Image of Galley Bay Resort & Spa Hotel

Galley Bay Resort & Spa Hotel

1 of 9 hotels in St Johns

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Galley Bay Beach Rd, St. John's, Antigua

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Clive Dowe
8 years 8 months ago
This hotel was recommended to us by some friends as a perfect place to relax. Have just got back from a 7 night stay and can't wait to go back. The hotel is clean, the staff are excellent, the location is beautiful and the food is first rate. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this is the place.

If you are looking for night life, clubs, bars and noise stay away.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jarvis and Hayes

Recommended
WHORRALL
10 years 9 months ago
wonderful holiday in wonderful hotel,everywhere was exceptionally clean,food in both sea grape and gaugan were gorgeous but we particularly enjoyed gaugan,right on the edge of the beach,in our own little gazebo,very romantic with excellent service,views to die for.hotel grounds were gorgeous with a beautiful,enormous lake-and you could fish in it with all equipment provided free.the staff were all very helpful and friendly and Mike in seagrape resturant is amazing with a dreamy voice,describing each dish in such a way you wanted everything on the menu,he was gorgeous!but the cleaners,groundsmen,handymen,reception staff and restaurant staff and the chefs were all wonderful.the entertainment was generally very good,quite low key,but we were so relaxed we were often in bed by 10pm so missed the entertainment!library was brilliant
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: VIRGIN

Recommended
11 years 8 months ago
Sara and I stayed at Galley bay for two weeks from the 24th November, here are our thoughts
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
K Hawley
11 years 10 months ago
We stayed in Galley Bay for 10 days on our honeymoon and it was wonderful,the food was of a very high quality and the wine flowed,the staff could not do enough for you and wewe so helpful and lovely.

We stayed in a deluxe beach front room but moved to a suite which was worth the extra money as the suite had patio doors and the other rooms have wooden slats for windows and made it very noisy to sleep with the tree frogs.

The hotel was very clean and the ground very well maintained. You could do nothing but relax at Galley Bay and after all the stress of planning a big wedding, it was just what we needed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Rod & Carol Armitage
12 years 4 months ago
This was our first visit to the Caribbean, and we were very pleased we had chosen Antigua, and the Galley Bay Hotel.

This was also our first experience of an all-inclusive holiday, which worked extremely well with the only limitation being the choice from 5 excellent house wines. No-one seemed to be buying wines by the bottle from the wine list.

The location of the hotel is superb, situated between a freshwater lagoon and the sea, and is very private.

Our room was right by the sea and was very comfortable, with free mini-bar and excellent walk in shower as well as a large comfortable bed.

The hotel staff were very friendly without being over familiar and the service in the dining room was exemplary.

The food was of a high quality and the Gaugin Restaurant located almost on the beach slightly away from the main hotel building provided a lovely romantic setting.

Entertainment was provided each evening, and, although somewhat low key, was ideal for the setting.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset Holidays

Recommended
Lisa & Alec
13 years 8 months ago
We married at a livelier hotel in Antigua with family and then went to Galley Bay on our own for the 2nd week for our honeymoon. This is the ultimate honeymoon hotel!

From the moment we arrived at Galley Bay, we felt really welcome by the staff. They really could not do enough for you. Within 5 minutes I was sipping a banana slide cocktail - delicious!

We stayed in a Guigan cottage which was very secluded and looked onto the bird sanctuary. It had it's own private plunge pool and was the most romantic place we have ever stayed. The mini fridge was re-stocked every day and when we asked for more beer, when we returned to our room the fridge was full!

The food was excellent, especially the eggs Benedict for breakfast. The Guigan restaurant was superb and served more informal food at lunchtime and the fish and chips served here were great! My husband was on crutches during our stay and when we wanted to go to the Guigan restaurant there was always someone on hand to drive us there in a golf buggy.

The cocktails were great, and I think I tried every one on the menu at the Tippee bar, and of course there was always an abundance of champagne on offer.

The beach was wonderful, although the current is quite strong.

We met some lovely people there who go back every year, generally a very friendly crowd.

We can't wait to go back....true paradise!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Angela
14 years 2 months ago
We got married and spent our honeymoon at Galley Bay at the end of May 2004. We couldn't have chosen a better place, infact we still can't believe our luck on finding such a wonderful hotel. Its tucked away on a private beach, quiet and peaceful and everything the brochures state is true.

Our room was situated right on the beach, the sound of the sea lulled us to sleep each night, a balcony to sit and watch the sun go down. A huge bathroom with a very large shower, a walk-in wardrobe and a gigantic comfortable bed.

The staff were all so friendly, they just couldn't do enough for you, our wedding plans were all taken care of, from the flowers (even down to matching the colours around the pergola), photographer, wedding cake, romantic meal later on in the evening... everything was perfect - all the worry and effort was taken out of the wedding arrangements, all we did was turn up on the day. The photographs were taken and brought back in an album the very next day! We cried when we watched our video back in England - it captured the day so completely.

Food was prepared freshly for you, waiter service from breakfast to evening meal - not like AI at other hotels we have stayed out, where it is served as buffet style and you help yourself. The choices were endless with a catch of the day, soup of the day, and these differed at lunch and dinner. Children under 16 were not allowed at the resort, so it was a very relaxed atmosphere especially at meal times. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were so friendly, smiling and constantly at your beck and call.

We really couldn't fault anything, a couple of younger couples did end up going elsewhere, as the hotel was probably a little quiet for those who want an energetic nightlife. Entertainment was usually a band or solo singer and you were also invited to a cocktail evening and barbeque whilst there. The food was superb at both. A real favourite was the Gauguin restaurant which needed to be booked on the day you wanted a table. It was always very popular but we ate there on several occasions, especially at lunch time.

This year, we received their brochure, send directly from the hotel, and they have added some extra features to some of the rooms and extended the Gauguin restaurant. It was sad not to be flying out there and doing it all over again, it was perfect for us, a fabulous, memorable wedding day and honemoon. We will definitely be going back there again (and again I hope).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook Signature

Recommended
Carolyn
15 years 1 month ago
We were maried here - on the beach and it was everything we hoped it would be.

The rooms were terrific with big american size beds and huge bathrooms and very simply but elegantly furnished.

The food was absolutely first class as was the service in the restaurant. The staff seemed to welcome everyone personally and were great with the personal touch.

The Location was fabulous - very quiet and peaceful. The beach straight out of a picture postcard and very private.

It is a couples only hotel and most seemed to be honeymooners. The entertainment was low key, which suited the place perfectly.

All in all ... it was a paradise and I hope one day to be able to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum