Didn't bother getting up early for sunbeds as we sunbathed on the grass overlooking the bay and the views were stunning.

Food a bit samey especially after 2 weeks if you like salads and fruit then great, apart from the chicken the other cuts of meat looked rather odd.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, bar staff not so good, I don't think I saw one smile the whole fortnight! Good points were that beer, water and soft drinks on tap so no queuing which was great.

Entertainment really boring apart from the Beijing act who were amazing. Buses to Mahon and Fornells from outside the hotel.

Would definitely go to Arenal again but not to this hotel but great if you have very small children.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Drewery
Booked to return already!
7 years 2 months ago
My children enjoyed being here so much we have booked to come next year along with another family who stayed there in 2006. Everyone was polite and helpful. The cleaners, both grounds and hotel, worked hard and by all account the majority of staff are long term employees.

Brochure slightly misleading with pictures of A block only but couldn't fault b block at all. Sun loungers where 1st down best bagged, but all in all seemed to be plenty to go around. Pools excellent and regularly cleaned and checked. Entertainment for all ages great the animation team had endless energy. Drink prices dearer then out side bars but going all inclusive next year to solve that small hickup.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarah, Jon & Megan
7 years 2 months ago
The Aguamarina dominates the area, overlooking the beach. It is mainly an all inclusive hotel but we were based on half board. Food was ok, same kinds of things every day but we always found something to eat. My big gripe about the restaurant is that if you are AI, you can have a drink, but there is no facilities to even purchase one on half board so we had to make do with a glass of water with our evening meal. The price of drinks in the hotel weren
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson/First Choice

SANDK42
7 years 3 months ago
I am such a snob and I always book 4 star holidays - however this time we booked a 3 star and we went to the resort of Arenal de Castell in Menorca. We stayed at the agaumarina and had an absolutely amazing time. The resort staff were brilliant and we have never gone to the same hotel twice - but we are in the process of taking 2 other families with us next May. We loved it!!! Stunning beach right on the doorstep of the hotel - roll on next May!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS C OOK

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.