EX-Pats and Owners Abroad

Discussions for EX-Pats and owners abroad or those who are considering this idea.
Hi Sara!

This is just my opinion obviously, but I would say purely because you are a novice at this, then it may be a good idea to use a management company, say for the first year? You could still oversee all bookings and have the company take care of the actual running of the villa.

They will have all the answers to the questions you have asked, they will be there to solve any problems and make letting as trouble free as they can. I know you are only a couple of hours away by car, but what happens say, if your clients have no electricity in the middle of the night, or no water, or an accident involving your property, etc etc? You could find yourself paying out more money and having more hassle trying to fix problems yourself than paying a company in the first place.
This is my first year of renting out my holiday villa in Spain so my experience is obviously limited.

I rent privately through the web and word of mouth. Usually to British families so payment is by sterling cheque.

I did have a very late booking and I did give out my account details ( I have a seperate account for this) and the guests went to his local High St branch and deposited cash) I then post keys out. I take a key deposit to ensure I get the keys back promptly and in case of damage

I have a Caretaker in Spain who handles all the property maintenance and also is there in case of emergencies, he's handled a couple so far with no problems (even when my guests managed to lock themselves in the house!!

It's early days yet but I've managed to book the house out all summer and it seems to be working fine.

There is an element of trust on both sides but I rented private villas for years myself before we bought ours and that experience is obviously invaluable now.

If I can help any more just ask.