Algarve/Portugal/Madeira/Azores Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in the Algarve
The train service is reasonably good, the trains are a little bit rough but generally tidy and punctual. They are also quite cheap, Lagos to Portimao is €1.32 single (adult). The local trains do have an alarming habit of running with the doors open so do not let the kids run around!

Lagos station is hidden away on the opposite side of the marina and Portimao is on the edge of the town centre. Albufeira is a long way out of town so probably not a good idea. Faro is close to the marina and old town if you wanted to go there.

As for everything else you might need to know about transport on the Algarve the undisputed expert is cubsur who has created his own site at http://www.algarvebus.info which includes the full timetable for the Lagos line.
Hi, I can give you any number of good restaurants but must confess that I'm no expert when it comes to youngsters' menus.Virtually all restaurants have their full menus on display outside their premises so, if I give you a list of recommended restaurants, the outside menus should enable your boys to decide whether there's something for them there.
In no particular order:A Veneza on Rua 25 Abril ( the main street for eateries)has probably the most extensive menu in town;Dom Sebastao(again on 25 Abril)is good, as is O Galeao and Christian's Kitchen (not certain that they cater for youngsters tho')