Image of Pontins Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Pontins Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

2 of 2 hotels in Prestatyn

3 out of 5 from 38 reviews
Central Beach, Barkby Avenue,, Prestatyn LL19 7LA

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    8
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    12

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Marysha Enos
Great holiday
1 month ago
Really enjoyed holiday had lovely view from apartment me granddaughter really enjoyed our stay staff friendly go regular see improvements with site each time will be going again it's a budget holiday should consider this before they go can honestly say no complaints
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontine

Hotel tip: Top apartments have great views

Recommended
Janis Nelson
Better off booking elsewhere
2 months ago
I'm doing this review on behalf of my son who has now gone back to Australia. My son booked this place and arrived before I found he'd made the booking. If I had known before he arrived I would have told him to Cancel and not go there.
He had brought his Australian partner and three young children to see Wales. Travelled all over and they loved everything about Wales, the people, the country itself and the history and then unfortunately they arrived at Pontins.

The outside of the room was like a big ashtray and thing didn't improve inside. They had to get cleaning product to try and clean up. The shower was filthy and when they finally got it clean they found there was no hot water, no arial lead for the TV, the list is endless. He unfortunately had to stay the one night but I booked him somewhere else after that.

Entertainment is given 1star as the only entertainment they saw was the rowdy behaviour outside about 2am. Food given 1star as they didn't dare try as it might have been as bad as the room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Elaine Smith
Filthy site
5 months ago
Broken glass everywhere nowhere was clean , not even been touched from last occupants. Moved Club accommodation was not ready at 4 pm was told we needed to wait for cleaning (should have already even done) took my daughter and I two hours to bleach cupboards, dishes we had no pans kettle, toaster, tv , broken couch springs through Mattress. We had to ask for curtains to be changed as the dust was so thick. They got changed two days later. The manager refused to come out too see anyone. We were a party of ten so the men fetched items as they refused to upset the children by bringing them home WE WILL NEVER GO TO A PONTINS SITE AGAIN AND NOBODY WE KNOW WOULD BE GOING THERE NOW! We will be staying with BUTLINS and HAVEN IN FUTURE as we have never had a problem with either before and we do two weeks every year at Haven and Christmas's at Butlins

Travel operator: Direct

Sharron Ellisdale
Awful
5 months ago
Chalets awful beds and linen smells terrible, bedding ripped and don't fit properly. No free newspaper and welcome pack as stated. entertainment terrible its a dirty outdated place. not a lot of entertainment for children. It's a money making racket. Showers don't work properly, TV don't work.

Avoid at all costs
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun holidays

Hotel tip: Avoid go to presthaven it's much better

Stupidly bad
1 year ago
Absolute terrible the beds stunk walls had wallpaper torn off it barely any plug sockets every Orpheus of the shale stank and is was unimaginably freezing temperatures and you can't even put on the radiator because it'll waste all the electricity
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Hotel tip: Go to a haven not a Pontins trust me it'll be so much better

Holiday from hell
1 year 1 month ago
Nothing as expected of a £250 holiday for 3 nights, dirty rooms, baths, sink, no plates, no linen, even though we paid. Bathroom heater didn't work, sockets half off, the walls smoke alarms kept going off, no sofa beds, heaters worked but produced no heat at all. There was only 1 ring on the cooker that worked, steps to upper chalet was unsafe and wobbly rail guard on top u could physically push out only a matter of time before a death spillage in halls and corridors don't get done even though report them staff have attitudes and never even seen any blue coats and half the arcade machines are broke showing place to go here I'd stay away if I was you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jtmda

Hotel tip: Find a different 1

Craig Smith
Dont go
1 year 2 months ago
Horrific. Left after one night and if it wasn't for all hotels being booked up in the area and us having a 2 month old with us we didn't want to travel great distances with i wouldn't of stopped the one night! No double bed as booked so had to queue for 2 hours to get sheets which then had no bed sheets in then waiting another two hours to get this corrected! Had to ask for room to be cleaned again. No hot water. Unable to cook with pots as they were so dirty and i can only hope that it was mayonnaise all over the headboard in the bedroom!!!

As for entertainment.....dint even get that far but i saw the queues for he swimming and i couldn't see the stage due to the amount of people in the main room!! people......... take your families elsewhere for a holiday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Pontins

Hotel tip: Dont go

Filthy and outdated accomodation
1 year 3 months ago
Attached photos the filthy and run down accommodation we were allocated. We visited Pontins Prestatyn with an open mind and took all the negative reviews with a pinch of salt. From start to finish the place was a nightmare, someone mentioned it was like a scene from Shameless, I think that was being polite ! People drinking from 9.30 in the morning roaming around the park with cans of alcohol. The smell of weed being smoked was pretty strong. Drunken noise until early hours of the morning.

The pub on the complex closed at 7pm so there was nowhere to buy a sit down meal. We were moved from one chalet to another as it wasn't fit for anything. The second wasn't much of an improvement and told it was the only one available. It was so bad my daughter refused to stay and took my 12 month old grand daughter home. It really doesn't matter how expensive or cheap the holiday is you do expect to have a clean chalet and everything in there to work properly. We wont be visiting again. Only saving grace the entertainment was pretty good, the entertainment team work hard, its a shame the rest of the staff don't.

The list is endless of dirty chalet, broken fixtures and fittings, all reported on site, some things reported several times. Filled in a 'guest solution form' at reception and assured we would hear back from Pontins within a few days, we've been home for nearly a fortnight and heard nothing.

Please do not suggest to take cleaning stuff with you and clean the chalet etc etc, it should already be done. The toilet was brown in the bowl, god only knows the last time that was cleaned. Filthy floor not been brushed or mopped, rusty toaster, filthy kettle, damp ceilings,rust and dirt all,over the bathroom, filthy wall heater, broken cooker which we only discovered whilst cooking - the door jammed shut and we couldnt open it, turned off the power but its an electric oven so carried on burning food, really dangerous, reported on day of arrival took 2 days for someone to sort it out after reporting it three times
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Rooms and service a scham
2 years 1 month ago
We arrived only to be told we had an extra hour to wait to book in when we finally did we found our room to be occupied by two TVs none of which could produce any programmes (lack of ariel cable) when I managed to get some one to get one it took them 18 hours, the cups were still wet in cupboard, fridge full of ice dirty floor and when we complained nothing was done. We did half board food wise, nothing to write home about as a matter of fact I could and have cooked better, although in their favour they had a good choice. Noise wise we were in chalets directly across from on sight pub, noisy till 1am all in all a bad experience and will definitely not be going there again till things improve
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Paul
horrid
3 years 3 months ago
We checked into Prestatyn Sands in 2012 it was horrid we had classic accommodation and it was horrible drugs under bed, food in oven,uncomfortable sofa very old fashioned TV.

The bathroom was horrible you had to press the button for shower every ten seconds, hairs in plug mouldy shower filthy mirror grimy tiles ugly windows horrible back of chalets. If i had to call pontins in 3 word i call it a prison war camp.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Hotel tip: Get club

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum