Image of Puri Santrian Hotel

Puri Santrian Hotel

3 of 5 hotels in Sanur

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Jl. Cemara 35 | PO Box 3055, Sanur, Bali 80228, Indonesia
The Puri Santrian Hotel is situated along the coast of upscale Sanur on the tranquil southeastern end of the island This family owned and operated hotel keeps within the Balinese tradition of warmth and generosity of spirit.

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
7 years 10 months ago
A lovely hotel owned by a balinese family. We stayed in the santrian club which was adults only - a great choice. This section had its own pool, although we could use all the facilities in the hotel.
Breakfast was part of our package - a full buffet and was adequate.
Hotel was spread out and although peak season, at no time did it feel overcrowded. Location was great, lots of bars and restaurants in easy reach.
Staff very friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Kevin Sanders
8 years 2 months ago
It was our fourth visit to the beautiful island, having fallen in love with the people and the culture. On previous visits we have always stayed in the Kuta area. Nothing wrong with that but our visit to Sanur was brilliant, our choice of hotels magnificant.
We stay at the Puri Santrian for two weeks, most times we ate at one of the two main restaurants. The chefs were only too obligeing when you are a vegetarian. Nothing was too hard. Staff throughout the hotel were great. We indulged in a Romantic Dinner one evening as it was our wedding anniversary ( thanks Juli ). The Balinese night was also great.
We will be back and this hotel has our full recommendation, well done
As non smokers it would be great to see a ban on smoking in the inside eating area ( Breakfast)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: destination asia

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed in the beach wing rooms on the middle floor of a block of 3 storeys.

We were in the end room with view directly onto the side of the next block.It did help keep the room cool though. As it was only for sleeping in I didnt mind.

The room itself was large with a huge bed,fridge and bath with shower. It was clean and well kept by the maids.We didnt eat veryoften at the hotel.

Lunch a few times and it was very nice. No need for money as you sign for everything and pay up on departure.
The gardens and pool areas were excellent with plenty of staff on hand to see to your every need.

The beach was a little bit of a let down with a fair amount of seaweed washed up every day but it wasnt bad enough to spoil things for me.

On a couple of occasions there was a small band played during the afternoons and it made for a nice change to listening to my ipod.

The hotel is situated in a vey quiet area of Sanur and once i found my bearings I preferred the other side round by the Bali Hyat.I think if we go next year we will be looking into booking the Griya Santrian as this is in little bit busier part of town.

All in all I would recomend the Puri and would certainly use again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended
Peter & Janet
10 years 7 months ago
The Puri Santrian is located near the end of Sanur Beach, in fairly attractive grounds.

We stayed in club rooms which were situated farthest away from the sea and which were built around a private pool area. The appearance of the rooms and the pool area was very pleasing - but unfortunately appearances can be deceptive.

The club rooms are 3 storeys high and as these buildings surround the pool they tend to cut out both the sun and any cooling breezes. As the pool area is relatively small for the number of rooms having access to it, there is insufficient space or sun beds for the guests.

The rooms comprise a good sized and simply furnished bedroom, veranda area, dressing area and bathroom with separate shower. A fridge / mini-bar, hairdryer and tea / coffee making facilities are provided (no teaspoons or milk. Our room was definitely 'tired' and in need of a good coat of paint, having stained ceiling and marked walls. Towels were (sometimes) changed twice daily although we had to ask, on occasions, to get the towels changed in the evening. The towels supplied tended to be old and were some of the worst encountered in many years of travel.

There is no bar or pool service in the club area, so any drinks required through the day have to be from the main bar which is a fair distance away. Similarly breakfast and afternoon tea have to be taken in the main restaurant - there were none of the usual (or anticipated) 'club' facilities. It is fair to say that we would not entertain taking club rooms, should we stay at the same hotel, in the future.

The hotel, in general terms, was perfectly adequate and the staff very helpful and friendly. There were a further 2 pools available, one of which had a pool bar that, unfortunately, did not open until late in the morning. The breakfast buffet was no better than average (in quality) with a below average selection of dishes - including frequently warm juices and fruits.

We never tried the main restaurant in the evenings as there were more appetising options available locally, including the hotel's own
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
Leslie And Tina
10 years 8 months ago
the hotel is spotless,the gardens very nice.laundry facility availabe.coffee and tea making facilities in room.minibar.nice verandah overlooking the pool in the club rooms.the food we ate was good also.the hotel (itself) has no faults at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tradewinds

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
Second visit and probably not our last! We stayed in the Club rooms this time. Big bedroom with changing room which included sink and a bathroom which had bath and sep shower.The bedroom had a 4 poster bed with mossie netting, minibar, tea/coffee maker and tv with cnn. Lovely balcony with table and chairs and whicker lounger. Club rooms have their own pool which is hot am and shaded pm. Excellent staff. Still quiet at night but there is plenty to do outside the hotel.
Before entering the grounds our taxi was searched,including mirror under the car. Hotel restaurant ( Mezzanine) is a must. Beautiful food and often had a group on.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelbag

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
Have just got back from a fantastic Honeymoon at the Puri Santrian. What a great hotel!

We booked to stay in a bungalow which was very clean and spacious but a little dated. Some Bungalows have been refurbished and are beautiful, however ours was not quite what was desribed in the brochure but still good. On arrival, as promised we had our honeymoon flowers, fruit and a cake which said "happy birthday"! It's the thought that counts I suppose.

After four days we had a problem in our room which could not be rectified. As there were no more Bungalows available we were upgraded to the "Club Rooms". This room was fantastic! It had a dressing room, with safe. A good size bathroom with an excellent shower and a spacious bedroom with Four poster bed.

The hotel staff are amounst the friendliest people I have met, always saying "hello" in the morning. I even heard one women complaining about it!!

Breakfast is excellent. There is so much choice, to suit all tastes and nationalities, and a man who cooks eggs and ommlettes to order. If you ask one of the waiters they will also cook pancakes for you which are superb.

The pool and beach are very clean. I couldn't believe it when I saw someone sweeping the beach by hand, but he was there every day taking the seaweed away in little bags!

The area that the hotel is in is quite a quiet part of the resort with a few bars and restaurants. The best of which are the Mezzanine for good Thai and fish. Double Dutch is probably the busiest bar along the strip and has nightly entertainment. If you turn right out of the hotel and walk for about five minutes you will find a wider selection of restaurants to suit all tastes.

Restaurants I would reccomend would be Mezzanine, The Village(a long walk or a short taxi ride away), Legong (good food, with traditional Balinese dancing) and Donalds (simple cheap food on your door step).

All in all a really great holiday, made better by a great hotel!

The only tip I have is to print a picture of the room you have booked with you from the hotel website. Those are the rooms that have been refurbished. If you are not happy with your allocation inform the management and they will do all they can to move you or upgrade you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THG Holidays

Recommended
Bob Game
12 years 3 months ago
Lovely hotel, in a tropical paradise right on the beach, free upgrade to Beach room from Garden room on arrival.

Hotel very clean, reception staff always courteous.

Swimming pool is the best I have ever been in around the world, pure fresh water, not many pools around, where you can swim underwater with your eyes open & not get the stinging sensation afterwards, well you can here!!

Weekly Balinese buffet & dance night, do not miss, it is lovely. Beachfront location is fabulous & do try a spa package, you will think you have gone to heaven, there is nothing like a Balinese spa & massage treatment!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tradewinds

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
We had beach front rooms booked but were given an upgrade to a bungalow. It was just first class. Stacks of room, minibar, sat TV. tea/coffee making facilities and a lovely veranda area.

The door to the bungalow was a work of art and I have a photo of it in the Far East Album! Room was spotless and staff as a whole were excellent. There are two pools and a private area of the beach.

The hotel has a spa but we didn't use it. The Beach Club restaurant was very popular but we only used it the evening of the Ramayana Ballet- when there was a buffet before the performance. If you go to the hotel please book to see this-it is spellbinding!

The hotel has a restaurant( Mezzanine) on the Sanur road which was one of our favourites- you just couldn't fault the food.

However, I would have to say in almost every restaurant we tried! The Mezzanine restaurant has some great singers/groups playing as well.

The hotel is set back from the road and reached by quite a long drive way. The setting is peaceful and beautiful with lots of greenery and statues.

I would highly recommend this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: kuoni

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum