Image of Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Hotel

Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Hotel

4 of 9 hotels in St Johns

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
PO Box 2000 | Long Bay, St. John's 33442, Antigua
In an idyllic horseshoe bay this popular hideaway pampers repeat visitors time after time. Offering superb standards of service as well as a taste of Paradise on a gordeous white beach met by the crystal clear sea.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
BernieS
Amazing
10 months ago
We have stayed here now 5 times and every time is as good as the last. The staff are an absolute dream and nothing is never enough for them. The food in my opinion is some of the nicest in the island with that pure home type of cooking not to be missed out on around the pool and also at the restaurants.

The rooms are fabulous and due to us being there all often it is like home from home. April is a brill time to go as the weather is amazing and always hot.

We had a superior room and the extra that you payis worth it as we have stayed in a normal room and we found they were considerably smaller.

Thanks to all the staff


Stayed as a couple.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelbag

Recommended
Great but expensive
6 years 5 months ago
The very first thing to say is that although this resort is owned by the Sandals group, it is not a Sandals resort. You are not paying Sandals prices so please don’t expect Sandals service, quality, or standards. If you do, you will be disappointed. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and you can’t expect a champagne holiday for the price of a beer.

The hotel is set out in several blocks and has direct access to the beach. Ocean view rooms are NOT suitable for people with limited mobility as they are set on the hillside and there are a lot of steps to get to them. If you have limited mobility then go for the Beachfront, Waterfront or Garden view rooms instead. If you are in a wheelchair then opt for the Waterfront rooms as the others have a couple of steps up to the patio area.
Overall, the resort is not really wheelchair friendly, but with a few ramps strategically placed, it could quite easily be (apart from the Ocean view rooms).

There is one standard restaurant and also a speciality restaurant, along with a snack bar and the infamous Mary’s Outhouse which has food and drinks. There is the main bar (which contains a pool table) where the evening entertainment takes place and a smaller kiosk style bar on the other side of the restaurant near to the main beach area. There is also a library (which also contains a pool table), a small shop, gym, tennis courts, internet access room.

We had an Ocean view room which was spotless and cleaned every day. Towels etc. changed daily. They did not have an alarm clock or fridge in the room (but I believe that the Waterfront rooms do have a fridge). Our room was not one of those which had been refurbished but it really was fine. It was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the views were great. It just needed a bit of TLC.

The gardens were beautifully kept and always clean. The pool was a bit murky but once this had been reported it was dealt with and got better as time went on. The pool is split level and not very big but never seemed crowded. It also does not have wheelchair access up to the pool area and there is no pool bar but the main bar is close to the pool.

Food was excellent and was always hot. Sometimes there was a queue at the eggs/omelette station in the morning, especially when the hotel became busier during our second week. The selection was only small but we always found something suitable. The restaurant changes from buffet to waiter service several times during the week and the location changes as well with some meals in the restaurant, some around the pool area and others on the beach itself.
They also have a couple of evenings where you are put on a table with other people, which is a great idea for getting to know people.

The service at the main bar was sometimes slow as the bar staff also had to do the glass washing which meant they were not able to serve the guests. On a couple of occasions the bar ran out of things e.g. beer, coke and the water dispenser was broken for a couple of days. The management really need to fine tune the supply process to make it a bit slicker. But, having said that, it didn’t particularly bother me as I just drank something else instead and it was restocked fairly soon afterwards. The snack bar had a decent range and the food was always hot as it was cooked to order but the waiting time was minimal.
A quick word about the cats and birds. If you don’t like them around you when you are eating, then don’t go to ANY Caribbean hotel with an open restaurant. Cats and birds are a normal part of the Caribbean and I have never been to any open restaurant which does not have them. The hotel try to do their best by having a bird feeder outside the restaurant area which is filled when the restaurant is open to try and keep them outside, but inevitably they always get into the restaurant as well. Just accept it and make sure you cover your food and drink if you leave the table unoccupied.

The evening entertainment was really good, possibly the best I have seen in a Caribbean hotel. Live bands 5 nights a week (including a steel band), Karaoke 1 night, Dancers 1 night.

The beach is powder white sand and gently shelves into the sea, which is normally fairly calm and safe for kids but depending on the wind conditions it can become rough. There are a few rocks poking through the surface near the pool end of the beach, but very few.

There are some beach huts with local traders in just along the beach from the hotel. There are also a couple of local restaurants and bars. You can easily walk to Devil’s Bridge in about 30 - 45 minutes (depending on how fast you walk). It is about 1.5 miles. The village of Willikies is a similar distance but apart from houses, there isn’t really a great deal to do/see.
Further afield, Shirley Heights is a great night out on Sundays and the views over English Harbour are stunning. Nelson’s dockyard is fascinating if you like history. St John is a typical Caribbean town with plenty of shops (both local and tourist) to see, and it has a couple of craft markets as well.

We had a great holiday here and Antigua is a very picturesque island, but quite expensive (hence the holiday prices are normally higher). The hotel does need a bit of TLC in some areas but is work in progress. Would I go back to this hotel again? - As I have previously said, Antigua is one of the more expensive holiday destinations but if I got a good deal (as I did this time) then I would have absolutely no hesitation in going back, but I would think twice if I had to pay the full price.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
This place isn't sandals, its flip flops
6 years 6 months ago
My wife and I just returned from holidaying at The Grand Pineapple Beach Resort Antigua we booked there because it had the Sandals Tag With it. Other than the location which is right on a lovely beach there are no other saving graces.

If you like flocks of scavenging birds flying round the restaurant landing on any unattended table defecating on your seat or worse your breakfast, then this is the place for you.

All the seats had sun dried bird poo all over the backs where they perch ready to forage there are also countless cats that are allowed into the restaurant to ponce food from the idiots that feed them the swimming pools looked disgusting so we never went in them.

The food was repetitive and mundane, what you saw for the evening meal would often resurface the following day under a different guise. Dined at the Pineapple grill twice but on those occasions they were out of the items we ordered from the menu.

The hotel was located right on a lovely beach and the staff looked overworked and just doing their jobs, nothing more.
Entertainment was laid on most nights and some of the bands were good but as the hotel only uses one bar so you end up coming of the beach showering putting on your best bib & tucker to go and sit in the same plastic garden furniture you have sat in with your sun tan lotion on all day this is one of the biggest problems with this resort, its truly abysmal.

As I have stated the beach is lovely perfect for chilling out if you don’t mind being pestered constantly by vendors trying to sell boat trips, jewellery, etc.

My wife had a brand new bottle of perfume stolen from our room informed reception never heard another word from them not even an apology.

You may be thinking why did we stay there with all these faults with the hotel? Well I tried to upgrade to the real sandals and a very helpful manageress quoted me $4900 for the remaining 12 days on top of the price of this holiday or a room upgrade in this hotel which we accepted on arrival at the grand pineapple beach resort, you are given a voucher which gives you unlimited access to the real sandals resort and you can use it as many times as you like as the guests at sandals can use our hotel.

This place isn't sandals its flip flops.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Douglas
7 years 9 months ago
In a word FANTASTIC. Great Beach, Great food, Friendly staff & really comfy HUGE bed what more could you ask? They are currently updating the rooms & the ones which are already finished are of a very high standard. If you are thinking of going for a chill out holiday and are considering this hotel BOOK NOW!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Scott J
9 years 3 months ago
This is the fisrt time we have ever been to anywhere like this.
Sandals own the hotel but it does not have the name over the sign yet.
The staff are so great, nothing is too much for them. The food was out of this world.
The room was so clean you could eat your dinner off the floor.
The location was fantastic, our room was 2 steps for the best beach I have ever seen in my life. The sea water was so clear and clean. The staff even raked clean the beach every morning. There are 2 swimming pools. One small and one large. Only went in them once as we could not stay away from the beach.
We hired a car for the day which cost us around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: best of travel

Recommended
Sheila
10 years ago
All inclusuive and that what it is.
The food from seven am in the morning untill
twelve thirty am and bar from ten am untill
two am and all of a very good quality.
Loction is great beech a stones throw,
twenty mins into the city St Johns, for some retail
therepy.
The staff are just great allways on hand to
help.
The entertainment is every night and of high
standard.
Yes Yes Yes have being doing for the last ten years.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
Richard Greenwood
10 years 6 months ago
The hotel was half closed and the staff service was absolutely disgraceful. We had long queues for drinks and meals and the staff didn't seem to care. We complained to the manager and he agreed and gave us some free drinks and room service. Would definitely never go here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jackie And Derek Snape
11 years 7 months ago
We have just returned from the Grand Pineapple Beach resort in Antigua and can only say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The all inclusive package was excellent. Due to the time of year there were only 2 restaurants open, but this was not a problem as the a la carte menu at the Topaz was vey extensive and the quality of food good. We experienced a wide choice of food both at breakfast and dinner.

I can't really comment about lunch as we spent most days at the excellent Mary's Outhouse, where you could experience ribs and chicken in bbq sauce, sausage, salad, chilli beans and the most welcome cold beers. My husband is a fussy eater, but we only had to ask and they were more than happy to meet his needs, e.g. leaving the sauce off meals, offering potatoes instead of rice etc.

The rooms were cleaned every day and were as clean as anywhere else we have stayed in the Caribbean. The restaurants and bar areas were very clean. The beach was swept each morning. I thought the adult only pool needed repainting, but as we were more than happy with the lovely beach - no problem.

The hotel was situated right on the beach. Taxis were available from the hotel if you wished to travel further a field. The Antiguan people are some of the friendliest we've met, both at the hotel and during trips we went on. The staff couldn't do enough for us, one or two were quiet, but opened up if you made the first move. Be friendly and it will be returned.

The entertainment was low key, one or two good bands, but I didn't go to Antigua to see the hotel entertainment. We met some lovely people whilst at the hotel and spent many a happy evening with them.

I have never said I would return to a hotel but on this occasion I definitely would
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from the grand pineapple and there is only one thing to say about this complex cest magnifique, it is the most wonderful holiday we have ever expereienced and cannot wait to return.

The staff were so helpful, all areas kept very clean, the room was spacious and tended every day with regular towel changes e.t.c. all the resteraunts served plentiful and high standard food, many drinks were named brands and the local ones were of a good standard, the only thing that was perhaps a little disappointing was the evening entertainment but to be fair there was not a lot of clientel to entertain at the time we were there so maybe the interaction was lacking with the public.

The location of the hotel for us was superb being right on the beach which was very safe for children as was the rest of the hotel as security was tight but not in your face.

As on all holidays you will encounter a problem somewhere along the line and the the only one we had was a lack of hot water in room and despite repeated requests to sort it out we only had two days with hot water, but as it is so warm a cold shower was not to bothersome although having the option of hot water would have been better.

We have no hesitation in recomending the pineapple as a place to go and you should seriously consider it as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hayes and jarvis

Recommended
13 years 10 months ago
This Hotel is without doubt well worth its 4 Star rating.

When we arrived it was nearly dark, so we could see very little of the Hotel and its surroundings. Next morning was like waking up in Paradise, with a beautiful view looking out onto the beach and warm Carribean sea.

The Hotel grounds are very well kept and it is like walking around in a tropical bird garden with Hummingbirds and other colourful birds and butterflies flying around.

We stayed in Ocean View Rooms which were nicely decorated and well equipped. The maid service was very good with the rooms being well cleaned and serviced on a daily basis. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Food at the hotel is very very good. There is a choice of 3 restaurants in the evening, with a snack bar and barbeque also available during the daytime. Breakfasts were superb, with everything you could possibly want for breakfast available. The breakfasts were served in the Topaz bar which is directly adjacent to the beach and sea
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: The Holiday Place

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum