Image of Riu Paradise Island Hotel

Riu Paradise Island Hotel

3 out of 5 from 6 reviews
4 stars
Casino Dr, Paradise Island 6307, New Providence Island
Relax in elegantly decorated rooms with stunning sea views, enjoy an amazing selection of fine dining.

6 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Angie
10 years 3 months ago
we stayed at this hotel for our sons wedding the beaches and location are wonderful but the rooms are very dated.the staff seem very unfriendly and dont want to serve you in a hurry.the wedding was great as was the weather.now the food was another story we all came back home with crypto sparidium which took us about 4 weeks to recover from apart from my husband who had this for at least 12 weeks i would not recomend this hotel we were not the only ones to fall ill.entertainment was rubbish so was glad we had a mini bar and tv in our rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Sam And Ross
12 years 1 month ago
Firstly I need to say that during our stay at this hotel we had money stolen out of the safe in our room. The safe did not appear to have been tampered with so with did not notice untill we were departing. management were unhelpful and rude. This was not a one off incident as the couple in the room next door were also victims. If you are planning on visiting this hotel be warned the safe is not "safe".

All areas of the hotel were clean and well presented.

Staff were not very friendly and at times were rude.

Food was ok with plenty of choice. The hotel has 3 speciality restaurents, Japanesse, steak house and gourmet. You have to make reservations in the morning between 9.15-10.15, however places at the gourmet go fast(as early as 8.15am).

Entertainment is very poor

The hotel is in an excellent, and the beach is beautiful.

The hotel is advertised as being 4*+/5*, however it is more like a 4*
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Richard
12 years 1 month ago
Booked Holiday over a year ago and was realy excited about it, but boy what a complete disappointment for whats advertised as a Premier 5* Riu Hotel. First impressions werent to bad to start but as the week went on things just gradually got worse.

The Food became very repetative in the buffet areas, the bar staff wouldnt give you branded drinks unless you specifically asked, when you could get served because they seemed to concentrate service towards american or canadian guests. The staff generally were polite but just seemed as if they couldnt be bothered.

Were can I start with the entertainment lets just say if Mr and Mrs competitions, Karaoke and Bongo Drums is your bag at 5* Hotel then dab in.

The Mini bar in the room wasnt replenished as it should be every 2 days, the pool was filthy, and very small -but the photos in the brochure do a brilliant job of making it aswell as the hotel look fabulous.

The Firstchoice rep at the hotel was inundated everytime she walked through the door. She was very poor at her job and everyone was complaining about Her aswell as the Hotel.

In conclusion: When you pay the best part of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Harrison
12 years 1 month ago
We originally chose the Cable Beach Hotel but because of building work we asked to transfer to the Riu.

The food in general was quite good but very repetitive.It seemed that the Hotel was catering to the short stay weekend Americans as the menu changed on a 3 day basis. The only saving grace was the speciality restaurants, although these seemed to vary in quality, on who happened to be cooking on that particular night. Yes, you had to queue to book but as we are early risers this wasn't an issue. We only visited the Japanese once, it was very rushed and felt like speed eating. At one point my plate was taken while I was still eating.

Our room was kept clean and the towels were changed every day if you wanted, mini bar restocked every other day, spirits replaced when empty. The rooms are quite dated but some rooms were being refurbished on lower floor. Our room was facing pool/sea, lovely until later on in the afternoon, if you wanted a siesta forget it, at 3pm on the dot every day the music around the pool was turned up full blast and the pool filled up with very very drunk noisy Americans. This din continued for a couple of hours and eventually after many complaints to reception the music was turned down.

The evening entertainment was dire, in fact they excelled themselves in being the worse I have ever seen.

The First Choice Rep wasn't interested, only a few weeks left of her contract and she was leaving.

We went on a dinner cruise, food and entertainment was appalling. The Atlantis Hotel is right next door and the Casino is very nice but the payouts on the slots are very low, much more so than Vegas. We were led to believe you can use their water park for a small charge. This was not true.

Most of the time the pool and surrounding area was very dirty. On occasions the pool was so milky in colour you couldn't see the bottom. This seems to be a common problem where there is a pool bar as people just tip their drinks in the pool and leave cups and straws floating. The pool is far too small for the size of the hotel.

The hotel is over priced and in need of upgrading. Overall we enjoyed our holiday but that was more to do with the company we were in than the resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Roberts
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel is in the Premier brochure but don't expect the same standard of hotel if you have used this brochure before. If you have stayed in a Riu before the same applies.

The reception area is smaller than I expected and has a bar in it, it also smells in some area of rotten eggs. The first bedroom I was given was very damp and was over the air con units and was very loud. The second bedroom was on the Atlantis side and was less damp.

To be honest I would have moved hotels if any had been available. The bathrooms a small too, the have a shower in a very shallow bath, one small sink and a toilet. they do however provide a decent hairdryer, steam iron and ironing board. safe deposit box and mini bar. you should know that the mini bar only gets refilled every two days in our case 3 times in a week and only because we asked at reception.

The Japanese is very good and the chef sings for you and has a really good voice. The rest of the food is just about what you would expect from an all inc.

Couldn't't get in to the other as the queue started at about 07:00 am and were usually filled by the time I surfaced.

Pool wasn't very clean and full of bugs which they scoop out every morning. If you want to swim in the sea watch out for jellyfish, they are only small but they can pack a punch. I didn't feel mine until I got out of the water.

If you want to use the phone in your room you can't until you pay a $250.00 deposit, which I think is a bit steep.

We had a really good time regardless and we are going back next year but to stay in the Atlantis. Go to the straw market if you want some bargains and not the local craft market.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Brendan Byrne
13 years ago
When we arrived at our hotel we were greeted by many frienly staff. Check-in was quick and simple where we were informed of the facilities the hotel had to offer.

We had a standard room booked which we were pleased with as this was spacious, clean and tidy. There were full sized bottles of spirits in the room, and ample beers and soft drinks in the fridge which were topped up frequently.

The beach was lovely and kept clean but I have to say the 'Jet ski' boys were irritating. As there are so many jet ski's for hire there is much competition and they do ask you lots of time's if you would like to take one out. I showed no interest at all so after a few days they left me alone. If you are looking for a quiet beach holiday then this hotel is not for you due to the noise the jet skis make.

On All Inclusive holidays I normally get bored of the food that is offered, but not on this holiday. The food was out of this world. Do not make the mistake I made in the Steakhouse restaurant. I had asked the waiter how large the steaks were and thought they spunded quite small so I asked for 2,when they arrived they were approx 16oz each (huge) and were absolutely delicious. The food in the A'La Carte restaurant was also fantastic, but I do recommend you wear long sleeves in there as the air conditioning was on a little too high! We also frequented the Buffet restaurant. The food in the Buffet restaurant was also lovely with a great choice to suit all tastes.
The breakfast and lunch choice was also excellent. I do recommend you take some larger clothes with you as you will certainly need them towards the end of your holiday!

The location on paradise Island was fantastic as were were next door to the Atlantis and in close vicinity to a small shopping area where you could stock up on presents or spirits to take home.

The staff were very frinedly in all areas of this hotel from entertainers to cleaners. Nothing was too much trouble.

The evening entertainment was a bit ropey with the local resident band playing most nights followed by 'Group Participation' games which were mainly aimed at the Americans. This included 'Ideal Couple & Karaoke' If you chose not to join in the entertainers knew to leave you alone after the first night.

For all the ladies who like Diamonds, the hotel had a diamond shop which was far far cheaper than those in the UK. Rings with 2 carats of diamonds on sale for around $3,000.

I would definitely return to this hotel as every day was fantastic.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum