Image of Playa Meloneras

Playa Meloneras Holidays

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews

Hotels in Playa Meloneras, Spain

Image of Cay Beach Meloneras Apartments
3 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras
10 Reviews
Image of Gran Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde
1 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras
8 Reviews
Image of H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel
4 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras
2 Reviews
Image of Lopesan Baobab Resort Hotel
2 of 4 hotels in Playa Meloneras
3 Reviews

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Martin
5 years 6 months ago
Resort quite clean but there were endless cigarette ends littering the beautiful walk along the beach to Faro.
Resort was quiet but a couple of bars were over the road from the back of the hotel. The Sunset Cafe was particularly noce with gorgeous views and the most pleasant bar person of the holiday.
Beach looked clean and tidy
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Natalie
5 years 11 months ago
The Resort of Melonras is lovely, only small, but clean and great designer shops!!! The restaurants and shops are all down the beach front and the area is immaculate.

The beach close by is not usable, but the dunes and the nice beach are about 10 mins away. The resort is definately worth visiting and I would go back again to this particular resort.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
A Barlow
8 years 3 months ago
I enjoyed the resort. The beach outside the hotel wasnt very good but since the hotel had its own beach beside one of the pools I didnt use the public beach. I found the resort entertainment limited for children but wasnt sure if that was because it was in the winter months. The shopping centre was very good and there were plenty of supermarkets.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ann Tamplin
9 years 3 months ago
The resort is clean with a flat promenade to walk. As you leave the rear gate of the hotel & turn left, there are shops, bars & restaurants within a 10-15 min walk. The shops are mainly designer & therefore a little pricey. If you turn right outside the gate you cannot actually see the restaurants as there is a twisting promenade, which is also slightly inclined.It's a much quieter area with a small beach.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jo Good
9 years 8 months ago
We love this particular part of Gran Canaria, particularly the promenading in the evening. It is great for people watching. The boutiques are fantastic, good for browsing. there is an excellent Fund Grube- perfect for stocking up on the essential perfumes.Plenty of activities to keep children amused. The sand sculptor on the beach was a true artist. Will return to this area but will give this particular hotel a miss!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sharon Smith
10 years 1 month ago
We love Meloneras as it's clean, quiet and feels very safe.

This is still a developing resort with quite a bit of building work going on. At present the resort consists of restaurants and a handful of shops.

Thankfully there are no amusement arcades, kareoke bars or large screen sports bars. Entertainment takes place in individual hotels.The small beach at Meloneras is a mixture of sand and rock and you have to walk over some sharp rocks/stones to get to the sea.

We much preffered the golden sand of The Maspalomas dunes, which is about a 30 min walk away. We really hope they don't overdevelope it and turn it into another Playa del Ingles or Puerto Rico.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Cath
10 years 5 months ago
The resort is lovely, although it is still being developed and I feel will be better in years to come, I saw alot of new hotels being built all over the island.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ann Tamplin
10 years 5 months ago
The resort was spotless. Our beach was pebbles & you could not sunbathe there. If you like a beach turn right out of the back gate & walk 10 minutes, but its small.This resort was ideal for us but for younger children & teenagers it may not be suitable. The hotel is great for kids because of the pools. The hotel is about 30 minutes from the airport & was about 40 euros each way . It may have been cheaper to pre-book online with www.islascanariastours.com.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mark Kelby
10 years 5 months ago
Meloneras is a new, cosmopolitan resort made up almost entirely of 4 and 5 star accomodation. In fact it is so new it does not appear on a number of the postcards that we found!!
A short walk from the "back" gate of the hotel brings you the the top of a slope down to the main promenade.
Turning left at the bottom a 5 minute walk takes you to the local shopping centre (The Varadero)and a whole range of designer shops and trendy restaraunts. You can then walk on to the Oasis shopping centre which is older and the Faro lighthouse. Continuing along the front and past the lighthouse takes you to the main Maspalomas beach which is a huge stretch of golden sand well suited to young families. There are plenty of facilities on the beach and regular lifeguard patrols.
Walking even further along takes you into the Maspalomas dunes and you can follow the shoreline all the way to Playa Del Ingles. However, be warned, it is a long way so take plenty of water and look out for the nudist areas as there can be some unpleasent sites!!!!

Alternatively you can turn left at the bottom of the slope and a five minute walk will bring you to Meloneras Playa. This is a new complex which includes a shopping centre and a number of resturants, all of which have covered eatng areas overlooking the beach.

We found that these were the best family eating places with regard to service and value for money. Special mention goes to Hemingways (you need a big appetite) and the Green Dragon Chinese restaraunt where the set menu banquet is fantastic but ensure that you allow at least 2 hours to eat it all!!!!

The beach at Meloneras is more rocky and less suited to young families but is still perfectly ok if you are just after soaking up the sun.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Forsyth
10 years 8 months ago
Meloneras is a new, upmarket resort designed as an antidote to it's bustling, overcrowded neighbours Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas. The promenade contains designer shops and expensive/stylish restaurants.

This resort is still under construction (July 2006) and is split into 2 parts - to the West is Playa Meloneras and the beach (which is strictly for sunbathing, it's not possible to swim safely in the sea here due to the excessive amount of rocks just underwater - in fact i'd say it was dangerous and kids shouldn't be allowed to swim here). On the promenade above the beach are a number of restaurants, of which "Sea-Golf" is highly recommended.

On the eastern side of Meloneras (nearest to Maspalomas) there are some very good shops on a very nice promenade, which runs up to a lighthouse (the most southern point of Gran Canaria). Beyond the lighthouse is Maspalomas, which is a complete contrast to Meloneras.

I'd recommend Meloneras to couples wanting a relaxing holiday. I wouldn't recommend it to those wanting plenty of night-life (as there isn't any!), although it must be said that Playa del Ingles is only 10 minutes away in a taxi, and there is no shortage of nightlife there!



Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel
H10 Playa Meloneras Palace Hotel
Playa Meloneras, Spain
Staff were rude and disrespectful
Image of Lopesan Baobab Resort Hotel
Lopesan Baobab Resort Hotel
Playa Meloneras, Spain
Excellent family holiday
Image of Gran Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde
Gran Hotel Lopesan Villa del Conde
Playa Meloneras, Spain
The hotel was a typical 5* hotel. The rooms were …
Image of Cay Beach Meloneras Apartments
Cay Beach Meloneras Apartments
Playa Meloneras, Spain
The bungalows were spotless. We have never stayed …
Other popular destinations
Image of Benidorm
Benidorm
Costa Blanca
Image of Salou
Salou
Costa Dorada
Image of Alcudia
Alcudia
Mallorca
Image of Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Gran Canaria
Image of Puerto Del Carmen
Puerto Del Carmen
Lanzarote
Image of Corralejo
Corralejo
Fuerteventura
Image of Palma Nova
Palma Nova
Mallorca
Image of Caleta De Fuste
Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura
Image of Fuengirola
Fuengirola
Costa Del Sol

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reivews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.