Image of Cay Beach Meloneras Apartments

Cay Beach Meloneras Apartments

3 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Calle Mar Baltico, 35100 Meloneras, Spain
An attractive complex at the heart of the tourist area of Melonera. With sea views from parts of the complex and 3 swimming pools to relax by, guests may also wish to choose from any of the various beaches, golf course and sports centres in the area.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Moss
10 years 5 months ago
The bungalows were spotless. We have never stayed in such a big apartment, we had 2 floors with a bedroom and bathroom on each. The tv only had foreign channels except BBC world. We had a constant drip in the downstairs bathroom, from the air conditioning (we think).

We did report it but nothing was done. It was very quiet, there are 3 pools and lots of sun beds available all day. the snack bar was very strict on times you could only order from the breakfast menu up to 11am. The disco bar was not open the whole time we were there, which was disappointing for our children.

If you turned left at the bottom of the hill you come to restaurants and bars but they were very expensive. We took a taxi into Playa Ingles and ate there on an evening. The children enjoyed the 'kasbah' and 'grand chapperell'.

Palmitos park was excellent well worth the money. We would go back there again, it was great not to have to rush for a sun bed and be able to sleep at night. Taxis are so cheap so Cay beach is a great base.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: portland direct

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
This was our second visit to these apartments and we feel the standard had slipped from our first visit. Maid service was 5 times a week and the cleaning was OK but the apartment we had needed a thorough clean (dust on window sills, dust balls up corners and under beds)Apts have a kettle, toaster and microwave all in good working order but some of the plates, glasses etc need to be replaced as they are chipped.

We generally found the staff to be pleasant and helpful with the exception of the barman in the Jules Verne bar who seems to have a bad attitude towards us British. The maintenance guys did a terrific job.

We reported a problem with our patio door (it wouldn't lock) and they were there in double quick time and fixed it. The pool areas are cleaned everyday with enough sunbeds to go around.

We found the on site supermarket to be well stocked and reasonably priced. The apts are located in a quiet position but it's a fair walk up a steep incline from the restaurants, shops and beach, possibly not good for those with walking difficulties. That said it's only a couple of euros to the shops and restaurants in a taxi.

Entertainment, if you can call it that is extremely poor. The week we were there it consisted of a very bad Elvis impersonator and a reptile show. The day time entertainment is for the children only and consists of mini golf and colouring.

Thankfully the week we were there the weather was lovely so our children were content to play in the pool or on the beach. The majority of people staying here tend to be German, which was OK with us but frustrating for our children as they couldn't communicate or play with the other children.

Would we go back to the Cay Beach again - possibly but only because we like the resort so much and there doesn't seem to be any other self catering apartments around.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Cath
11 years ago
We travelled to this hotel, after reading other reviews. The apartments were excellent, very clean and up to an excellent standard.

Our apartment was right beside the second pool, so nice and quiet away from the main reception and pool bar. We had a four year old in our group and she really enjoyed the pool and also the kids club.

You couldn't do much cooking, as the kitchen area is very basic. The pool bar had a very good menu, which we used for lunch on a couple of occasions.

The apartments are quite a walk away from any of the restaurants, we found if you turned right at the bottom of the hill, those restaurants were closer and also cheaper than those on the left, and the food was excellent in those restaurants.

The hotel staff were very friendly. Our rep was on site most days, and we found him to be very helpful.

I would go back to this hotel, although I would leave it a few years as the area is still being developed and I sure it will be even better then.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mark Kelby
11 years ago
The hotel is a low rise, bungalow/appartment complex set on the top of a hill overlooking the sea. It is only 3 years old and has been maintained in excellent order.
It is kept impeccably clean inside and out with maid service 5 days a week for the accommodation and gardeners and maintenance men constantly around.

The hotel food is reasonable but as we were bed and breakfast we only used the restaraunt once for our evening meal. Breakfast was a little "frantic" and I got the impression that they may have been a liitle overwhelmed by the influx of families holidaying over half term. However, any shortfalls were quickly sorted when pointed out to the staff.

The entertainment was held in the Jules Verne "disco bar" which was under the main restaraunt and was uncomfortably hot by the time it opened at 9pm. We would have preferred to sit on the terrace in the evening sun and have a few drinks but this is not possible.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Forsyth
11 years 3 months ago
Our party contained 4 adults and 6 children ranging in age from 5 to 16. We picked the Cay Beach pretty much at random as there are not many reviews around (this is a pretty new hotel in a pretty new resort).

LOCATION:
The Cay Beach is NOT in the centre of Meloneras - it's about 10-15 minutes walk from the main resort centres (of which there are 2, both of which are on the promenade) - the hotel is set back from the seafront and is something of an uphill trek to reach after a day on the beach or a stroll back from the shops. Expect to make frequent use of taxis (which are quite cheap and readily available). Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas are no more than 10 minutes maximum away by taxi.

APARTMENTS:
Apartments are on 2 floors and are very spacious, clean and well presented. Upstairs is a large en-suite double bedroom with balcony, downstairs contains bedroom, bathroom, kitchen-diner and living room with bed-settee if required. There is also a sun-terrace downstairs and a useful enclosed area next to the kitchen for drying clothes. Maid service is daily, towels changed frequently and sheets changed on request. These apartments are amongst the best we have seen and up to 4 star standard in my opinion.

HOTEL COMPLEX:
Cay Beach covers a big area, it has 100+ low-rise apartments, 3 swimming pools (one with a very good snack bar) for adults and 1 for kids, 4 jacuzzis, a tennis court and mini golf. There is free daily entertainment for the kids (which does get a bit repetative, but seemed to be quite well-attended).

There is a restaurant on site, at which we ate once (our first night), and found to be absolutely awful (cold, uncooked food - which we sent back and received no apology or discount). We didn't eat there again and there is no need to, due to the huge amount of choice within 5 minutes taxi-ride.

Also on site is a supermarket (which is well-stocked and quite reasonably-priced) and a bar which was usually empty (and expensive). There was entertainment 2 nights per week, a wannabe Mark Knopfler guitarist.

STAFF:
Staff were quite freindly (especially receptionists and the lady at the pool snack bar), but I got the distinct impression that they were far happier serving Spanish guests, of which there were lots, far more than any other nationality - not that this was any problem to us, in fact it made a pleasant change.

OVERALL:
This is a place more suited to families with younger children (who will have plenty to do) and couples who want peace and quiet.

The hotel is clean, well presented and has good facilities but it has a problem due to it's location - it is not within sensible walking distance of bars or restaurants, meaning that guests are likely to find themselves restricted to the atmosphere-free hotel bar.

Would we go back again? - not for a few years (Meloneras is still being developed), but it would be interesting to see the place again once the surrounding area has been developed more, and this seems to be happening at quite a pace.

















Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct (Thomson)

Recommended
Ray Bruen
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel is excellent with 3 swimming pools, Gymnasium, crazy golf, solarium all on site with a good pool bar.

Watch out in the reps presentation for the Amfi free day out. They are timeshare people trying to get you to buy. (No such thing as a free lunch)

There are plenty of sunbeds and all restaurants are within 5 minutes walk on the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Sue & Chris Maguire
12 years ago
Stayed here during October half term for 1 wk. We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which was very spacious, twin room upstairs with own tv, safe, bathroom and balcony and plenty of wardrobes, and a twin room downstairs with kitchen, bathroom, safe, living area and terrace.

Apartments were cleaned 5 days out of the 7 we were there to a very high standard.

All 3 pools and jacuzzis' were very clean and unusually quiet, even though it was school holidays. Had no problem whatsoever in getting a sunbed, no matter what time of day we went to the pool.

Apartments are situated between Melonares and Maspalomas. A short stroll along the seafront to your right brings you to Melonares beach with a handful of restaurants and bars. Very quiet and beach was rocky near the sea edge. Along the other side to the left takes you to Maspalomas. Numerous good restaurants and cafes here with a large shopping centre and a lovely sandy beach. You can see the sand dunes from here.

BEWARE : further along this beach you enter a nudist beach! Kids thought it was quite funny but the "views" were rather off-putting!!!

Would definitely go again to these apartments, had a great time and weather was superb.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was lovely. It quite a large kitchen and sitting room with TV but the only programme in English was Sky News.

There was a supermarket which sold all you needed

Three pools were surprisingly quiet which was lovely and
hardly any British tourists mainly Spanish on holiday which was really nice.

The staff were friendly and the kids played mini golf pool darts etc every day free of charge.

We will be back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's

Recommended
Sigurbjatur Halld
12 years 7 months ago
Very good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pl

Recommended
Debra
13 years ago
We stayed in this lovely complex with our three teenagers who enjoyed the pools, gym, games tables and internet facilities. It was too hot to use the paddle (tennis) court!

The staff were pleasant, the accommodation was very nice - views of the sea to the front and mountains behind and there were plenty of bars, restaurants and shops a short walk away.

There was entertainment for children and regular discos too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.