Image of Barut Hemera Resort & Spa Hotel

Barut Hemera Resort & Spa Hotel

4 of 50 hotels in Side

5 out of 5 from 69 reviews
5 stars
Selimiye Mah, Side 07330 , Turkey
This welcoming and modern complex is set in beautiful gardens leading to a golden beach. A good choice for couples or families alike, the Hemera has a reputation for quality service and friendly staff.

69 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    41
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Very pleased
5 years 5 months ago
Check in was fast as we arrived late at night and only one other person was checking in. Room was lovely, family room which had a sitting room with a single bed in, so ideal for our son. Housekeeping were excellent, clean sheets and towels every day.

As it was early on in the season, only one a la carte restaurant was open but we had no trouble booking it. Had a lovely meal there and thoroughly enjoyed all our food in the main restaurant. As other people have said, the Patisserie is great, not sure how much weight I put on in a week!

Hotel situated on the beach. There is now a lovely new promenade and you can walk all the way to Side.
The swimming pools were lovely but too cold for me in April.

We found all the Hotel staff friendly and helpful. The Animation team were lovely and my teenage son had a great time.

The evening entertainment wasn't great - they had live music and shows on in the nightclub some evenings.
I would definitely visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
WOW!
6 years 1 month ago
Me and my family went last year to the Hemera it was the first time we visited the hotel.

We arrived late at night and our thoughts as soon as we entered were WOW! Mainly because the bar was still open that’s the first thing we noticed, second thing was, I was really struggling to pull my suitcase and the baby bag at that minute the bellboy was busy with others so the receptionist came from behind the desk and helped me.

The beds were so comfortable and there was a mini bar with Coca Cola and fruit juice which I thought was great and to make it even better they refill it every morning.

The food was good but I was not used to Turkish ways of food no bacon in the mornings or sausages. But we soon got used to that with the other selections of treats.

Entertainment was excellent I enjoyed how the younger ones were having fun with the mini disco and it's not all kiddo stuff later on in the evening the teenagers and adults have a laugh!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Graham
Great time
6 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Hemera in 07/08. The food was to me a bit down on our last two visits, but still enjoyable and plenty. As before the staff were fantastic always at hand if you needed them. I was ill for a day and one of the guy’s kept coming to my room to see if was okay.

The entertainment was nothing to write home about as most of it was in German. Having been to the Hermera three time's next year we are going somewhere else but staying in Turkey that is not to say we won’t go there again because we had a great time. Thanks to all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Can’t wait to go back next year!
6 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Hemera from 27th July till 10th August and have to say it was the best holiday we have been on, there was myself, my husband and four daughters aged 14, 12, 5, 3, we loved it so much we have booked again for next year.

The first week there was a heat wave with temps hitting 45 degrees. The staff at the hotel are really friendly and helpful. The Animation team were fantastic and worked so hard to make sure everyone is happy, my children loved them all and were sad to say goodbye, some even came to reception to say bye before we left, hope to see them all next year.
They organised the daytime activities: Archery, darts, shooting, pool games, yoga, dancing, beach games, pool games and lots more which were fun but there was no pressure to join in if you didn’t want to, they also ran the kids club which was very good, after working hard all day they also did evening entertainment and put good shows on every night which we all enjoyed, well done to all of you.

The hotel is kept immaculately clean. The rooms are large, cool, and comfortable. Beds are large and changed daily and there are complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. There is air conditioning, telephone, safe, and tea and coffee. The bathrooms are lovely and large, with huge mirrors, hair dryers and shaver socket. The mini bar is restocked daily with water, fruit juices, coke and tonic water at no extra charge. The hotel is 24 hr all inclusive and they are happy for you to take drinks to your room.

There are shops in the hotel with friendly staff, the lady in the clothes shop taught my daughter some Turkish. Prices are in Euros but they do take lira and sterling. There are shops across the road but if you don’t want to leave the hotel then everything is there for you. Another nice thing is you don’t have to where a wristband, they give you ID cards but we didn’t need to show them once.

There was always a good choice of food at breakfast and they serve you with tea/coffee at your table. Lunch can be either taken in the main restaurant or at the snack bar near the beach and there was always a good choice. Evening meals are taken in the main restaurant where there is also a good choice and drinks are served to you at your table. The patisserie is open 10am till 6pm where you can get ice creams, cakes, biscuits, coffee and tea and is air conditioned so nice to get out of the heat sometimes. There was also afternoon coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cakes and pancakes served at the snack bar about 3pm.

There was never a problem getting sunbeds but if you want to be round the main pool then you have to be up early but we never got out before 10am and always found some even if it was on the grass. The pools were great and we spent most of the day in them, the slides are good fun for the kids. The beach and the sea were really nice and we went there most afternoons, there were always sunbeds available and the staff regularly bring fresh water melon round for guests and the bar isn’t far away either but there is water available on the beach too. You are given pool cards on arrival and can get fresh big towels every day.

There is a promenade that goes all the way to side but we just walked along for 20 mins in the evening with the pushchairs when the young ones were tired but it was very nice.

All in all a fantastic holiday and can’t wait to get back there next year!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Murphy
6 years 3 months ago
Just returned from this hotel. It was really very good, just let down by its evening meals, which is the only reason that we won't be returning.

The staff were all fantastic and polite. The entertainments team did try their hardest, a thanks to Hussain who was particularly good with the kids, he always had time for them and us. Their shows were interesting???

The location was good set right on the beach front.
There was also not a bad selection of shops out the front that took around 1 hour to walk around.

Cleanliness around the hotel was excellent, the grounds were immaculately kept and the rooms were clean and tidy.


All in all had a great time, even with the food we didn't go hungry, though I do believe that they could improve this.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Purnell
6 years 7 months ago
excellent hotel, staff could not do enough for you
animation team all very talented and speak various languages which put english people to shame
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 10 months ago
Just got back from the Hemera in Side (3rd oct).
Please don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
John Littlewood
6 years 11 months ago
really upset to be wri tng this ? the reason being we could not get booked up all over September. we were there in May,for our 6th time and will be back in December, wont get let down next year as we have booked already for April and September, i can recomend this hotel to anybody it as everything you could want or need food, spotlessly clean ,brilliant staff,+ service. we keep going back and cant fault it in any way, i have had 2 birthdays in the hotel they treat you like a king.looking forward to seeing all the staff again.not booked for 2011 yet but wont be long love the HEMERA HOTEL. just cant be beaten. John& Pam....Blackpool Lancashire.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 11 months ago
This hotel is absoluty fab and we loved it there, so much we are going back next near. Rooms are lovely. the food is good. the beach is lovely and the gardens are a credit to the hotel. The only down side was the entertainment, went twice and that was enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mandy Marriott
7 years ago
we arrived at the hotel about 11.30pm a quick check in but it took us a while to find our room. when we did what a nice surprise a nice big clean room with a double bed and a proper single bed for our 14 year old son, which he was pleased about.a basket of fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us. a nice big bathroom with a good size shower and complimentary toiletries(cotton wool pads,cotton buds,nail file as well)a bath robe each and slippers.The maid came every day fatma and changed the towels every day and i'm sure she changed the sheets every day. The mini bar was stocked up every day with soft drinks.

The food in the hotel was good if people went home from this hotel saying there was nothing for them to eat then they are very hard to please. My son managed to pile his plate up every night and that included a pudding as well. The only meal in the main restaurant that we didn't enjoy was the night that they did fish and that was only because we don't really like fish.

We would eat our evening meal about 8.15 which was quite busy and you would battle for a table for 5.It didn't help when there where only 2 people sitting on a table for 6. Breakfast was good as well plenty of choice if not a little strange having the previous nights brussels. My husband was quite partial to a pancake or 7 for his breakfast.We had lunch down at the beach bar where they did burgers, pizzas, salad, jacket potatoes again all good food. We did 1 a la cart restaurant the Turkish one and it was very good if not a little too much you don't need to eat lunch if you go there.

The pattisserie was very very good. it opened at 10 - 6 and also thats where they did the ice creams and not just for adults and it was one of the coldest places in the hotel so when it was 35 degrees outside it was nice to go in there to cool down.

The pool area was nice and clean and there was an umberella to every 2 beds. We managed to get a sunbed every day around the quiet pool. There where a couple of water slides there which our son enjoyed.Our son came down with an ear infection but it wasn't the first time he's had one on holiday. Went to the chemist got some antibiotics and ear drops for him. The beach was very nice you could get a sun bed down there all the time.

The entertainment at night down by the beach was awfull there is only so much dancing a person can watch in a fortnight because thats all it was.Theres just a couple of things just to niggle at and they are. The bar staff could do with putting fresh clothes on at night because we noticed that a couple of lads had holes in their shirts.

The guys that come round and hassled you for a massage started to get on your nerves after the 2nd week and also a woman from there was handling out leaflets for it and it was all German which is no good when your English. All in all this is a very good hotel and we had a cracking holiday it just needs moving to a different location.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: