Malta and Gozo Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Malta and Gozo.
roaches
17 Posts
Only every seen a roach once in Malta and that was on the patio of an apartment we were renting.

Also never get bitten by mosquitos as i usualy do in Cyprus and Greece. Apparently this is becaise there is no running water (ie rivers) on Malta
some people get their house fumigated once a year against things like cockroaches - I've not had to do it, but told its effective.

As for mosquitos, they are here, but small - a ceiling fan is good enough to stop them, as they get blown away ! Its not running water but stagnent water thats the problem, so sometimes pools if they are left for a long time without chemicals can be a breeding ground, but they are not more than an occasional minor iritation in my experience
Hi Powdie,

Nil panicus!! I've been visiting Malta for over 20 years and have stayed in all kinds of accomodation but have never been troubled with roaches. I've had problems with them in other Med Countries but not in Malta!

I guess they must have roaches in some properties on the Island but it's not something that I've heard people gripe about. By the way, though not common here, roaches can infest houses in the UK and I can remember a few years ago considering buying an 'investment' house but was put off when I realised it was absolutely infested!

I've never ever had any problem with mozzies in Malta either. In fact I never take any mozzie repellents of any kind because I've found it unnecessary to do so!

If I were you I'd put this problem to the back of your mind, go to Malta and have a great time,

Trev
Thks for your replies but I'm not talking the odd roach here, and whilst we didn't see them in our room, we had to walk through them to get out anywhere, and they used to hose them away in a morning from round the pool area. Mossies don't worry me at all they eat me alive in Scotland. powdie