Algarve/Portugal/Madeira/Azores Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in the Algarve
I'm not an expert on Alvor as we only popped in there this year but it did look very nice. Puddleduck has just been and may be able to come on and shed a bit more light on how it would be there with a one year old. It has a lovely wide expanse of beach.

Lagos is very nice as well it's a little bit further west and certainly fits the bill in terms of bars and restaurants to sit at and watch the world go by. The only problem might be if you wish to use the buggy extensively as the 'old town' is cobbled in places although the Marina area is flat.

Are you going with a Tour Operator or DIY? The Algarve is often cheaper DIY due to the numbers of cheap flights.

The transfer to Alvor would be under an hour (45 or 50 mins) if you got a private transfer or drove, but if on a tour operators coach it's anybody's guess as it will be down to the number of drop offs before you.

The 'old town' part of Albuferia is also supposed to be nice and would be a lot closer in terms of transfers. We parked next door to the Brisa Sol apartments this year and they looked OK and seem to get good reports. I think they are halfway between the old town and the strip.

Just IMHO but I would give Praia d Rocha a wide berth, it's a bit high rise.

Doe :D
Alvor itself is a very family friendly resort - pushing a pram round the town itself wouldn't be a problem - but if the apartments you are talking about are the ones that are at the top of the hill and split into two either side of the road then that is a steep hill and is is a 15 or 20min walk to the town (on a not very scenic road). There are however loads of taxis at the rank in Alvor.

Also the beach is a 20min walk from there
thanks for the input - i am considering DIY, because as mentioned the cheap flight prices are very attractive.